We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Peace and Quite in a great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Limerick
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Peace and Quite in a great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here in June 2014 for 1 night.
This hotel was part of a package holiday that I was taking so I did not choose it myself, but I would definitely stay here again, if I was in the Monterery/Carmel area.
Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool/spa. Great room, with separate tv space and bedroom area. Room was very clean and well furnished, even had a fireplace in the corner, under the TV. Air-conditioning worked a treat too. Free Wi-Fi always appreciated.
Bathroom was nice, even if it got a little too hot after a shower, as one of the lights acted as a heater.
Breakfast was located on the ground floor. Standard fayre here, however everything was served on paper plates.
Location was great too, Del Monte Shopping Centre was right across the road, Monterey was a 2 mile drive, and Carmel-by-the-Sea was about 5 minutes by car.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Troyman1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    263
    103
    29
    38
See reviews for
190
333
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed only one night on a drive down the coast but we were very happy with the hotel. The room was huge and clean, breakfast was ok with the standard continental but with a fresh waffle machine. Lady on the desk was friendly and helpful hobbling around on a strapped up leg :-) not much more to say as we were only here to sleep but we enjoyed out stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcWins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

- king size bed which is good for family with young kids
- very near to old fisherman wharf
- no elevator for some rooms if travelers with big and heavy suitcase
- free wifi which is good
- unfriendly front desk staff when late Check in

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Ahbian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My room was right beside the main road and all kind of cacophony can be heard. It was close to the summer and our room has no air-conditioning. As noted elsewhere in other reviews, the room is really tiny. Booked through Priceline and cost is approximately $130 USD.

Pros
- Free internet
- Free cold breakfast

Cons
- Tiny room
- my room has no air conditioning

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nick273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

I spent a girl's weekend here with two friends. The hotel isn't on the water, but it's only an 8 minute drive away. And, on the plus side, its right across the street from the open air mall with great shopping. Our room had two queen beds with a patio and a fireplace. Also a fridge and microwave. The continental breakfast did the trick, but was pretty heavy on the breads. The hottub was a plus after a chilly early summer day spent at the beach. The firepits and couches are a nice touch, but you might have to ask the front desk to light them for you. All in all, is recommend and be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColleenQD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Staffs
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed here whilst we visited Monteray, Carmel and drove the fantastic "17 Mile Drive". It was a good enough motel but a little expensive for how average it was. Some of the staff were very unhelpful and curt. This was a pity because others were very pleasant ant helpful. If you are thinking of visiting this area, do your research because there are many similar motels in the area, which may offer better value!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwain834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in early May. The rooms are nice enough and there is a jacuzzi and pool. Only gripes are that the mattress on the bed was uncomfortable and very squeaky (I have NEVER complained about a mattress but this one had a massive visible lump!!) and the water in the pool/jacuzzi was dirty and required cleaning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcgrant31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Property: Mariposa Inn and Suites
Address: 1386 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing