We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not "luxury" accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
257 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“OK but not "luxury" accommodations”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Visiting family, they recommended the Mariposa. It sounds like a boutique hotel, but it's not. Munras Ave is a long stretch of one motel after another. Most are not within walking distance to the waterfront attractions. The Mariposa is at the far end of the row. We stayed in a king suite that has a little living room area when you first walk in. Then there is a bedroom area with a gas fireplace. I suppose when the place was first decorated it was top notch modern, but it is now a bit tired. Our blinds were broken, the paint is chipped and the sofa stained. Yes, the towels were soft, but only two of them. I do like they offer real glasses and coffee mugs, but the in room coffee is still the weak, tasteless kind. My biggest disappointment was the "healthy beginnings" continental breakfast. NO it's not! It was no better than the usual unhealthy selections. And, the coffee was light colored water. When we mentioned this to the front desk, she said they call it "fresh". Well, it's not that either. Cost Co type rolls, cereal, sugary yogurt and those flipping waffles. But, a good back up plan...Whole Foods is just across the street, with the most amazing to go selection ever! We did find a great breakfast spot, Old Monterey Cafe. There are so many places to stay in Monterey, but this is not for the "discerning guest".

Room Tip: The second floor has a nice patio area to sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norcalhummingbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    293
    115
    33
    42
See reviews for
223
362
27
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were very impressed with our updated room and the modern bathroom. The beds were extremely comfortable. The entire facilities were spotless! The only problem we had was minor...getting into the parking lot off the street and back on the street. Other than that, we loved this place and look forward to the next visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mopsy79363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were placed in Rm #309, one of the townhouse units. As our visit transpired, we discovered 4 burned out light bulbs (were able to replace 3 with bulbs provided by desk). The shower in the lower room was extremely difficult to turn on, but once on had sufficient hot water, unlike the upper shower. The alarm clock time can apparently only be set if an ipod is docked. Blinds in the upper room were in sad state of disrepair. Front desk, given all these problems, did give us a credit off of our bill. However, I recommend avoiding this room and all those with lower 300 numbers, as the latter face Munras which is much busier than the side street. Those who are really sensitive to traffic noise may want to think about another motel. Breakfast is standard motel fare--nothing to recommend it. Go to Lou-Lous or Katy's Place instead. We do like the location as it is easy to get to hwy 1 to Carmel and to downtown Monterey on Pacific.

Room Tip: Choose townhouse units with #s above 309.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2calgrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

All in all very nice little hotel. Area is fantastic. Literally across the street from a huge shopping mall. Lots of places to eat and spend your money...Its 5-10 minutes away from the gorgeous and picturesque Carmel by the sea. Its about 10 minutes to Point Lobos State Preserve which has AMAZING amazing trails to hike. Seriously beautiful and amazing short hikes.
The decor of the hotel was very different and cool. All the artwork in the room was kind of contemporary with jellyfish motifs. The bathroom was nice and had a really cool mirror. See pics I am posting here.
Breakfast was ok. Nothing to write home about. There was nothing warm. No eggs, bacon, waffles, pancakes ...none of the above. The dining area was teeny and did not have enough room. People were eating standing up. Apart from that the dining area wasnt very pretty either.
As far as the rooms: there are two floors and no elevator so if you're on the upper level be prepared to schlepp your bags up the stairs.
We are pretty sound sleepers and can sleep through noise but if you're more sensitive, just know that every sound from the parking lot and ppl walking around can be heard like its right in your room. I dont know if there are rooms that dont face parking spaces but our specific room did and the parking spots are literally right outside your door (like in motels where there is a strip of rooms and parking spaces right outside the room). So - a bit noisy when ppl arrive and are talking to each other and closing car doors etc. Once we fell asleep we didnt hear anything though - so either the noise did indeed stop at some point - or - we are very deep sleepers.
The garbage bags were placed on top of the cans in the room (there were 3 of them) but for some weird reason were not actually put into the can. So - we had to start opening up each bag and placing it INTO the can so we could throw out garbage. No biggie - but annoying.
My husband says he saw a bit of mold on the ceiling in the bathroom. I did not notice that but he says it wasn't a lot - just a spot.
The mattress was very comfortable.
There was also a nice frosted glass skylight which allowed the sun to slowly filter in which was very cool.
All in all - nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 101seasonedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed for Christmas Eve and Chrismas Day. Location is great, neat room with 2 large beds, great bathroom and fireplace! Even terrasse is great! Breakfast included, free parking! And 5 minutes from Carmel-By-The-Beach. GREAT place for GREAT price!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annemarieJ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We loved this hotel with the in-room fireplace and quiet ambience. Breakfast was good, staff helpful and room very clean. There was an issue with the shower head which was reported but never addressed during our stay but other than that very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We booked this room through a Priceline bid and when we drove up, we were a bit apprehensive. The hotel is located on a main street filled with budget motels and from the street, this one appeared to be no different. But once inside the room we were swept away by the difference. The bedroom had lovely décor, super comfy bedding and a working fireplace, the bathroom was large with lovely accessories and above average soaps and such, and the living room was a separate room that had a microwave, fridge and flat screen tv. There were even bathrobes in the closet. We were extremely pleased.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the pool/Jacuzzi. These are quieter as they are further from the street an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2worldcitizens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.8 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#35 of 55 in Monterey
531 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Property: Mariposa Inn and Suites
Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing