We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Nearby Hotels
Villa Franca Inn(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

El Castell Motel(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$245
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$394
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$374
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$270
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $255/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$339
$292
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Monterey Bay Lodge(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$179
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveler rating
305
305
122
35
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
305
122
35
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurphy bedbagelswhole foodscontinental breakfasthot tubcannery rowboutique hotelbusy streetwaffle makerminute drivethe breakfast areagreat roomstayed here for one nightdowntown montereywonderful staybig surroad trip
Filter
Updating list...
349 - 354 of 811 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very large suite with small nook for TV viewing separated from much larger sleeping area by the bathroom. But, walls were very thin and I could hear some neighboring guest's dog barking all night. Then, too add insult to injury, in spite of having requested late checkout for 1pm and having checked out before that time at the front desk, I received an additional charge for $40. I had to call hotel back to request reversal of charge and am still waiting for final reversal of charge 4 days later.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for a couple days during the thanksgiving long weekend. Don't let the look of the property from the outside fool you ... it looks like they took an older property and get a lot of updates ... mostly to the inside rooms. Here is my run-down:

Pros:
- Excellent cold breakfast. It have been better of they had waffles and hash browns which tends to be the norm now a days.
- The rooms look like they have been professionally decorated and the colors, and furniture are all very welcoming, pleasing and allow you to feel relaxed while in the room.
- Complimentary water bottles are a nice touch since we forgot to bring some with us.
- The location of the property is great. Just off the 1. 1 exit north of 17 mile drive, minutes to Del Monte Mall (across the street actually) and no more than a 10 minute drive to Cannery Row.
- Free parking
- Very friendly and knowledgable staff
- Very large pool and spa area. Also at least 2 large confortable looking fire pit areas are available for the guests to enjoy. We unfortunately didn't make the time to use them, but they looked like they would be very enjoyable to use.

Cons:
- Free WiFi was very weak inside the rooms .. to the point where we couldn't connect, or got connected and disconnected. The strongest signal was in the lunch room.
- The entrance to the motel is a bit hidden and very narrow. Additionally you can only go South on Munras and cannot legally make any U-turns if you wanted to go North.
- The cleaning staff only made the bed on our first night. They didn't clean the washrooms or the rest of the room and didn't replenish the supplies or towels. It's not a biggie because we tend to be neat freaks so not much cleaning was required, however a change of towels when we left them on the ground would have been nice.

Overall we enjoyed our stay would look into staying here again without any issues.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr_Icu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This place was really nice, had great little fire pit seating areas and was in a great location. Not far from the downtown area at all. Maybe a 5 min drive. The hotel staff was friendly and of course had a wine bottle opener when we needed one. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaime B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I really like this place but I couldn't give it five star rating because of a few reasons: (1) there was almost nothing gluten-free at the breakfast bar, except for banana and peanut butter, which is what I ate. Even the yogurt had modified food starch, which shows that it was a poorly selected brand. (2) my husband said that the housecleaner must have been short because the top of the shower railing (which was about eye height for my six-foot tall husband) was so dirty he could see a layer of dust. (3) there were a few unrepaired minor items like peeling wallpaper. However we brought our dogs and our room had a little patio so this was a perfect set up and allowed us to get some fresh air. The gas fireplace was also a nice touch. I enjoyed the modern stylish decorations, especially because most hotels have outdated dark and dirty chairs and curtains and the like. But this place was stylish and beautiful. It is across the street from the mall including whole foods market, so there were nearby conveniences too. A great deal!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by how nice the townhouse unit was and appreciated having a separate area we could retreat to when my 3 year old went to bed earlier. She and my 6 year old loved the Murphy bed, which was surprisingly comfortable (much more so than the terrible sofa bed at a hotel we stayed at later during this same road trip).

Location seems a bit random, since it's not down near the Aquarium and Cannery Row. It's on a thoroughfare that takes you to Highway 1 so Carmel is just an 8 minute drive away.

Biggest disappointment was the traffic noise, which obviously affected our sleep quality even though the beds were comfortable. My husband is a light sleeper and the hotel is located at the intersection of two streets near the on-ramp to Highway 1. We got room 317. This room faces a busy street (Soledad Dr.) that is a main thoroughfare to Highway 1, yet many of the other rooms face Munras Ave., which also leads to Highway 1 so it may just be that every room has traffic noise.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smilesesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews