We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was our best stay on the coast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
West Central Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“This was our best stay on the coast.”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We picked the Mariposa from other reviews, and we loved it. I purposely chose a motel a little farther from the beach to get a better package, and I was not disappointed. The room was great, the staff was great, covered parking, nice hot tub and breakfast was fine. Price was reasonable - I assume you will pay more during the Pebble Beach Golf Course activities or the jazz fest. I hope I have the chance to stay again.

Room Tip: Skip the big names and try this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OFGinOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    294
    119
    33
    42
See reviews for
226
363
27
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our second stay here and each time we have been impressed with front office staff & the breakfast host. This time four of us rented the two-floor suite & it worked out just fine. We did find that the couch in our room (312) had not been moved to be vacuumed in a while, but otherwise the suite was a very good value for our group. We like the location just fine for access to services, Monterey proper & highways. We will definitely return to Mariposa on our next visit to Monterey.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Launie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with this property! The extra little touches like the fire place in each room and the lobby and the Keurig machine in the lobby were a nice surprise and the breakfast was excellent! The staff was so helpful!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very comfortable stay for us! The fireplace was a nice touch and I have never stayed in a hotel with two floors before- it made the experience very comfortable and pleasant. The front desk staff was courteous and I enjoyed everything about my short stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Mar Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moama, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The room was clean and good amenities. Had a fridge. Breakfast was a lot of bagels, cakes and danish. Some fruit and cereals. Nothing to rave about but you certainly wont starve either. front desk staff extremely helpful. We were on the second floor and a lot of noise from floor above. Hard to get to sleep. Parking was excellent and I thought the location was great. We had a car so easy to get to and from places. I would stay again but possibly on the top floor, oh and they had an elevator.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antalya1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campton, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here based on TA ratings. Room was fine. Bed good. Had our own access to deck but shared with next door. Deck door was the only opening to the outside. No way to have an open window for fresh air. Could use AC fan but then you get noise. Not feeling safe about leaving deck door ajar while sleeping since there was simple access from stairs to street level.

Room had microwave, fridge and a safe - all nice features. Two large TV sets also. Free breakfast was okay. Waffle maker, pastries, cereal, yogurt, OJ and coffee.

Our bathroom sink did not drain very well and nothing was done to fix the situation even though we reported it on our arrival day. Only other negative was that we could hear the folks in the room above walking about, going to the bathroom. No decent sound barrier between their floor and our ceiling.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Walking to our room, the outside looked somewhat shabby and we were concerned. Not to worry, the inside was a wonderful surprise. Very modern, very clean with all amenities that you could as for. There were plenty of towels and the bathroom was well stocked. Breakfast the next morning was also a nice surprise with plenty of items to choose from. The price was well worth it and it was in a good location for touring. I would certainly recommend this hotel, even tho the outside could use some TLC. And one last item, the employees were friendly and courteous and knowledgeable about the hotel and surroundings. Kudos to them!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mudslidesally49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,402 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#33 of 56 in Monterey
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Property: Mariposa Inn and Suites
Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing