We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“"Nice family get-away in stylish, quiet hotel"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariposa Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Nice family get-away in stylish, quiet hotel"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

I looked at several reviews of properties on the Monterey peninsula and went with Mariposa Inn and Suites because we liked the location away from the immediate downtown area and the online pictures looked nice. The price was also reasonable for the value. We checked in around 10 pm and the desk clerk was obviously not thrilled to be working that late, but everyone else we encountered during the 2 night stay was friendly and helpful. I liked that there was a sign at the desk declaring zero-tolerance for any partying.
The King Executive suite was like an extra long hotel room with a bathroom in the center. This gave the effect of two separate areas. The front area had a couch with the refrigerator, microwave, and a TV. The rear area had the king bed, another TV and a gas fireplace. Inside our room, the decor was modern and stylish and it was pretty clean. A couple of exceptions would be that the bathroom ceiling fan needed vacuuming and several areas on the walls looked dirty. The space was pretty well laid out. There was also a small balcony which overlooked an outdoor seating area with a fire pit.
The free breakfast was a nice perk, although it did not include cooked foods like eggs, sausage or potatoes. It was served in a small room, near the outside patio area and we had a wonderful time swimming and relaxing in the hot tub. The pool seemed to be salt water and the area was clean and nicely landscaped.
We liked the way our room, 306, was inside the "hotel" part of the property. A key was necessary to access the building and then each room. Other parts of the property were "motel" style, with access directly from the outside.
We wanted to drive down past Big Sur to the Julia Pfeiffer State park and had even considered staying in Big Sur or Carmel. We walked around Monterey from the Cannery area to the Wharf and found that area to be picturesque and full of fun things to see and do. I was quite pleased with our choice to stay at Mariposa Inn and Suites in Monterey!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the "hotel" part of the property, that don't back to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    285
    110
    31
    41
See reviews for
209
354
27
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great location just off main road. Large shopping centre just across road. Room exceeded expectations with separate living area. Beautiful decked area out front leading down to pool and jacuzzi. Free parking, wifi, computer and printer at reception. Would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roryhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo County, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We always go to monterey for a little bit of get away from our daily stress and we pick this hotel because they had great pics online. Front desk needs to be more friendly and upbeat. We went to our room did not look around much because we were headed out for dinner. When we got back we notice the entry light did not work and we said no big deal and then we looked and the bathroom and shower had tons of mold. It was late so we didn't bother with it. Refrigerator was super loud too. We slipped ok. There jacuzzi was nice but it had a funky smell to it. Setting area with fire pit so also disgusting because of all the birds poops all over the seats. So that was not inviting. I told the front desk about our issues and all she did is she wrote it down and ask me if I wanted a receipt.

Room Tip: Do not believe all the pictures online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maryglend C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here in June 2014 for 1 night.
This hotel was part of a package holiday that I was taking so I did not choose it myself, but I would definitely stay here again, if I was in the Monterery/Carmel area.
Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool/spa. Great room, with separate tv space and bedroom area. Room was very clean and well furnished, even had a fireplace in the corner, under the TV. Air-conditioning worked a treat too. Free Wi-Fi always appreciated.
Bathroom was nice, even if it got a little too hot after a shower, as one of the lights acted as a heater.
Breakfast was located on the ground floor. Standard fayre here, however everything was served on paper plates.
Location was great too, Del Monte Shopping Centre was right across the road, Monterey was a 2 mile drive, and Carmel-by-the-Sea was about 5 minutes by car.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Troyman1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed only one night on a drive down the coast but we were very happy with the hotel. The room was huge and clean, breakfast was ok with the standard continental but with a fresh waffle machine. Lady on the desk was friendly and helpful hobbling around on a strapped up leg :-) not much more to say as we were only here to sleep but we enjoyed out stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcWins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

- king size bed which is good for family with young kids
- very near to old fisherman wharf
- no elevator for some rooms if travelers with big and heavy suitcase
- free wifi which is good
- unfriendly front desk staff when late Check in

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Ahbian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

My room was right beside the main road and all kind of cacophony can be heard. It was close to the summer and our room has no air-conditioning. As noted elsewhere in other reviews, the room is really tiny. Booked through Priceline and cost is approximately $130 USD.

Pros
- Free internet
- Free cold breakfast

Cons
- Tiny room
- my room has no air conditioning

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nick273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
3.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Property: Mariposa Inn and Suites
Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing