We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Nearby Hotels
Villa Franca Inn(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

El Castell Motel(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$257
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$342
$190
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $219/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $258/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$371
$326
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Monterey Bay Lodge(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$368
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $367/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (796)
Filter reviews
796 results
Traveler rating
308
349
97
32
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
349
97
32
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscannery rowfree parkinggreat locationpancake machinewalking distancefree breakfastwine and cheesethe breakfast areaunderground garagefisherman's wharfcrackerswould definitely stay here againyogurtyour luggageroom was largefirst floorstayed here for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
373 - 378 of 796 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hotel was in a great location right in the middle of the tourist area. Very charming HI Express, not the typical ones I have stayed in before. This one felt like a boutique-style inn. Very nice guy manning the front desk. Indoor parking was great. Private outdoor sitting area. Complimentary coffee and apples, and wine and cheese in the early evening.

Our room was quite quaint and stylish for a HI Express, cute country decor. We had two double beds, they were ok, still had a good sleep. (Maybe suggest mattress toppers on the beds...). Good, clean bathroom.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuvTravel9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review out hotel! I appreciate your comments about our property, and I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to having you with us again the next time you're in Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Our stay in the heart of Cannery Row, Monterey couldn't have been better. Sanjay on the front desk and his colleague were a very welcoming team in the evenings.The hotel is placed just at the back of Cannery Row and so is in walking distance of the main restaurants and attractions in that area. The hotel is very clean and tidy and exterior is very much in keeping with the other buildings in the historic area. The breakfast area / lobby gets crowded first thing around breakfast time. There aren't enough tables and chairs to accommodate all the guests. There is one 4 slot toaster for 50 odd people all trying to eat at the same time !! The breakfast food is cheap low grade mass catering quality preformed omelettes etc. Not super tasty but if you are on a budget it will do. The rooms are very clean and modern for the property. Happy to recomend it to others. The internet works well too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; I'm happy to see that you that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad that our staff left a lasting impression, as well, as we are quite proud of them and the service they provide. I also appreciate your mentioning the exterior of the building, which I personally think is quite stylish while remaining true to the surrounding area. I hope that we have the opportunity to have you with us again the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

From check-in to check-out, our stay here was excellent and far above expectations. The staff, especially the guys at the front desk, are first-rate. Their friendly and helpful knowledge of the area and its amenities were priceless.

Complimentary Breakfast offerings are outstanding compared to everywhere except that place that makes made-to-order omelets. The evening wine and cheese reception with a variety of juices for the kids was welcome after a day of hoofing it around Cannery Row and the MB Aquarium.

The rooms are spacious, and the blond furniture lends a Danish modern flair. The three stories are built around a scenic central courtyard. Mini-frig and safe are handy. The only drawback is that there are 5 and 7-step staircases here and there, besides the elevator, which are tricky to navigate with luggage, but of course, staff is there to help with that.

Room 305 is on the Drake St. side but a block off the street and it had a nice peek view of the bay. Quiet and good sleeping there.

Free parking below is easy and ample.

I noticed that rooms had the carpets cleaned after each stay and asked about that. Seems that is their MO. Wow!

Overall, this was one of my most satisfying hotel stays.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roamingnoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Wow, indeed! Thank you SO much for such an outstanding review, we are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel so well and appreciate your letting us know. We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Monterey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We traveled to Monterey with our three children for our first time and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. The location was great for us! It is right on an 18 mile rail trail that makes it very easy to walk or bike to Pacific Grove, Monterey, Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, the Aquarium, 17 Mile Drive, etc. (two shops within easy walking distance have bikes for rent). Cannery Row is just a four minute walk away, and the ocean just a block away.

The hotel itself was very nice, although a big pricey (we went during July). Having breakfast included was a big plus and they had a lot of good options, if nothing too fancy. We were hoping for connected rooms but they do not offer those, but arranged for us to have rooms close together.

Great selection of TV channels for those who will be watching TV, but the scenery and environment are so great we did not spend much time in the hotel. It is a great location for families and active adults. Also convenient to historic Monterey and New Monterey, Pacific Grove, and an easy drive to Carmel.

Room Tip: We enjoyed ground floor rooms but would not want to stay right by the lobby as it is quite busy in the morning and afternoons with breakfast and wine and cheese.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjbrodrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

I agree with you - there are so many fun things to do on and near Cannery Row that there's hardly any time left for watching TV! We're so glad that you enjoyed the hotel with your family and found so much to do nearby. Please come and stay with us again when you're back in the area... our prices are significantly lower in the off-season :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here in winter. The price was almost 1/3 of summer price. The room was #1 which used to be a library. It has a jacuzzi in addition to the spacious bathroom. Room was big compared to the ones where I stayed at other branches. It is located in a walking distance to the aquarium and my favorite restaurants at Pacific Grove. Their daily free breakfast is additional merit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jae-Hyun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice review! We are so glad that you liked the hotel and found our breakfast and good location so convenient. And also that you were able to take advantage of our great off-season winter rates! We hope that you will be able to come and stay with us again this winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews