We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful rooms, excellent service and a good price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariposa Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #29 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms, excellent service and a good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

We spent one night midweek as part of our driving holiday. We booked in the morning of the day we wanted and managed to get a room. Better than that the lovely lady at reception informed us we had been given a free upgrade to a spa room.

So my review of this hotel is maybe a bit biased $110 for a superb room which included a magnificently comfy acre of a bed, a jacuzzi, gorgeous toiletries and a huge flat screen mounted on the wall at the end of the bed. The double shower was also a bonus, we could spend less time getting ready. The breakfast was fine, plenty of fruit and a mix of nice bread for toast (other stuff I didn't try).

I could see why people may feel out of the action but reception recommended a tremendous restaurant a 5 min walk away so we didn't miss Cannery or the Wharf as the local option was great.

On the basic points it was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamSco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    287
    114
    31
    41
See reviews for
215
358
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BEND, OREGON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

Stayed for three days and everything was great. Parking great for cars, but I was driving a Chevy Suburban. So it was a little tight a few times. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Great place for small dogs with a dog walking area close by. A little noisy from street traffic, but really didn't bother us. In the middle of a city so the noise was expected. Wireless internet worked great and very fast. We will be back again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEOHERB1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

Still glowing from 4 days spent at Mariposa Inn Monterey. From perfect directions, to the smiling Elizabeth who greeted us at check-in (and every happy staff person we met) and the luxurious accommodations & surrounding gardens this Boutique hotel is a FABULOUS FIND. Stunning remodeled rooms are some of the largest we’ve stayed in at any price. Our room was apartment-sized with fridge & microwave and a impressive marble fireplace. All for so much less than most other Monterey/Carmel hotels. Notable too for quiet and immaculately clean (and I am a clean freak!)
My husband is always put off by the term “boutique” as he equates it with cramped rooms and short mattresses! NOT so at Mariposa Inn. Every amenity is 5 star. King-size comfy beds with high count bedding, jumbo plush towels, luxury robes and H2O bath products (like visiting a spa.) This hotel’s attention to detail far surpasses much more expensive hotels we’ve stayed in.
Hubby made use of complimentary full health club passes while I sucked up the sun poolside. Lovely perfectly heated pool (with more free fluffy towels) where the sun seemed to always be shining even when it was foggy elsewhere on the Peninsula.
An included Continental breakfast is one of the best we’ve experienced. The pastries are delivered fresh daily from a local French bakery (I got the address they were sooo good!) Add a variety of fresh juices, brewed coffees, granola and yogurt; all served in the beautiful “breakfast conservatory” and it makes getting up early well worth it. Mariposa offers FREE WiFi, covered parking, local calls, comp newspaper & in-room coffee. Even a dock for the ipod! When you stay at Mariposa Inn it seems the motto is “YOU DON’T PAY EXTRA FOR ANYTHING!!!!”
Staff cheerfully offered dining suggestions & made reservations (even in the busiest restaurants.) The location is very close to everything and we actually walked to dinner several nights. More like tried to “walk off” all the delicious food we ate.
Looks like the “secret of Mariposa” is out on tripadvisor. Better book early. We had such a great mini vacay we reserved again for November.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelHotshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire,Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

Enloyed our stay here for 2 nights. Bedroom quite stylish with modern decor and small patio. Good hot tub next to swimming pool. Very good continental breakfast. Good value for money. Only downside is it is more tha a mile from ocean.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotabroad25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

The room was very stylish as was the hotel lobby. The downsides are these: 2 of the 4 days spent here were a little noisy. The hotel staff did not warn us that there was going to be work done to their surveillance cameras and/or outdoor speakers, which were located outside of our room, it was a bit noisy at times due to hammering, etc. etc; there is only once way to enter and exit this hotel - not really anyone's fault, Monterey is limited on space; the bathroom needed a little bit of work, it's showing its age; lastly, I had to ask the front desk for our complimentary bottles of water twice. It was almost like they assumed I was asking for more free water.

These were minor glitches to an overall great stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandomJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is clean and nicely decorated. I also love the pool/lounge area. The complimentary breakfast is great with a nice selection and I like the fact that they serve it until 10am so there is plenty of time for you to sleep in and still get your free breakfast. The internet connection is also free and there is no hidden fees or anything like that. They simply ask if you want internet and just give you the access code. We checked in late at night and the hotel staff at the time was exceptional. I think her name was Michelle. She really went beyond friendly and helpful. She gave us everything we asked for such as tour guides/info and restaurant recommendation. We wanted a good steakhouse and she recommended The Whaling Station in Cannery Row. She was right on..they really did have delicious steaks. I got the NY bone in and it literally melts in my mouth with every bite. My boyfriend got the t-bone which was also delicious. Our Monterey trip was wonderful...wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OC624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

When traveling to Monterey, I always stay at this hotel. Rooms around $100. It's always clean and comfortable. Each room has a microwave and fridge. There are two robes in each room and wonderful shampoo, condition, and lotion! It's a well kept secret :)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ehgabany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.9 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Property: Mariposa Inn and Suites
Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing