We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, sign up for the Marriott Rewards Program”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, sign up for the Marriott Rewards Program”
Reviewed March 25, 2008

Let me start off by saying that I am a Marriott Rewards member, and therefore, some may feel that I am biased.

I have stayed at the monterey Marriott numerous times for leisure. My last stay was for a business trip. The reservation was booked online through the Marriott website. I had booked a standard king size room. Upon ariving to the hotel and checking in I was advised that they had my my marriott rewards number on file and had been upgraded.

Of course, I had no qualms. Upon entering my room I was surprised that a bottle of wine was in my room, the room had a balcony and a wonderful view.

The hotel has a bar downstairs which is above average, however, why bother when the hotel is situally located near greatbars, specifically the Martini Bar, Lalapolooza. Over 15 different type of martinis, it's also a full bar and restaurant.

This hotel is well worth the price, actually all Marriotts are. My only complaint is the $9.99 price for internet service.

I'm certain to visit this hotel again!

  • Liked — Wonderful view, excellent bed and room layout.
  • Disliked — $9.99 cost for internet service.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ElkGrove81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    527
    227
    72
    28
See reviews for
384
399
34
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2008

Enjoyed our stay. Room very nice and clean. Loved how the bathroom and bathroom area was set up. Pool was heated which the kids loved. Staff nice. Great location and staff.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovesVacations94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2008

I was a guest at the Monterey Marriott the week of March 3 - 7, as a part of a large conference being held at the hotel and at the nearby Naval Postgraduate School.

I was greeted warmly upon arrival; the front desk acknowledged my 'gold' status and informed me that I had been upgraded to a "junior suite".

The room on the 8th floor (870) was clean and spacious and featured large flat screen televisions in the sitting room and bedroom. For some inexpicable reason, the default volume setting upon turning on the TV is "nearly deafening".

The housekeeping staff did a decent job over the course of the week, though ocassionally I would return to find open windows or note that my toiletries had been re-arranged.

The fee for valet parking ($19/day) is obscene. Others have noted the public parking garage two streets away. I used the valet the first night before switching to the pubic garage. A $5 entrance fee is collected by an automated machine - cash or credit.

The hotel is situated across the street from a fisherman's wharf area - there are multiple seafood venues. The two restaurants I sampled were quite good. Free samples of the house chowder were being handed out as I passed by. On Tuesday, there was a very nice outdoor Farmer's Market on the next street over.

One bad thing that is important to note for business travelers: the "high speed" internet runs $9.95/day. The "business center" is a small, broiling hot room near the conceierge desk. A handful of fans circulate the stale air inside. The public-access computers are essentially worthless - they are extremely slow and outdated. I required 3 attempts and 40 minutes to print my boarding passes on Thursday evening. Another guest told me that the printer had been down all week. In any case, the condition of this room and the computers inside was positively shameful.

The exercise room on the 2nd floor was well equipped, but a bit cramped. All of the cardio machines included an LCD television with an individual headphone jack. I noticed a single out-of-order machine. The gym also included a weightlifting bench.

I did not eat in any of the hotel's restaurants, but enjoy the daily breakfasts catered for the conference.

  • Disliked — the internet service is horrible.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gcmanke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2008

i called the hotel on the way into monterey and asked for the best rate (having researched it previously on the web). I settled on a senior rate for $169 for a double-double. i checked in within 15 minutes of the call and they had an elite room upgraded for us. we received a bay view corner room on the 5th floor. the valet, front desk and bellhop were all very courteous and attentive. the room was well equipped, everything in working order, including a flat screen & starbuchs coffee in room. i enjoyed a respectable glass of wine in the bar before dinner. the front desk provided restaurant recommendations, coupons and good directions. we all enjoyed dinner and the short walk to and from the wharf area. the cold breakfast was well tended with a wide assortment of fresh fruit and smoked salmon. the overall experience was very pleasant. every aspect of the service provided was outstanding.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — fee for internet
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2008

Very nice hotel, we stayed as a group of 4 adults (1 couple and 2 singles) and a 10 month baby. We shared a room with 2 queen beds, single bed (bought up by staff) and a cot. Even with all the extra bedding the room still felt spacious. Good value or money and the staff were friendly and helpful. No complaints here!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank australianirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2008

This nice hotel is convenient to the convention center (next door), and walking distance to beach, Fisherman's Wharf, shops. Across street from movie theater. Quiet rooms. Buffett breakfast available with made to order eggs. Self parking was two blocks away. On-site valet parking was expensive ($19).

No on-site place to get coffee during the afternoon. (had to use coffee in room or walk a block). No on-site store for those little things that you forgot to pack or to get something to read. Walgreen's Drugstore is a block away for those things. Lots of restaurants in area to choose from, from Subway across the street to nice fish and Italians restaurants.

  • Liked — Proximity to restaurants and interesting areas to walk to.
  • Disliked — Lack of on-site coffee shop and sundries store
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2007

This was my 4th stay at this hotel (years in between stays), and I was disappointed. There was visible dust on the furniture, and I had allergies to it.

The restaurant staff was very friendly, esp. with my two young kids. That was great.

There wasn't much going on in town and it was quite dark. I didn't feel safe walking around at 6pm.

  • Liked — It's in historic downtown with a spa in the building.
  • Disliked — Not clean enough.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italophilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#9 of 56 in Monterey
589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Property: Monterey Marriott
Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing