We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Don't Judge a Book By It's Cover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Don't Judge a Book By It's Cover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for a couple days during the thanksgiving long weekend. Don't let the look of the property from the outside fool you ... it looks like they took an older property and get a lot of updates ... mostly to the inside rooms. Here is my run-down:

Pros:
- Excellent cold breakfast. It have been better of they had waffles and hash browns which tends to be the norm now a days.
- The rooms look like they have been professionally decorated and the colors, and furniture are all very welcoming, pleasing and allow you to feel relaxed while in the room.
- Complimentary water bottles are a nice touch since we forgot to bring some with us.
- The location of the property is great. Just off the 1. 1 exit north of 17 mile drive, minutes to Del Monte Mall (across the street actually) and no more than a 10 minute drive to Cannery Row.
- Free parking
- Very friendly and knowledgable staff
- Very large pool and spa area. Also at least 2 large confortable looking fire pit areas are available for the guests to enjoy. We unfortunately didn't make the time to use them, but they looked like they would be very enjoyable to use.

Cons:
- Free WiFi was very weak inside the rooms .. to the point where we couldn't connect, or got connected and disconnected. The strongest signal was in the lunch room.
- The entrance to the motel is a bit hidden and very narrow. Additionally you can only go South on Munras and cannot legally make any U-turns if you wanted to go North.
- The cleaning staff only made the bed on our first night. They didn't clean the washrooms or the rest of the room and didn't replenish the supplies or towels. It's not a biggie because we tend to be neat freaks so not much cleaning was required, however a change of towels when we left them on the ground would have been nice.

Overall we enjoyed our stay would look into staying here again without any issues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Icu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    263
    103
    29
    38
See reviews for
190
333
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This place was really nice, had great little fire pit seating areas and was in a great location. Not far from the downtown area at all. Maybe a 5 min drive. The hotel staff was friendly and of course had a wine bottle opener when we needed one. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I really like this place but I couldn't give it five star rating because of a few reasons: (1) there was almost nothing gluten-free at the breakfast bar, except for banana and peanut butter, which is what I ate. Even the yogurt had modified food starch, which shows that it was a poorly selected brand. (2) my husband said that the housecleaner must have been short because the top of the shower railing (which was about eye height for my six-foot tall husband) was so dirty he could see a layer of dust. (3) there were a few unrepaired minor items like peeling wallpaper. However we brought our dogs and our room had a little patio so this was a perfect set up and allowed us to get some fresh air. The gas fireplace was also a nice touch. I enjoyed the modern stylish decorations, especially because most hotels have outdated dark and dirty chairs and curtains and the like. But this place was stylish and beautiful. It is across the street from the mall including whole foods market, so there were nearby conveniences too. A great deal!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by how nice the townhouse unit was and appreciated having a separate area we could retreat to when my 3 year old went to bed earlier. She and my 6 year old loved the Murphy bed, which was surprisingly comfortable (much more so than the terrible sofa bed at a hotel we stayed at later during this same road trip).

Location seems a bit random, since it's not down near the Aquarium and Cannery Row. It's on a thoroughfare that takes you to Highway 1 so Carmel is just an 8 minute drive away.

Biggest disappointment was the traffic noise, which obviously affected our sleep quality even though the beds were comfortable. My husband is a light sleeper and the hotel is located at the intersection of two streets near the on-ramp to Highway 1. We got room 317. This room faces a busy street (Soledad Dr.) that is a main thoroughfare to Highway 1, yet many of the other rooms face Munras Ave., which also leads to Highway 1 so it may just be that every room has traffic noise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smilesesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Older hotel(but not too old) nicely remolded my 3rd stay here. I really like it. Every room has a fireplace, the 3rd floor rooms are two story,bedroom and bath upstairs and flat screen T.V. Downstairs has a fold down double bed in wall and another bath and shower,microwave,refrigerator,flat screen,pool,spa,nice landscaping.Continental breakfast. Huge shopping center with plenty of restaurants,and a market right across the street.It's perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in back it is located on Munras a very busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayton oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We rented the 'suite'...so that my mom could have the entire upstairs, and her own bathroom. (yes, she is spoiled) my Son and I had the entire bottom floor, with a sofa, and murphy bed, and our own bathroom. We watched the Giants win on the nice tv downstairs. The morning breakfast was very nice, and the young man attending it kept it sparkling clean and tidy. I really liked this place, just wish it were a little closer to the Aquarium. There is a nice shopping center right across the street. Whole Foods, etc.

Room Tip: The suite is perfect, if you have a large family...say maybe more than 4 people. The pool was cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelligirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for a conference with our two month old. Everything was just perfect for a family stay. I just wish we would have taken advantage of the hot tub and pool. The location near Whole Foods is ideal. It was quiet. Everything was very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank party p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Property: Mariposa Inn and Suites
Address: 1386 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing