We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute hotel, great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
california
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“cute hotel, great value!”
Reviewed May 19, 2009

I chose this hotel based solely on Tripadvisor reviews and we were not dissapointed! We stayed at the Mariposa May 15-17 in room 111 (single king). Check in was fast, the girl at the front desk was very friendly and even asked if we had AAA to give an additional discount. Free internet for your room or you can even use the computer w/ printer in the lobby free of charge. The room is modernly decorated, cozy and comfortable. Free continental breakfast each morning from 7-10am which consists of tasty (not the cheap gas station stuff!) pastries, yogurt, bananas, coffee, juices, tea and oatmeal. There's someone attending to the breakfast so it isn't a complete mess.

Our only complaint was the skylight in the room which made it very difficult to sleep in. Also, I don't think the hotel has air conditioning? You may want to call ahead to confirm. You can hear slight noise outside but not anything unbearable. Those issues didn't really affect us, we needed to get up early each day and the weather was mild enough to not need air conditioning or heating.

Overall Mariposa is a GREAT value. We were very happy and will return.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    293
    114
    33
    42
See reviews for
222
362
27
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2009

We stayed at the Mariposa for 2 nights in early May 2009. Selena, at the front desk, was very nice, giving us a discount that I hadn't been sure we qualified for, a great dinner recommendation (Lalla Grill - best nachos I've ever had), and coupons for several stores and restaurants at the shopping mall across the street. Our room was small but newly appointed. A large skylight provided an airy feel, but also made it quite bright early in the morning. There is a greenspace across the street that makes for a nice jogging area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised by the great value at the Mariposa Inn. We were upgraded to a very nice room with a fireplace. However, it was directly next to Munras Avenue which is a very busy street. The traffic is very noisy all night and was easily audible through the walls. The fridge in the room was also not operating, which we only found out the next morning when we realized out leftovers from a restaurant the night before went bad over night.

The rooms here are designed beautifully and contain a microwave, fridge, safe, and flat screen TV. I highly recommend this hotel, just make sure you specifically request that your room be away from the busy Munras Ave.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonCllns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2009

Just returning from 3 nights at The Mariposa, I assumed the cheaper fare we were paying would result in sub-par accommodations. Not true at all. The rooms were were exceptionally nice, clean and comfortable. The decor was inviting, and the landscaping around was beautiful. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. I also noticed it was pet friendly - which since I was traveling from the East Coast I didn't have my beloved pets. But for those who do, this is the ideal place to vacation with your four-legged loved ones.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAgirlGApeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2009

Recently stayed here for a weekend getaway. I had booked a regular king room but was upgraded to one of the townhouse suites, which had a living room with fireplace, 2 bathrooms and a bedroom. For two people this was more than enough space, so that was a bonus. The room was clean with good linens; housekeeping was good as well. The staff was really nice, from check in to granting us a late check out. The free breakfast was well stocked with yogurt, pastries, toast, bagels, cereals, coffee, tea and more. I ended up taking stuff back to the room for later, and they couldn't have been nicer about it. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salaciouscrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2009

We stayed there for one night. But I would like to write about very helpful stuff. On the day of our check-out I couldn't find hairpin, which I liked a lot. We asked stuff to let us know if they would find it, as we planned to stay nearby for some time. I didn't expect they would call because of small hairpin. But they did! It was very nice of them.
Room was very comfortable and nice bath. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

We recently just returned from a weekend at the Mariposa for my sister's wedding. The rooms were clean, nice and comfortable. The linens and bath products were also great. But, most of all, the staff was amazing. We were a large party and they were so accommodating. They really worked hard to make our stay comfortable and fun. Thanks especially to Donald who helped us in the evenings.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.8 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#34 of 55 in Monterey
530 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Property: Mariposa Inn and Suites
Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing