We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I had expected a regular bed and breakfast stay but this turned out to be much better! The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Given the rate at which we got it for, it was definitely a good deal. We stayed for 1 night and would be happy to return when we visit next. The location is perfect! Few miles from Carmel and Big Sur. The breakfast was not bad either.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kvnvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 793 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great hotel and were glad we booked. Few things to flag - it's a drive to central Monterey but car parking was easy and cheap. No kettles in the whole hotel for baby bottles and breakfast not celiac friendly which was disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This place is great. Off the main tourist path, this place offers some of the nature that Monterey is famous for. A shopping center is across the street. Rooms are quite cozy. When I travel down here, I will always stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawkjonsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I had a small group (13 rooms) that I was coordinating stay here. Tamara was most helpful with coordinating our luggage and keys. They even had reserved parking for our coach and arranged to serve breakfast early. My people were delighted with how nice the rooms were! This was one of our favorite places to stay on our tour!

Room Tip: Bring your swimming suit. Nice hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I didn't know what to expect when we pulled up, and I admit to thinking that it was going to be one of those old-time motels I used to know as a child . The receptionist was enthusiastic and full of advice when asked about restaurants and whale-watching. The big surprise was walking into our room and instead of finding some dingy basic motel room, we opened the door to a lovely, zen-type atmosphere. Modern, clean, complete with gas fireplace which took the chill off in the evening and the early morning. We slept extremely well and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. You need a car if you want to enjoy the Fisherman's Wharf for dinner but the location allows easy access to the highway, the 17-mile drive and other attractions. I recommend it.

Room Tip: I would choose an upstairs room. There are elevators as well as stairs. There is also a firepit ups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marciebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was a nice surprise of a hotel, we were expecting a motel-like set up and some of the reviews mention bad service etc. However we had no problems with check in, had a decent sized twin room with 2 double beds. TV, fridge all the usual things, bathroom was nice and big with nice toiletries and tea/coffee maker (which actually made a half decent cup of tea). The room was nice and modern, clean, all dark wood and brown and cream with some nice artwork which made it feel less sterile hotel room. Our room was on the front of the hotel so there was some road/traffic noise - someone out there has a serious engine issue, but after a while that quietened down. Parking was always great and we had no problems at all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HW31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very nice hotel, great pool area. Friendly staff, arrived one day earlier and have been able to change the booking without problem, have even been upgrated to the suite. Recommend this hotel to everybody!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Olivia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#30 of 56 in Monterey
567 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: $81 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing