We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The hotel itself was nice and so were the facilities. However, having only a valet service option to park at the hotel which costs $20 was a little excessive. I would understand somewhere in a large city like San Fran/LA etc, but for Monterey...really? Also, internet was $15 to use. I think that we are passed that point in technology and communications to charge so much for the use of internet in any hotel. I've been to high end hotels which charge less. Once again, it is just a Marriott and in Monterey...you would think they would service more to their customer base. Would likely not stay here again due to the extra costs in amenities.

Room Tip: Stay on one of the higher floors for a view of the bay...after all, you ARE paying for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    511
    216
    72
    23
See reviews for
364
384
34
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This property is in the downtown business district. If you like walking, all the major attractions are quite nearby - Cannery Row and the Aquarium. The rates here are reasonable and valet parking is effortless. The Army Museum is also nearby and worth a visit. There is a concierge desk to help plan your day. A full size 11 ft deep pool is in the center of the building. It's exposed to the sky and is surrounded by nicely padded lounge chairs and coffee tables. If you want to take a harbor cruise or whale watch the pier is very close across the highway but be careful crossing this busy road. My room was very clean and up to date.

Room Tip: Ocean view room are available but again this is downtown - not on the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

On arrival, we were upgraded to a junior suite (as we were celebrating my birthday and the hotel very kindly recognized it - as well with wine and a rose in the room). The bed and bedding very comfortable and nice toiletries. The location is perfect - a short walk to Fisherman's Wharf and other attractions. The front desk staff were great and the valet parking fellows were particularly on their toes - loved them. The lady on the concierge desk was also very helpful. Also a short drive to Cannery Row and to 17 Mile Drive which is absolutely beautiful. No complaints at all. Would highly recommend. Thanks for a great stay Marriott.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krammajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

ALL of the staff have been well trained and customer service is the hallmark of this property.$20.00 per day service charge for parking? I knew coming in that there was a fee but I was not gonna walk 2 or 3 blocks to other parking area that still had a fee ($7.00) everytime I had to park or retrieve my car. There were no "heavy" no drapes ( I'm noticing more and more properties doing this and I wished they would stop) covering the windows, only thin willowy ones. If you want to sleep when the sun is up and need darkness, you will be challenged. Also there is no sense of privacy as folks in opposing rooms and above yopu can look directly into your room.The bathroom had some sort of stain in the toilet bowl that housekeeping tried to clean and was sent an "apology basket" for the inconvenience. Nice touch. The location was in close proximity to all that Monterey has to offer. Starbucks in the lobby which was a welcome plus and always the refeshing lemon water that is a welcome respite. Overall I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAYTRAVEL1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, CT
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Platinum Premier so using points, upgraded to corner room, bay view, a little street noise but was ok. Service is great especially the smiling faces of the many staff members from valet car service to front desk. Reviews by others were correct, staff are wonderful. Great location for walking and 5 mins from Carmel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan06033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a perfectly located hotel. I really enjoyed my stay and highly recommend this property. The hotel is priced to accommodate the area. The service was amazing! It is definitely a return destination for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrodieElkGrove_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Property: Monterey Marriott
Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing