We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed here for one night on route to San Diego.

We booked a standard room and the room provided was on two floors with two bathrooms, lounge area with fire and pull down bed. This was ideal for our family of 4.

Staff were friendly and helpful.
Pool was nice and relaxing with pool towels provided.
Breakfast was a continental buffet which was eaten either in the small room or on the terrace.
One site Parking was provided.

This was an ideal stopover hotel for our journey after a drive from Yosemite and visit to the aquarium.

Couldn't fault the hotel, really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judi10x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    293
    115
    33
    42
See reviews for
223
362
27
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Do not be fooled by the cozy images online. That beautiful fire pit area is not maintained, and it is covered with bird droppings. When this was mentioned to the front desk staff, we were offered a sympathetic smile and an offer of some towels to sit on.

The whole place was a bit run-down, although the decor was updated. Could have been nice, it if was being run properly

Our room (219) was tiny, and it STUNK. The stench--sort of a scorched smell--was so bad it kept me up all night. I ended up putting a dryer sheet in my pillowcase. It helped only a bit. Again, the front desk staff had nothing to offer except a sympathetic smile. While they were friendly enough, it was clear, during our three-night stay, that the staff was not well-trained in customer service.

Oh, and the vending machine ate my money. Salt in the wound, I tell you. Again, the sympathetic smile from the front desk. Well, I did get my dollar back. Yay.

Seriously, I am scarred from this experience. I will stick with the big chains from now on.

Room Tip: Go somewhere--anywhere--else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We were there July 24-25 traveling with small children. It was pretty warm there, A/C didn't work. All front desk could do was to advise us to open windows. Unfortunately there was road construction going on so that's all we heard all night. We got no cell reception nor wifi. Mold on ceilings in bathroom and general yucky overall feeling. Would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank esteves1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We bought our stay on Hotwire. It was not the best deal in all honesty, but the advertisement boasted a fitness center. When we drove up, we were disappointed by the exterior of the building. The room looked nice with better decor than other similar hotels on Munras. The owners have put done a good job of renovatibg the inside with new paint and decor. Sadly, the one item that matters most to guests is a good night's sleep, which heavily weighs on the quality of the mattress. Needless to say, the mattress was a cheap tired mattress that sags and has no support (even though I am only about 100 lbs!).

Shower was moldy. Poor workmanship in the bathroom -- the person who installed the shower faucet must have been illiterate because the hot/cold label was installed backwards. Hopefully the hotel will not face a lawsuit when some poor soul burns himself or herself thinking that he/she is turning on the cold water when he/she is turning on scorching hot water. Worse of all -- the exercise facility is off-site and more than a 5 mile drive mind you! Save some money and just say no to this motel.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GingerCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I looked at several reviews of properties on the Monterey peninsula and went with Mariposa Inn and Suites because we liked the location away from the immediate downtown area and the online pictures looked nice. The price was also reasonable for the value. We checked in around 10 pm and the desk clerk was obviously not thrilled to be working that late, but everyone else we encountered during the 2 night stay was friendly and helpful. I liked that there was a sign at the desk declaring zero-tolerance for any partying.
The King Executive suite was like an extra long hotel room with a bathroom in the center. This gave the effect of two separate areas. The front area had a couch with the refrigerator, microwave, and a TV. The rear area had the king bed, another TV and a gas fireplace. Inside our room, the decor was modern and stylish and it was pretty clean. A couple of exceptions would be that the bathroom ceiling fan needed vacuuming and several areas on the walls looked dirty. The space was pretty well laid out. There was also a small balcony which overlooked an outdoor seating area with a fire pit.
The free breakfast was a nice perk, although it did not include cooked foods like eggs, sausage or potatoes. It was served in a small room, near the outside patio area and we had a wonderful time swimming and relaxing in the hot tub. The pool seemed to be salt water and the area was clean and nicely landscaped.
We liked the way our room, 306, was inside the "hotel" part of the property. A key was necessary to access the building and then each room. Other parts of the property were "motel" style, with access directly from the outside.
We wanted to drive down past Big Sur to the Julia Pfeiffer State park and had even considered staying in Big Sur or Carmel. We walked around Monterey from the Cannery area to the Wharf and found that area to be picturesque and full of fun things to see and do. I was quite pleased with our choice to stay at Mariposa Inn and Suites in Monterey!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the "hotel" part of the property, that don't back to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great location just off main road. Large shopping centre just across road. Room exceeded expectations with separate living area. Beautiful decked area out front leading down to pool and jacuzzi. Free parking, wifi, computer and printer at reception. Would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roryhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo County, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We always go to monterey for a little bit of get away from our daily stress and we pick this hotel because they had great pics online. Front desk needs to be more friendly and upbeat. We went to our room did not look around much because we were headed out for dinner. When we got back we notice the entry light did not work and we said no big deal and then we looked and the bathroom and shower had tons of mold. It was late so we didn't bother with it. Refrigerator was super loud too. We slipped ok. There jacuzzi was nice but it had a funky smell to it. Setting area with fire pit so also disgusting because of all the birds poops all over the seats. So that was not inviting. I told the front desk about our issues and all she did is she wrote it down and ask me if I wanted a receipt.

Room Tip: Do not believe all the pictures online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maryglend C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,301 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.8 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#34 of 55 in Monterey
530 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Property: Mariposa Inn and Suites
Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing