We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed January 2, 2009

Stayed two nights at the Mariposa. The place has been completely remodeled. We were upgraded to a king room with a fireplace. Nicely appointed, great linens, flat screen tv, good towels, coffee maker, frig, microwave, very clean, and QUIET!! Would definitely recommend for a romantic getaway or for a weekend with the family. Staff was friendly and accomodating. Pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank frenchoritalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

629 - 635 of 796 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2008

I stayed with my wife and 5 year old daughter for 3 nights Friday to Monday over the Thanksgiving weekend. The inn was impeccably clean, the staff friendly, add the fireplace added the right touch. Don't expect much from the breakfast though - just toast and juice mainly with some pasteries. The pool was heated but still too cold. The jacuzzi as warm. Good short driving location to everything. There is a nice mall across the street with reasonable restaurants like PF changs and Islands.
We paid $129 a night. The room had a small frige, and a seating area with two televisions. Free wireless internet access.
Would stay again without reservations.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Vein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

My wife and I stayed one night at the Mariposa Inn in mid-November, 2008. The hotel was remodeled this year with a tasteful modern theme. The grounds were nicely landscaped with various flowers and shrubs. The hotel is a 2.7 mile drive to the Monterey Aquarium. Our room included a 32" flat screen TV, small refrigerator, microwave, free in-room WiFi, and breakfast buffet. Although the hotel is located on a busy street with lots of other inns, our room was set back enough so that the street noise was minimal. Across the street is a large shopping mall with plenty of restaurants. The buffet breakfast has a good selection and the large breakfast room is modern and cheerful. The front desk personnel were friendly and courteous. One problem we noticed was that there was a large gap at the bottom of the entry door to the room. This gap let so much cold air in that we had to use a bath towel to fill the gap. Another problem was that the WiFi was slow at times. Overall, we were satisfied with our stay and would stay here again. The price was reasonable at $109/night + 10% occupancy tax. We were told that the rates would rise to $149/night early in 2009.

Best:
- newly remodelled modern decor
- comfortable bed
- 32" flat sceen TV
- breakfast buffet
- landscaped grounds

Worst:
- gap under front door
- distance from Aquarium
- WiFi slow at times

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelingFinches07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

We had stayed at this hotel years ago, like 10 years...the location is terrific, but the accomodations at that time were dated. Now they are all completely updated. We have 4 kids, and took them all to Monterey for a night for our 17th wedding anniversary. We reserved two rooms. There were fireplaces in both rooms, and everything was updated, new beds, new everything. The hotel pool was very fun for all of us on Sunday morning, the breakfast was generous, the staff very helpful, and we really had a wonderful time. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksbarent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

The Mariposa Inn is comfortable and clean. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the bed king size bed was very comfortable. The fireplace was the romantic touch that we were looking to enjoy. Though it is too far to walk to Cannery Row or the Wharf, the drive is only 5-10 minutes away and the location was relatively quiet. We had eveything we needed for a quaint stay in Monterey.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank amybing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

The Mariposa Inn has recently been completely renovated and they have done a marvelous job. The decor is modern, warm and inviting. I had wanted to book a double queen room, but none were available. They offered us one of the townhouses at a discounted rate because the could not accomodate our initial request. The townhouse was beautiful with a fireplace, flat screen televisions, and two bathrooms. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They have quaranteed us the same rate through May. We will definitely be taking them up on that offer!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dezteach13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Great Location! Very nice Continental breakfast. I know there will be some remodeling soon, can't wait to come back. Staff was friendly. Front desk person was very accomadating. We will definately be back after the upgrade is done :-)

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvmonterey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#29 of 56 in Monterey
570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: $80 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing