We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 cool days in Monterey CA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“6 cool days in Monterey CA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Nice, clean and within easy walking of Cannery Row the bay and aquarium. Be care full of room requests if you don't like steps our room required going up a few steps but had a sliver view of the bay and a sunny room though a little noisy. The staff was all nice and did a good job of keeping our room clean and the breakfast area clean and stocked. If you haven't been to this area before bring a jacket even in the summer

Room Tip: Book early and shop pricing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyclint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel. We appreciate your feedback and hope that we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    298
    83
    29
    6
See reviews for
268
249
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Croix
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

It's a funky little hotel but it's a pretty cool place, seems new, very clean, really friendly staff, and very very convenient to Cannery Row. Yes even with the elevators you may have to traverse a couple of short flights of steps (not all rooms would require this) but, having read about this in an earlier review we were ready and had very little baggage anyway. Free parking is a big bonus. While we chose to have Sunday Brunch elsewhere the free breakfast being offered when we checked out looked to be as good as any HIEx. Would definitely stay here again.

PS I gave the pool 5 stars but I don't know if they actually have one. Checked it by mistake and you can't (un) check it here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stcroixscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I'm not sure we've been called funky before but I like it! Thank you for your great comments, we're very glad that you liked the hotel so well and appreciate your letting us know. Glad to hear that the steps were not a problem... and no, actually we do not have a pool at the property (unfortunately strict water restrictions in Monterey prohibit building one).

Please come and stay with us next time you're in town! thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
folsom ca
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Love this hotel. We have stayed several times in the room with 2 doubles and pull out queen sofa bed. Room spacious, over sized, great bathroom, fridge is a plus. Simple breakfast but perfect start since our big meals are lunch and dinner when vacationing. Fruit available in lobby through out day. Didn't do the happy hour but its a nice touch for wine drinkers, cheese and crackers included. Also, there is a free trolly car from aquarium to wharf that runs till 7 pm..so you can have an early dinner and drinks and not worry about driving..

Room Tip: I called the hotel directly rather than use the 800 number ..since that was just a reservation takin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We're so glad that you enjoyed your room and the hotel so much - and thank you for letting us know! Thanks for the tip on the trolley, and particular thanks for your tip on calling the hotel directly to make reservations. This really is a good idea, for exactly the reasons that you pointed out.

Thanks again for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel one night on our way from Santa Barbara to San Francisco. The hotel is located along the quiet Wave Street (almost at the Cannery Row and Wave Street junction). It is an excellent location as the Cannery Row waterfront with great dining and Monterey Aquarium is just around the corner. The hotel building structure is quite lovely with a simple garden courtyard in the centre. They have 43 rooms spread over 3 levels. We stayed in Room 315, this is a Twin Room with two comfortable double bed. Our room is large and overlooks the antique store next door.
What we liked about the hotel :
1) FREE indoor parking (basement) with elevator access
2) FREE breakfast - sufficient and decent
3) FREE wifi
4) Quiet location but very close to the main attractions of Monterey (5-min walk)
5) Easy and friendly check-in and check-out
6) Nice, clean, comfortable, cosy rooms
7) In-Room Safe
8) Decent-sized Fridge in room
We enjoyed our one-night stay in Mar-2012. I would choose this hotel again if we do return to Monterey for holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin-sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your very nice review! It is really terrific to know that you enjoyed the hotel so much, found it to be clean and quiet and the location so convenient to Cannery Row. We certainly hope that you will be able to come and stay with us again, and thank you again for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Pluses: Location + free parking (walk 10 minutes to the aquarium!)
Minuses: Service + mostly gross free breakfast

For a holiday weekend, we paid the rack rate per night through Orbitz. Upon check-in, Sanjay was extremely unhelpful and told me that I would get no points for our stay. He refused to even look up my priority club number. For the price we paid, we could have paid just $50 more and stayed at the Intercontinental down the street (and gotten points for our stay, and had a 4 star experience).

The room was small, but adequate. The bathroom was clean. The walls were a bit thin, so you could hear other people in the adjoining bathroom. I hate wall AC units because they're noisy, so we turned the air off and opened the window (we were on the 3rd floor), but the gulls had a fight about 2am (and again at 5am) and woke me up.

Would I stay here again? Maybe? Maybe not. It certainly wasn't a good deal for Memorial Day, and I feel like we didn't get our money's worth.

Room Tip: The -15 and -16 rooms are on the elevator landing (potentially noisy). Other rooms require steps to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Former_grad_student
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
I'm very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay, although it does sound as though various aspects of the hotel did suit you well. Regarding the service you received at the front desk, Sanjay has been with us for years and honestly he gets so many wonderful reviews... I apologize that your experience was not the best, perhaps we were exceptionally busy when you arrived or there was some type of miscommunication? In any case, once again we really are sorry that your welcome was not what you'd expected.

We're glad to hear that your room was clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed our close proximity to Cannery Row and the Aquarium. We do appreciate your feedback, and thank you for writing in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
168 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Monterey CA because it has a wonderful location, walking distance to the Aquarium. The place is like most Express hotels, clean, fairly priced and with a real breakfast. The staff at this hotel were exceptional. My only complaint is that some of the rooms in the back require dragging your suitcase up some stairs. Tough for an old guy.

Room Tip: Stay on a floor that the elevator knows about!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRenfrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we are so happy to hear that you liked the hotel and hope that you will come and stay with us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I only stay at this hotel because of Sanjay and all the other wonderful employees that make this hotel a great one. It's always a pleasure to see a friendly familiar face and know that you are going to have a great stay. Thank you Sanjay!

Room Tip: Any room here is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isaac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
It is a wonderful thing to be appreciated, and even better to have your own fan club! :)

Thank you so much for this, I know that Sanjay and the rest of the front desk staff really appreciate it. They work very hard to make sure that our guests know they are welcome and valued, and I am very glad to hear that that message is being heard.

Thanks again, we look forward to see you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,820 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Property: Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Address: 443 Wave St, Monterey, CA 93940-1424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Pacific Ocean and historic Cannery Row - some rooms with ocean view! Luxurious boutique-style hotel completely remodeled summer of 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row Hotel Monterey
Holiday Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing