We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Bay Area, California
1 review
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2008

The Mariposa Inn has recently been completely renovated and they have done a marvelous job. The decor is modern, warm and inviting. I had wanted to book a double queen room, but none were available. They offered us one of the townhouses at a discounted rate because the could not accomodate our initial request. The townhouse was beautiful with a fireplace, flat screen televisions, and two bathrooms. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They have quaranteed us the same rate through May. We will definitely be taking them up on that offer!!!

  • Liked — The rooms were beautiful!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dezteach13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    289
    114
    33
    42
See reviews for
219
359
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

Great Location! Very nice Continental breakfast. I know there will be some remodeling soon, can't wait to come back. Staff was friendly. Front desk person was very accomadating. We will definately be back after the upgrade is done :-)

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvmonterey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2008

The only nice thing I can say about this place is that they have some nice landscaping, but that is confined to a single little garden. Other than that, it was a bad experience. First of all, contrary to the price listed on Tripadvisor, our room cost $229. It was the honeymoon room with a hot tub and a flat screen TV, which sounds like a good deal but the decor was old-looking and tacky, nothing special at all. It was like we were staying in a Motel 6 that happened to have a flat-screen TV and hot tub in the room. Also, we were appalled to find that there was a DEAD MOUSE in the tub. Appartently it had fallen in there and was basically scared to death, or perhaps starved to death. Anyway, that shows how much they care about the guest that they don't even check the rooms before you check in. We called the front desk right away when we found it, only for them to tell us that they couldn't do anything about it because there was only one person there. We asked for another room but they said they didn't have anything available. It took quite a while for someone to finally come to take the mouse away. I will say that I think the manager came from wherever he was to take the mouse away and apologize personally, so that was pretty nice. However, when we asked for a discount on the room, they only gave us a $20 discount on a $229 room, which wasn't even worth the $229 anyway! Another complaint I have is that the continental breakfast was very cheap - there were no fresh pastries at all; everything was provided by the likes of Sara Lee from the grocery store. I really don't know what they're doing with the money they charge for their hotel; it certainly isn't going back into pleasing the guests.

  • Liked — the tiny little garden (if that)
  • Disliked — The awful value for the money
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tawvry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2007

For the price, this hotel is decent. The rooms are ample in size and have average accommodations. However, there is free high speed internet in the rooms, which was an unexpected perk. The hotel isn't located within walking distance of anything except other hotels so be prepared to drive to dinner. The continental breakfast was nice and the hotel staff very friendly.

  • Liked — Free high-speed internet
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lazumd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2007

My family visited the Mariposa in August 07. We fit seven people tightly into the townhome room in the Mariposa. On the bottom floor were a pull out bed and a bed that came down from the wall. That was nice as we saved money on getting another room. There was also a full bathroom downstairs. The location is great- there is a shopping center with a Whole Foods, Petco, Rite Aid and some chain food resturants (CPK, PF changs) across the street. Of course we ate at Cannery Row but it is a good option! ,
All the attractions of monterey are also only a 5-10 minute drive.
The room conditions were good and it was really quiet at night and the continental breakfast had some decent bagels, cereal and muffins. The great thing is that it is a pet friendly hotel so my pooch came along!

So, now the bad... In the morning we had only 3 people take a shower and there was absolutely no hot water after. The showers were spread out too so it's not like we took them back to back. I mean, it's year 2007 and I am not at summer camp. I would hope that they could figure out a way so that their patrons can take hot, at least warm showers in the morning.

  • Liked — Location, pet frienly, quiet at night, room held many people,
  • Disliked — The lack of hot water after only 3 spread out showers
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RydeTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2007

They call it the best kept secret of Monterey, and for a family of 5, it may well be. We stayed there for 3 days during the first week of August. The townhomes have 2 full bathrooms, and are very well accommodated. The Mariposa is directly across a beautiful mall, and only 5 minutes from the water. The staff was excellent, and the breakfast was certainly up to standard.
We will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — accomodates families of 5
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank buzzcat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
3.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.8 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#34 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Property: Mariposa Inn and Suites
Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing