We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were recommended the Mariposa Inn by the Tourist Information in Monterey " its a nice little ,friendly ,one of a kind place" we were told and that's exactly what we found . We got the last room available which was very contemporary ,clean with a good breakfast next morning . Tamra on reception was lovely and very helpful giving us some great advise where to have lunch on our continuing journey

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scuttler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 796 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

We booked a room for a Friday night at a very reasonable price for the area. The room was decorated stylishly with a nice large desk area and a welcoming chaise for extra seating. We found the king bed extremely comfortable. The free continental breakfast served many options not always found at this price point: toast, bagels, raisin bread, waffles, cold cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, water, juice and coffee with inside patio room seating or at outdoor tables. There is an enclosed parking lot elevator for easy access to upstairs lodging.

Room Tip: Make sure to find out if the room you book is downstairs or upstairs. If it's upstairs request o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shawnfeb_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a trip up the Pacific Coast Highway. It is across from a shopping Mall and only a short drive to Cannery Row. Hotel is very clean and comfortable and has a gas log fireplace right in the room! There is no restaurant on site, but it is close to several and the desk clerks are very helpful in advising you of places to eat nearby or in Cannery Row.
Easy access to highway 1, and not far from highway 101.
You even get comfy terrycloth robes to wear while you are a guest.
If you are planning a trip, or a stop in Monterey, make this a definate place to spend the night, or several nights. Very reasonable and exceptionally clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We picked the Mariposa from other reviews, and we loved it. I purposely chose a motel a little farther from the beach to get a better package, and I was not disappointed. The room was great, the staff was great, covered parking, nice hot tub and breakfast was fine. Price was reasonable - I assume you will pay more during the Pebble Beach Golf Course activities or the jazz fest. I hope I have the chance to stay again.

Room Tip: Skip the big names and try this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OFGinOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our second stay here and each time we have been impressed with front office staff & the breakfast host. This time four of us rented the two-floor suite & it worked out just fine. We did find that the couch in our room (312) had not been moved to be vacuumed in a while, but otherwise the suite was a very good value for our group. We like the location just fine for access to services, Monterey proper & highways. We will definitely return to Mariposa on our next visit to Monterey.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Launie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with this property! The extra little touches like the fire place in each room and the lobby and the Keurig machine in the lobby were a nice surprise and the breakfast was excellent! The staff was so helpful!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very comfortable stay for us! The fireplace was a nice touch and I have never stayed in a hotel with two floors before- it made the experience very comfortable and pleasant. The front desk staff was courteous and I enjoyed everything about my short stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mar Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#29 of 56 in Monterey
570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: $80 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing