We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean and tidy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean and tidy”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We called at the Mariposa on the day we checked in, on the recommendation of my family. The hotel was able to accommodate our party of four adults in one of their "town house" rooms which has two bedrooms on 2 floors (accessed on the lower floor). The staff were friendly and nice and made a good recommendation for our dinner that night and called us a cab. The breakfast included was pleasant, (pastries, cereal, toasts and fruit). We stayed on the Murphy bed downstairs, sadly this was broken (which wasn't apparent until we lay down on it and one side sagged causing me to roll out of bed and into the fridge). As it was late, and our friends were asleep upstairs, we didn't alert anyone to the problem until check out. The check out staff did apologise, but didn't offer any discount on the full priced room. I would have also appreciated being advised of the tax amount on the room charge at check in, so that we could budget for it.
Plus points - the pool and spa were clean and nice, and the hotel had a patio with outdoor heaters and comfortable lounge chairs. The room was nice and quiet with a gas fireplace, and if the bed was not broken, I would have had a peaceful nights sleep. Wifi was included for free

Room Tip: Rooms with a "view" look out onto the car park and pool/ spa area. The other rooms face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauren_thevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    294
    119
    33
    42
See reviews for
226
363
27
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parsons, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our group had reserved 14 rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and they were all a little different. My husband and I had a second floor room with a deck to sit out on and enjoy our morning coffee. One lady was traveling with her 2 grown daughters and they had a room with a loft and 2 bathrooms.

We enjoyed our stay and I would love to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is actually a decent inn. The only problem I had was the ceiling fan made a loud clicking sound when it was on high. My wife turned it out in the middle of the night because the room was stuffy and it woke me up. I asked her what the clicking sound was and she told me it was the ceiling fan. I turned it off and opened the windows with no screens for crying out loud. Road noise was very loud. Thankfully there was not too much traffic passing by in the middle of the night, or else we probably would not have been able to get back to sleep.

Went down to the front desk the next morning and let them know and they took $50.00 off our bill. It was like they knew we were coming down to make a complaint. I would imagine we are not the 1st to mention to them about the noisy ceiling fan in room 309.

Overall the decor was nice and it is a good place to stay for a group of five, 2 adults and 3 kids. If you decide to stay here ask to not be by the road side and can you listen to the ceiling fan in the room first.

Room Tip: Stay away from the road side! Road noise is extremely loud, borderline outrageously loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clees501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Very updated rooms, well decorated. I really enjoyed staying here. You wouldn't know from the outside that it's such a great place but rest assure it's worth it.
Flat screen TV's in the room, updated and modern bathroom and great pictures on the walls. Mostly underwater images of jellyfish etc in our room.
I really enjoyed staying here even though it wasn't right downtown.

Room Tip: We had room 204 or 206 loved the decore and the beds were very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbybad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here for a last minute weekend trip and were not disappointed! The room was decorated tastefully with underwater photos of starfish and anemones (in keeping with Monterey theme), the bed was comfortable and room included a coffee maker, microwave, fridge and safe. The bathroom was large and included nice H2O toiletries and hairdryer. Overall the inn has a very quiet, relaxing feel with different outdoor areas to relax or meet with friends. The pool and spa are good, and the rooms included bathrobes for the short walk, but the pool towels were pathetic - more like a hand towel or gym towel, really out of character for the rest of the inn. The highlight for us was the complimentary breakfast (which we were not expecting). The breakfast is served in the Terrace Room and is a small continental buffet which included coffee, juice, bagels, pastries, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, etc.. There are several tables there for eating, but it filled up fast! Most of the parking in covered underneath the building. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank divekaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Can't say enough about this place. Got a 2 floor suite. Downstairs had a sofa, fireplace, tv, fridge, bathroom and pull down bed. Upstairs had a kingsize bed, tv, full bathroom. Plenty of complimentary mineral water, tea and coffee. Nice size pool. Good selection for breakfast. Friendly staff. Excellent place to stay at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Try suite 309)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as part of our west coast road trip this year, staff was very helpful and polite and rooms where very cool boutique style.. Pool / jacuzzi was open until 10pm with just us in there.. Breakfast was nice aswell.. Usual pastrys/fruit & cereals on offer...had a good nights stop over here overall.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,399 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#33 of 56 in Monterey
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Property: Mariposa Inn and Suites
Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing