We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed June 6, 2004

We just spent a couple days in Monterey at the Mariposa Inn and will return again and again! This place was an incredible value (we stayed in the "townhouse" style room), very clean....had recently been remodeled and was very pleasing. Comfortable beds.....sitting area in room was ample and we enjoyed the fireplace in room! The heated pool and jacuzzi was an added blessing...in fact the entire pool area was nice. Everything clean and everyone, especially front desk personnel were courteous and extremely helpful. I hope to get back there soon...highly recommend but don't take the room I want when I need it!

2  Thank Jillybar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
There are newer reviews for Mariposa Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 788 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Binghamton, NY
13
Reviewed March 27, 2004

Would have posted this sooner, but stumbled upon this today. I had a two week stay at the Mariposa about two years ago. Driving in is a grave disappointment. I was annoyed with my company for suggesting this dive. Munras looks like a strip of tacky motor lodges. The motelesqe Mariposa room was in barely acceptable condition, with an unidentifiable stain on the bathroom wall. I will compliment the gas fireplace. It was nice to have on chilly nights. Good shopping and digestable eating is within walking distance, which was a nice escape, and Carmel & the seven mile drive a hop, skip, and a jump. If you have an option, STAY IN CARMEL.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, CA
12
Reviewed December 1, 2003

My wife and I first stayed at the Mariposa Inn about 2 or 3 years ago in one of the rooms with a hot tub. We loved it and this prompted us to stay there again recently a 2nd time. Unfortunately, our experience wasn't as great this time... we'd reserved a non-smoking hot-tub room but the room we got REEKED of smoke. The front desk staff assured me the room *was* non-smoking, which seemed contradictory to the evidence (i.e. cigarrette burns on some of the furniture and the bed cover, the pervasive smell of smoke, no non-smoking sign). The fact of the matter was that the room was smoked-out even if it was a non-smoking room. The front desk told me they could not accommodate a room-transfer that night and when I continued to express my dissatisfaction promised to hold a room for the following night. That's fine but if the staff had been more genuinely apologetic or at least made an effort to make me happy then it may have saved them a customer. I plan to try a different hotel during my next visit to Monterey.

  • Stayed: December 2003
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2003

Our family of 4 stayed in one of the townhomes. Convenient with complete master suite + bath upstairs and living area/ bathroom with murphy bed downstairs. Extended continental breakfast very handy before the days activities. Cold cereal, bagels, juice, donuts, etc. My one complaint was the somewhat shabby condition of the room. New carpet was in desparate need (worn completely through in several places, esp.
stairs) and some new paint would have really helped. I noticed other rooms looked much nicer and had been updated so perhaps our room had not been done yet? Otherwise, room was clean and comfortable.

3  Thank travelingfatcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Danville, Ca
11
Reviewed July 8, 2003

Great place to stay for couples. Murphey bed downstairs, and big king upstairs. Lots of space. Barb-qued at the pool on the 4th, everything was great. Good rate. Would recommend to others definitely.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Alameda, Ca
219
Reviewed June 18, 2003

If you are looking for a good value and family or couples place to stay, I highly recommend the Mariposa Inn. Our family of four stayed in one of the townhouses. It's 2 stories, plenty of room, 2 TVs, switch on/off fireplace, balcony, free dsl internet access (bring your own laptop), continental breakfast (bagels, donuts, juice, milk, coffee), refrig, microwave, heated swimming pool, and jacuzzi. The room we had was fairly quiet. The front desk people are very friendly. We will definitely come back here again!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank 一晃 川
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#33 of 56 in Monterey
554 reviews
1.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: $110 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing