We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location - Nice option for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Location - Nice option for families”
Reviewed December 29, 2010

I hadn't stayed at a Holiday Inn Express before, so wasn't sure what to expect. We often stay at Fairfield Inns or Residence Inns, so that what my expectation.

First, we truly enjoyed this hotel. As everyone else has mentioned, the location is perfect. It is 1/2 block off Cannery Row and right on the bike trail. We walked down to Monterey Bay Aquarium in about 10 minutes.

The checkin and parking was easy for us. The parking is underneth and was crowded. However, there was never an issue getting a spot. The lobby is small as mentioned and this is where the nightly reception and breakfast is located. As mentioned the cheese and wine is limited, but it worked well for our kids. They love ritz crackers and cheddar cheese.

I was pleased with breakfast. Both days we were there, it was well stocked the whole time and the women working the area kept everything flowing. We didn't eat much of the hot food, so I can't comment on the eggs. However, the bacon, toast, oatmeal, yogurt, were all great.

The room wasn't fancy, but it was newly remodelled and large. The TV is flat screen. There is a large closet with a larger refrigerator. I was missing a microwave. We didn't have the noise issues mentioned by the other reviewers.

The lobby was done. There is still minor work going on outside. We could easily come and go from the front enterance.

We will definitely stay here again. It was pleasantly surprised with this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank audigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay - thanks so much for writing! Of course we always hope that our guests love the hotel, and it really makes our day when someone takes the time to tell us so. We really look forward to seeing you again next time you're in the area... have a Happy and Safe New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    322
    89
    31
    7
See reviews for
292
279
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Location, locarion, location!! If you want to be close to Cannery Row this is a place to stay, only 1 block up. Great trail to walk down there too!!
Now onto the hotel itself. Currently the front of the hotel is under renovation and it appears that the inside lobby area and the guest rooms were recently renovated as well. We had a corner king room (306) and it was nice sized. Fridge and safe and free internet. Thats the good part, now to the bad......very thin walls. We could hear the guests in the room next to us use the shower and toilet all of the time. Very uncomfortable bed, saggy! And the breakfast......beware!! Powdered, dried out eggs, gravy that tasted like glue and the sausage (if you want to call it that) tasted awful! Also, the breakfast area was VERY small, 4 or 5 tables and a small couch were it. The lady stocking the food was very, very nice but it seemed that she forgot that her job was to "Stock" the food. It was always out and she was nowhere to be found. Several people conpained to the front desk but I guess he was just to busy on the internet Facebooking or chating. The food my myself and my husband ill for several hours after. Come on....you are paying a high rate to stay close to the Row, put out a quality breakfast or don't even bother.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bus71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
Eek!

I'm so sorry to hear that you weren't happier with breakfast... I have to admit that reading your review doesn't exactly whet my appetite, either! Very sorry about that. Unfortunately, our hands are somewhat tied when it comes to breakfast, as we are required to serve items provided by Holiday Inn Express. We will certainly see what we can do about not serving the biscuits and gravy so often...

As to the breakfast attendent being unavailable, we are a small hotel and often our staff is needed in other areas of the hotel for short periods of time, and perhaps this is what happened when you were down for breakfast? It's hard to say since I don't exactly know the timing on this. In any case, I really am sorry that this didn't go better and do appreciate your letting us know about the problem. We will do our best to correct whatever we can! Thanks again for your letter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

My husband and I included an overnight in Monterey as part of our honeymoon. After searching through endless posts about accomodations in the area we finally settled on the Holiday Inn Express. It was off season but we didn't want to risk not having a reservation before arriving. We drove down from San Francisco in the morning, arriving just after lunch. The hotel was easy to find and well situated in the main area of Monterey. We were permitted an early check in and found the room to be clean and recently refurbished. The lobby was in the midst of refurbishment so while clean part of it was inaccessible which included the front door. We had a rental car so accessing the lobby via the underground parking was not an issue. The construction area was also clean and quite quiet while we were there. Hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. Our only complaint was our room was nearer the elevators which resulted in more foot traffic outside our room. People don't seem to realize how much their voices carry and will talk loudly as they walk down the hallway/walkway. However this ended early so no real complaints there. Highly recommend visiting the aquarium, it is an excellent facility and we could have spent far longer wandering around the exhibits. We chose a day trip whale/watch with Monterey Bay Whale Watch. While we unfortunately did not see any whales we had a fantastic time. The day was beautiful, the boat trip was great, we saw seals, jellies, a nifty fish and lots of sea birds. The crew was first rate and last but not least we have an unexpiring fully transferable rain cheque so we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calgaryjetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
First and most importantly, congratulations on your recent wedding!! And how wonderful that you were able to take such a nice trip for your honeymoon. We're really glad that you decided to stay with us while you were in Monterey and also really glad that the hotel worked out so well for you. We anticipate the completion of the lobby very soon (hopefully)... these things always seem to take longer than you'd like them to. Very glad to hear that it didn't cause you too much inconvenience.

Please stay with us again when you come back to redeem your raincheck! And again, congratulations and best wishes to both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sedgwick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Loved this hotel. It was walking distance to everything, our room was big and comfortable and looked like it was all new. Can't say enough good things about it.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank betyonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Well even if you couldn't say enough great things about us, thanks for trying! :) And thank you so much for the review - we appreciate it so much. So glad that you enjoyed your stay - please come stay with us again soon, and hope you have a very happy Holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2010

This place is in a great location - my 2 girls ( 10 & 12) and I walked every where. Upon check-in, I asked if we could be on a higher floor and they very graciously gave me a room on the 3rd floor (top). It was perfect - comfy beds, quiet, and I loved the noon check-out. Also, free parking!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CopperMichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know, we really appreciate it. Please come and see us again next time you're in Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2010

My Husband and I wanted a fairly inexpensive place to stay in Monterey for one night, (we are originally from the Bay Area, and it just kills us to have to pay for a room) be able to park for free, walk to the aquarium and the wharf. Even though the front lobby was under renovation, we were allowed to “sneak” through the yellow tape at the front lobby door. The rooms appeared to have just been recently updated. The makeover was so new the toilet in our room still had the manufacturing stickers on it! We walked everywhere, and for all you antique lovers there is a HUGE antique store right next to this hotel (husband groans). Yes, we spent some serious time in that store. I rated this hotel 4 stars instead of 5 only becase the room heating/AC unit was right next to the bed and rather noisy-I personally like the heating/AC units not to be in the room. With that said I would recommend this hotel for convenience, friendly and knowledgeable staff, and proximity to everything “Monterey”.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifernunez10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
We're so glad that you enjoyed the hotel and were able to take full advantage of our very convenient location on Cannery Row! Thanks for bearing with us on the lobby remodel.... we're hoping that it will be finished very soon.

I know what you mean about spending the money on a room when you live so close... but then, sometimes it's such an unexpected pleasure to discover a nearby place in a whole different way! We're so glad that you gave it a try. Please come see us (and the antique mall!) again soon, and thanks so much for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Only a single night stay travelling north, chosen due location.. On arrival, entrance way under reconstruction, so all entry through garage...................could have been disastrous but no , very friendly welcome, lovely room, unusual design in keeping with area and better than average Express Breakfast even though identical menu to others, just well cooked and presented. Excellent, will return if in area.
If you need quick food recommend the Brewery down the road near Cannery Wharf, dont be put off by loud music, excellent food and friendly.
And don t forget the Otters at Fishermans Wharf just north of Hotel, NOT Cannery Row...............beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterC777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
Fantastic! Thank you so much for writing - and we're so glad to hear that you weren't put off by our lobby remodel (believe me, we'd like it to be finished just as much as our guests would! But also think that it will definitely be worth the trouble when it's done).

We're delighted that you enjoyed both the hotel and the area, and truly hope that you will come and see us again any time you're in the area. Thanks again for writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Property: Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Address: 443 Wave St, Monterey, CA 93940-1424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Pacific Ocean and historic Cannery Row - some rooms with ocean view! Luxurious boutique-style hotel completely remodeled summer of 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row Hotel Monterey
Holiday Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing