We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #14 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2007

My friends and i arrived in Monterey and searched for a hotel on a whim. The Marriott certainly wasn't the cheapest, but was very comfortable, clean and friendly.

The best thing about the hotel other than it's comfort and pleasant staff is it's great location - it's a couple of streets away from Fisherman's Wharf and in a lovely area of the town with all the amenities on the doorstep. We wandered around the local street market and then down to the wharf for dinner (touristy, but less tacky by miles than the one in San Francisco - full of locals, which is always a good sign).

Locals are incredibly friendly and the town has a really lovely vibe.

We'd love to go back!

  • Liked — The good quality hotel and great location
  • Disliked — It's a chain, but a reliable one
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrisventreJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    497
    206
    70
    23
See reviews for
349
372
34
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2007

When we arrived, I was not allowed to leave my car for a few minutes while I helped unload luggage. Thus, I had to wait in the car while my mom (70 years old) and my wife (handling an infant and a 4 year old) grab a cart and take the luggage to our room (no bellhop was visible or offered). The room smelled awful, like water damage/mold from under the carpet. In the evening when I wanted to park my car, the valet said it would be easier for me to self-park and directed me to a lot. I pointed to my vehicle and said that since I have a roof box, I need a lot that has at least 8 feet of clearance...he said I should be fine. I drove to the lot he instructed me to and its clearance was 6' 8". I drove around for 15 minutes and could not find a lot in the immediate area that would take my vehicle (this is something I asked about when I was booking my room weeks ago, the front desk said it should be no problem)... I luckily found a spot on the street 3 blocks from the hotel. The neighbors were loud and boisterous until 2 am (not really a hotel responsibility, but for others to keep in mind of the atmosphere of the place) At check out time, there were only two people at the front desk to help with checking out, there were lines, and we had to wait 20 minutes to get help. The person at the front desk did not ask how was our stay, so at the end of our conversation, on my own initiative, I told her that I was completely disappointed by our stay, told her all bout the aforementioned, and said that I will never stay at their hotel again nor will I recommend the hotel to anyone I know. All I got from her was "I'm sorry that your stay was not pleasant" but it was said with a tone of voice and facial expression that was not sincere, in fact she acted offended. She did not offer to get me a manager or offer anything to make up for my bad experience.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service and upkeep of rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PookiesDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2007

We stayed at the Monterey Marriott during the last weekend in July 2007. As others have noted, the staff (with the exception of one concierge who seemingly couldn't wait to answer our questions and send us on our way) was extremely gracious and friendly. The breakfast was terrific and the pool facilities were very nice, although a little chilly in the late afternoon when the air temperatures fall quickly. The walk to the Fisherman's Wharf was very quick (5 minutes with lots to see and buy) and we did not mind the 20 minute walk to the Aquarium as we walked along the water for most of the way, saw scuba classes getting underway, looked for sealife (seals sleeping on the rocks), found some seaglass on a rocky beach (you'll have to climb down) and enjoyed seeing the town wake up. We had paid a premium rate in order to get tix to the Aquarium and breakfast. I didn't realize at the time that the tix were two-days tix (so plan accordingly). The room was nice enough (nice view of the water, very comfy bed, room for a rollaway to fit comfortably, but the bathroom was connected via a rather cheap pocket door that made noise whenever you closed it (thus waking up family members in the middle of the night). The room AC did not work very well (no air flow was coming out and while the night was cool, the room was still very warm, perhaps because it was on the side of the building that received afternoon sun) so we called for maintenance. The man who came to work on the AC system told us that because of the hotel structural design, the system really did not work very well at all and there was nothing he could do for us. He said that all of the rooms had this problem except for the suites and offered to bring us a fan which we accepted because with the noise from the street, we did not want to leave the window open. Overall, I'd gladly come to Monterey again (so we could explore more of the tidal pools between Monterey and Carmel, perhaps go on sailing trip), but I'd look for another place to stay.

  • Liked — Proximity to attractions
  • Disliked — Price for what you get. We shouldn't have to use a fan to cool down when spending several hundred per night.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank junodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

Loved - the location. Close to Fisherman's Wharf. The breakfast was also good, but not included in the room charge.
Needs improvement - More TV channels for kids. Add Disney or Nick. Bathroom door was a pocket door. I would have thought that a Marriott would have a normal bathroorn door that you could lock. Also, the pillows were huge. There were two small ones and two huge ones on each bed. Not very comfortable for sleeping.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — bathroom door
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parklandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2007

If Marriott considers this a "6" rating I would not want to see a lower rating. Although the lobby was beautiful, and the staff was friendly, the rooms.......well, basic Marriott style rooms. The tv was outdated, the noise from the street and nearby rooms was intolerable., and the location was less than desired. The website said it was walking distance to the Aquarium - I disagree. But....we all agreed, it was the worst night sleep on on our vacation. Monterey has turned into another tourist stop with too much emphasis on shopping and mediocre restaurants. I live in Orange County near many of the best shopping malls in the country, and near many excellent restaurants. I don't go on vacation to shop and eat, and have recently started avoiding areas that emphasize this a draw. Monterey has just been put on the "Don't bother going back list." The Aquarium, although an excellent aquarium, was too crowded. Next time we will pass on the Marriott and Monterey and stay an additional night in San Francisco. Very disappointing.

  • Liked — Beautifuly Lobby, Nice Staff, Good Exercsie Room.
  • Disliked — Rooms were outdated and noisy.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NLockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2007

My boyfriend and I went away for a romantic birthday weekend. The Marriott is pricey, but well worth what you pay. After walking in we both found ourselves being more then invited by the staff. They were so helpful, courteouse, and genuine. I told the lady (Kathrine) at the front desk about our weekend ahead. It was a surpise I had planned. After listening she gave me a free room upgrade to a room with a balcony, and sent us on our way to the 9th floor. I couldn't have hand picked a better view! It was priceless. Then the next day we went to Big Sur. We came back to the hotel to find choclate covered strawberrys, champagne, and the poem "Footprints." We opened the attached card that said have a great birthday weekend, thank you for your stay here at the Marriott, From katherine at the Front Desk!!! I was amazed at the great lengths she went. It truly made us feel so special.

The hotel itself was wonderful with great views, room service, staff, location, and comfort. They always helped when we needed anything. If you are looking for a great place to relax be sure to check the Marriott out.

  • Liked — Location, it was close to downtown for the night scene, freeway access, and the Wharf. It was also minutes from the Aqarium
  • Disliked — It was great
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WideEyed83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circusfolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2007

Took a day trip up Highway 1from LA. The hotel was great after a long day of driving. It is close to some wonderful restaurants. Quiet area and was great to sleep with the windows open instead of the air conditioner.

The rooms were very large and have he shower/tub and toilet separate from the sink/vanity.

I love the new Marriott bedding package they have installed.

I stayed midweek so the town itself was rather quiet

  • Liked — Great location Very clean quality room and bedding
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Circusfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Property: Monterey Marriott
Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing