We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet place to stay in Monterey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Northern California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sweet place to stay in Monterey”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family spent 2 nights at this hotel over the July 4th holiday. We had a standard 2-bedroom on the 2nd floor. It's been nicely renovated with modern furnishings and decor, plus a gas fireplace. Hidden away in the dresser were a microwave, small fridge and a safe which were all handy things for us. There were spa robes in the bathroom, and the shampoo and conditioner were from H2O Plus which I love (I use this brand at home). There was free wireless too, and free covered parking.

The continental breakfast was handy and decent - the usual Belgian waffles, pastries, yogurt, cereal, juice coffee. The first morning, the temps were actually quite warm so we ate breakfast on the patio. The second morning, it was very cool so everyone tried to stay inside. There were only a few tables inside so it was rather crowded.

On the second floor, there was a large patio with ample seating surrounding a firepit. We didn't take advantage of this but it looked inviting.

The pool area was only OK - rather plain and bland compared to the rest of the property, but still fine for the kids. The pool itself was shallow with the deepest end being only 5 feet. The spa was generously sized and satisfyingly hot.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you're fine with driving a couple of miles to Cannery Row, the Wharf and Aquarium.

Room Tip: If you plan to visit the Aquarium multiple days, buy your tickets at the hotel desk. The tickets ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mailmanorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    293
    114
    33
    42
See reviews for
222
362
27
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed there six days for business. THe hotel is clean and easy access from the highway. Good price for the quality. Breakfast is included and is ok for european standards. The location is very good if you can move around with a car. Parking is free in front of each room. I would it recomend it for a relatively economic stay in the monterey area. Agree with a previous reviewer that acustic isolation of the door and the walls is not perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saitam99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Although we only stayed one night, this hotel had everything we needed. The grandkids loved the heated pool. The rooms were spacious and clean. All of the staff were friendly. I would dentin tell go back again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank salbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel is a gem among a cluster of hotels along Munras in Monterey. We enjoyed a large room with Jacuzzi, fireplace, and double shower. Also a nice outdoor patio with furniture. Bathrooms are updated. Nice amenities such as free wireless internet, free parking, nice bathrobes. Pool and spa area was clean. Continental breakfast had items such as make-your-own waffle, yogurt, muffins, granola, bananas, coffee, juices.
Another nice feature is the property has several nice outdoor patio sitting spaces.
The hotel is within walking distance of a nice shopping center; Delmonte shopping center is just across the street and has a collection of nice retail stores and a few restaurants. There's also a recreation trail that runs parallel to Munras along a park that has disc golf.
I concur that the downside is you can hear quite a bit through the walls and doors. Conversations in the hallway are easily heard as well as hallway door opening and closing. That being said, during our stay there was not a lot of hallway traffic. So don't let this deter you from considering a stay here.

Room Tip: May want to request a room facing the courtyard/pool instead of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linoaktown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

A very nice hotel located close by highway 1. The rooms were extremely fresh and the breakfast buffet was among the best i've ever had at a hotel. Only downside was that the walls were'nt very sound proof. i would definatly come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l0ckig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The front desk found out it was our anniversary week and upgraded up to a gorgeous room with huge jacuzzi, fireplace, (inside entrance), large double shower... gorgeous. It was such great customer service and the front desk associates were so very helpful and kind. We were concerned at first when we pulled up to the hotel as it appears that it is also a motel on one portion (which is not clear on the website and would have been horrible for me personally) and then our room was in the portion of the Inn which overlooks the pool and has been made into an inside entrance hotel. Housekeeping was very friendly. Breakfast was great and lots of options available. They have a belgian waffle maker, pastries, juices, coffee, etc. It was great. It was very quiet, clean, and enjoyable. And free parking! :)

Room Tip: Do not pick the lower end rooms as they are most likely part of the motel not the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a room with a fireplace. It was very cozy since it was chilly at night. The bed was average. The pillows were flat. You could tell it's an older hotel, but they have upgraded and decorated it nicely. The ladies at the front desk were very helpful with dinner recommendations. I think the place is good for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.8 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#34 of 55 in Monterey
530 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Property: Mariposa Inn and Suites
Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing