We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Redlands, CA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Whenever possible I stay at an HIE and this one of the best. I really liked the updated decor of my room. The exterior is pretty and in keeping with the location. My friend commented when we drove up that she didn't recognize it as an HIE. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location could not be more convenient. The only flaw is that you have to go up a few steps (with luggage) to get to the elevator from your room.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
I'm so happy you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Thanks for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor! I hope that we have the opportunity to have you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    329
    91
    31
    7
See reviews for
297
284
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Warmly greeted by the host and check in was a breeze. Room was clean and good sized. Our room had partial bay view. Bed was quite comfortable, not too soft or firm. Room has small refrigerator, coffee maker, sofa, desk and Wi-Fi. Breakfast was good and a nice variety, but some items suffered from being kept warm. Hotel is located within walking distance to Aquarium and Fisherman's Wharf.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsquaredhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thanks for the great review! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff, your room, and our amenities worked so well for you. I'm happy that you were able to make use of our excellent location nearby Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium, and I hope that we have the opportunity to have you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I traveled here with my family last year and we had a great time! The location of this hotel is everything!!! Literally steps from Cannery Row. I am a runner, and the running path is right outside the front doors of the hotel. The hotel is walking distance to the Aquarium (about 10-15 min) and local shops and attractions.

The hotel serves a nice free breakfast which is a plus traveling with a family, is clean, and quiet. Would love to stay here again, but it is a little on the high end price wise.

p.s. there is a nice little café across the street of the hotel (I forgot the name) that served good food for a good price.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor, 1 king and sleeper sofa, and we had a nice partial view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
I happy to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at our property. I'm glad that our location and proximity to local attractions worked so well for you! Thanks for the great review, and I hope that we have the opportunity to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed in a spacious room with a King sized bed and a sofa bed with partial sea view. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. There are ample parking lots at the basement. Short walk to Cannery Row or you could hop onto the tram which stops right outside the hotel.

Breakfast is at the lobby area with limited seating. Be prepared to share a table with fellow travelers or wait a little. Good variety including hot dishes, cereals, juices, pastries, pancake, hot chocolate, coffee and tea.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyRoadTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
What a great review! Thanks for taking the time to share you comments on TripAdvisor. I hope that you had a chance to see some of our local (and very close by) attractions, such as Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Thanks again, and I hope that we get to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stopped off here for one night while doing a road trip down Route 1, the receptionist was so friendly and helpful, and very willing to assist with receipt of my luggage which my airline kindly lost for me - I can't full remember his name but I think it was Sanjay? In any case, a true gent and we appreciated his help, friendliness, and the tip off for local food places.
Room was bigger than we expected, cleanliness was good, nothing too glam but did exactly what we needed and we were glad to find somewhere that night so easily.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballandbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review! I'm glad that our front desk agent was able to assist you with your lost luggage, but I'm sorry you had to undergo such an ordeal during your vacation! I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your room and staff worked so well for you and your family. I hope that we have the chance to have you with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Not your usual modern 'block' hotel but an old American style which fitted in beautifully with it's surroundings in Monterey. Big, clean rooms, comfy bed and bathroom with endless hot water and towels. Easy walking to the shops and restaurants on Cannery Row and the Orr attractions of the area.

The complimentary breakfast was one of the best we have enjoyed this holiday and the afternoon wine and cheese a welcome surprise at the end of a day exploring (walking)

Would certainly return and recommend to friends who are travelling.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madorabaybums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Wow, what a great review! Thank you for complimenting our architecture and taking the time to share your comments! I'm happy that you enjoyed our rooms, location, breakfast, and wine and cheese reception! I hope the rest of your trip was excellent, and that we see you again on your next trip to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

First off I would like to say, the hotel staff or very friendly!My family and I stayed there for 2 nights and the first day we arrived we went straight to The Aquarium at about 11:00 am because hotel check in wasn't until 3:00 pm so after the 4 hour visit we arrived at our hotel to check in and the hotel employee explained to us that we could have checked in early and saved on a purchase of 2 day Aquarium tickets for the price of 1 and the hotel offers free parking so that would have saved us $15.00.What a steal...Oh well next time we know. I'm writing this review because I want people to know what I didn't and so you can get a good deal:) Also have to say that the hotel offers free breakfast. I thought it was just going to be cereal and fruit but it was the works, pancakes,eggs,bacon,oatmeal.toast,bagels,muffins,fruit,raisin bread,yogurt,juice,milk,coffee...It was pretty good for being free can't complain!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jjvldc .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our breakfast and staff to your liking! I'm sorry that you weren't able to take advantage of our Monterey Bay Aquarium ticket deal, but thank you so much for sharing this information on TripAdvisor for the everyone else to read and be aware of! I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip, and that we have the opportunity to have you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,347 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Property: Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Address: 443 Wave St, Monterey, CA 93940-1424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Pacific Ocean and historic Cannery Row - some rooms with ocean view! Luxurious boutique-style hotel completely remodeled summer of 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row Hotel Monterey
Holiday Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing