We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for the amenities provided”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The rooms are ok, but for the price payed...
WiFi is not included
local phone calls - $5
no parking, only valet or a payed parking two blocks away
the hotel is hosting meetings and conferences, so if you try to get to your room at the 6th floor during a lunch break time - you will wait for an elevator for 10 mins
no water in a lobby

for the exhibition rooms
- projector/screen settings cut slides on their edges (yes, I prep my ppt taking this in account, but it's disappointing to find a "professional" conference venue in such a poor shape)
- a projector in the largest auditorium screws colors to an unreadable bleached mess and eliminates fine details as chart axes
- air conditioning is poorly regulated - can be desert-hot in the morning and then freezing in the afternoon

Bottom line, Monterey is full of less priced places providing much better amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,310)
There are newer reviews for Monterey Marriott
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

917 - 923 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

What can I say it's a Marriott! Lovely hotel, lobby and room. Large room --nicely decorated. Good restaurants. Situated right in the center of anything you would want to see. Walking distance from the water and boardwalk shops and restaurants.
Perfect place to stay if you're in town for the Jazz Festival. Only minutes from "17 mile drive" and Cannery Row.

Everyone from the concierge to the valets make you feel welcome. Each time I approached the door to leave the doorman would literally run to open the door for me. Each time I returned everyone at the front desks would call out, "welcome back!"

An extra attraction is that the hotel is a couple blocks from a Starbucks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maisha4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Perfect location, can walk to almost everything but if you need to drive it's not far. The downtown area has almost everything needed for a nice stay. Great service from the minute we arrived to the minute we left, these employees like working there and it shows. The valet parking is a little pricey ($20) but they do have a self park for $7 with no in and out privileges. They have Wi Fi in the public spaces but not in your room. This Marriott do not have the Marriott beds I am used to but still had comfortable sleep. Room is average decor, clean and spacious. The only down side to our stay were inconsiderate guests who let their door slam going in and out of their rooms at all hours. That is not a Marriot issue it's the guests who stayed on 6th floor and had no basic consideration for others guests. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gamnpapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Met all expectations one would have from a Marriott. Warm, friendly service from the valets and bellmen, better than what we got at the JW Marriott in SF. Good location, I liked that it was away from the hubbub of Cannery Row. But if you want to go there it is a pretty long walk. The room was fine, but the bathtub and tiles were old and needed to be updated. Overall, it worked well as base for visiting Big Sur and Hearst Castle. I highly recommend Montrio Bistro for dinner a two minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caesar52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I traveled to the Monterey Marriott to spend some time in Monterey and also Carmel. The Monterey Marriott has a great location with easy access to Carmel and highway 101. Beverly the concierge was excellent and a pleasure to meet. She had great ideas on what to do and where to eat and truly cared about our stay. The front desk associates, bellman and Doorman were also helpful, outgoing and sincere along with the two bartenders we interacted with.

We both highly recommend the Monterey Marriott. You will love it.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view but know they are limited
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misty1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The hotel itself was nice and so were the facilities. However, having only a valet service option to park at the hotel which costs $20 was a little excessive. I would understand somewhere in a large city like San Fran/LA etc, but for Monterey...really? Also, internet was $15 to use. I think that we are passed that point in technology and communications to charge so much for the use of internet in any hotel. I've been to high end hotels which charge less. Once again, it is just a Marriott and in Monterey...you would think they would service more to their customer base. Would likely not stay here again due to the extra costs in amenities.

Room Tip: Stay on one of the higher floors for a view of the bay...after all, you ARE paying for it.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This property is in the downtown business district. If you like walking, all the major attractions are quite nearby - Cannery Row and the Aquarium. The rates here are reasonable and valet parking is effortless. The Army Museum is also nearby and worth a visit. There is a concierge desk to help plan your day. A full size 11 ft deep pool is in the center of the building. It's exposed to the sky and is surrounded by nicely padded lounge chairs and coffee tables. If you want to take a harbor cruise or whale watch the pier is very close across the highway but be careful crossing this busy road. My room was very clean and up to date.

Room Tip: Ocean view room are available but again this is downtown - not on the bay.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swissdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,456 reviews
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,993 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $200 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing