We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Rooms and Service reviews are correct”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Rooms and Service reviews are correct”
Reviewed October 16, 2009

I stayed here on the strength of the reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. Great rooms, cleanliness and service would recommend to other travellers. Excellent value for money. All the little touches made it well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Expedition08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    291
    114
    34
    42
See reviews for
222
360
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

I researched this hotel before our road trip down the Central coast of California. We did not pre-book as the price was high and we thought since we were taking our lap top we would check it out while on the road. It worked out great as the price went down to only $99/night. When we arrived we were greeted by Daniel (front desk). After some small talk, he upgraded us to a two storey townhouse! We ended up staying for 3 nights. The location was fantastic! We were able to walk to Fisherman's Wharf & Cannery Row. We rented bikes and drove through Pacific Grove and over as far as Seaside. We were able to have a relaxing 3 days and did not have to worry about driving anywhere (except for the 17 mile drive which was beautiful). The staff were friendly, the continental breakfast was good, the pool was nice and clean. This was an all around great, comfortable stay. When we visit Monterey again, we will definitely stay at the Mariposa!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whistler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We stayed there 10/7 for 2 nights and we were pleasently surprised. For bout $99 per night it was a nice clean comfortable room- with a continental breakfast.---Its on a main road across from a shopping center- easy to find from anywhere in the area. Front desk was great- they upgraded our room

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank martdad626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton Hills, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

I just got back from a trip to Napa and Monterey. I have to say, the Mariposa Inn was a wonderful surprise to find in the area. The Staff (Daniel) were wonderful. The room was beautiful (suite room with spa and fireplace) and the pool and group gathering areas were a wonderful bonus. I can't say enough about the place. I would stay here again and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wetsybetsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We reached the Mariposa in the dark having had a long drive from Napa and found it at the top of busy Munras Avenue which seems to be the home of the all the big and small chain motel style inns. First impressions pulling into the drive weren't that good but we were assured when we booked that the huge investment in refurbishment wouldn't disappoint us and it didn't. A bright modern reception with free to use computer and helpful staff. Behind the door of our room at the rear of our hotel was a beautifully styled room and the obligatory fireplace, which seems to come as standard in any hotel around this area. Although on a busy road, we found it a peaceful and quiet retreat to return to after busy days exploring the Monterey and Carmel area. There is a nice pool if you get a chance to use it. Breakfast area wasn't wonderful but this didn't seem to detract from our enjoyment of the hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElThomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

OK so its not the Hilton and the renovation is kind of (unintendedly) almost a parody of 70s "retro", but we found it clean, quiet, and perfect for our needs - i.e. a comfortable place to stay but not really a place to hang around in. Quite good breakfast also.

Its not close to downtown, though it is convenient to the Highway 1, but you'll need a car if you're to get to the city, shops, fisherman's wharf or cannery row - all within 5 mins drive.

There's a few of annoying things, like non-allocated car spaces (first in best dressed) room door handles that go up instead of down, lack of plugs for the bathroom sinks (apparently the sinks ordered were non-standard) s-l-o-w lifts, and the wireless internet didn't have much juice, but overall not a bad choice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheEscapeGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2009

The Mariposa Inn has been remodeled. It is beautiful! Our room had a fireplace and a flatscreen tv above the fireplace. The room was decorated beautifully. The bathroom sink was outside of the shower/toilet area, which I like. A delicious continental breakfast, with fancy pastries, yogurt and granola, fruit, bagels, etc was included with the room price. Plus in the room was a coffee pot, which I like. The staff was very helpful, giving us maps and suggestions for eating places. There is a nice pool and a hot tub outside, along with two firepits with nice seating around them. The price of this inn was the same as a Ramada and so much better!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbird47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
3.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.8 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#36 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Property: Mariposa Inn and Suites
Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelsClick so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing