We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, friendy service, very respectable three star rooms”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Pluses
- well located in historic downtown Monterey, five minutes from Fishermans Wharf, beach, shopping, ten minutes from Cannery Row and Aquarium
- service unusually good for even a Marriott, from valet to check in desk to concierge
- great ocean views for many rooms
- good sized health club with outdoor pool

No significant minuses...we would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Woci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,061 - 1,067 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed here overnight for a business meeting nearby. The building is a bit dated, but it was clean, everything worked and every person on staff that I encountered was friendly, professional and ready to help. The hotel's location is only a block and a half to Fisherman's Warf and the coastal jogging trail. There are many places to eat all within walking distance. This hotel would be my first choice on a return trip.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JVBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We booked this hotel last minute and were not expecting all that much after reading the reviews here. This hotel truly beat our expectations. Our room was modern, spacious, and had a nice view of the harbor. The hotel staff was courteous and helpful. We would certainly recommend this property if you're looking for a nice, business style, hotel in downtown Monterey.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank habs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This Marriott is located within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf. There are restaurants within walking distance as well. Staff was friendly and helpful. This was our 3rd visit to this hotel. It is nothing fancy but always clean, quiet and easy. We are generally out exploring all day and enjoy coming back to a room where we know we can kick back and relax for a while without being disturbed by noisy neighbors.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lagunagirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and I drove ~100 miles for a getaway in the Monterey/Carmel area over the Labor Day weekend. Overall, we enjoyed our stay @ the Mariott. While it's a clean and attractive property, it's a bit dated and will need a renovation in the foreseeable future. That said, They greeted us as Silver Elite customers, put us in an "Elite Customer" room (even said so on the discreet sign on the door) and overall made us feel special. Their staff is warm and friendly, knowledgeable and the concierge arranged a VIP experience (reserved table, an ocean view window and a free dessert) at the Chart House restaurant-which made for a good dining experience. Though I couldn't use my points towards a room (I'm guessing because they either have a limited # of rooms they can redeem and/or it was a Holiday weekend and/or it was otherwise full), I'd recommend the hotel as it's centrally located in Monterey-which has it's own attractions/appeal and it's only 10 min. from Carmel.

Room Tip: Stay in the higher floors with Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FrancisJayIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Monterey Marriott hotel is located in downtown Monterey. It is a little away from the cannery row and fisherman's wharf. The hotel is very close to the convention center and is near a few nice restaurants. Montrio is certainly one of the best in Monterey. The rooms are fair for the chain and are clean. On arrival the room had an odor and I was promptly moved to another. It is a nice walk around downtown Monterey. All parking is valet or off site. If attending a meeting at the conference center this is a good place to stay. Not great for kids but it's not to hard to travel around.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnnSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel was very nice,they should enclose the pool area.If you are going to Monterey you won't find a better location than this!10 minutes to the aquarium and its a walking distance to fishermans wharf.One thing that surprised me is that it's cold in monterey in the summer!60's just dont cut it for me on vacation but it's definatly worth a stop over in the area on an all out california vacation down the coast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank ohboyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,655 reviews
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,017 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $183 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a memorable setting at Monterey Marriott. Our hotel in Monterey, California offers guestrooms that feel like a retreat, with perfect views of charming downtown Monterey or the beautiful Bay. We sit in an ideal location, next to the Monterey Conference Center and close to shops and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing