We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We didn't arrive until about 5.30 pm after a drive from San Francisco and had a quick and easy check in. Our room was clean and comfortable with two double beds and a sofa bed for our family of four. We popped down to the lobby for the free wine hour and there was only a few other guests there. The wine was ok and there was cheese & biscuits. Free breakfast which had quite a variety on offer. There are only plastic cutlery and paper plates and bowls available which is a bit odd but at the same time I appreciate it is very good value for what you are paying to stay here. We only stayed one night on our road trip and were checked out by 9.30am. I believe it was good value and it suited our needs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NP62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, we're very glad to hear that the hotel suited your needs and that you were happy with your stay. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation, please come and see us again if you're back in Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    316
    87
    30
    6
See reviews for
282
275
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

First off, the location is perfect, easy walking distance to the aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row (naturally!) Free parking, free internet, free breakfast (typical pre-made eggs, bacon,muffins... but also their signature cinnamon rolls and a fun little pancake- making machine) The included wine and cheese reception is a nice touch but don't expect anything special, it is really just a couple of cheese choices (cheddar and jack) and some crackers (mainly Ritz) served with carafes of 3 types of low quality wine,(cranberry juice for the kids) but if you are feeling peckish and want a little snack it is fine. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby. Yes, this Holiday Inn seems a bit overpriced but that is the sad reality of traveling to a tourist area in California, the location comes at a price.
As often mentioned by other reviewers, the stair situation is a little odd.Of course,there are elevators and there are a few rooms just off the elevators that can be accessed without using stairs, but for the most part anything above the ground floor requires a few stairs to reach. This was not a problem for us as our family travels light, but for those with heavy suitcases, strollers, mobility issues, etc. it could be a problem. The website indicates interior corridors however this is an exterior corridor hotel, your door is outside (just fyi) and the doors do not have a tight seal so you will get a slight draft and also hear the noise from the courtyard and walkways. Thankfully our stay was relatively quiet as the hotel was mostly occupied by older adults and the few children that were there were being constantly hushed by their parents. We did not experience any noise issues from the road or through the walls (I am a light sleeper so quiet is a must) but we had a corner room so only had one shared wall and I don't think the room above us was occupied so your experience may be completely different.
The rooms themselves are relatively spacious, the beds are clean and comfortable, as was the room. Absolutely no smoking or pets, which is perfect for our needs. My only complaint as far as cleanliness goes is that the carpet edges could use a good vacuuming, it was rather dusty in the corners and our room had a large stain (red wine?) on the carpet that should have been either cleaned better or repaired, kinda yucky to look at!
To help with your packing: your room comes with the standard soap, lotion, shampoo and conditioner, but be forwarned: the water is very soft and rinsing off soap or shampoo takes some effort. Thankfully the water pressure in the shower is good.There is a coffee maker in the room as well as a refrigerator but NO microwave. In fact, there is no microwave in the lobby either (where the breakfast and wine and cheese meals are served) so you may want to rethink bringing microwave popcorn! However if you have a real need to heat something up (a baby bottle, for instance) the person at the reception desk will kindly do that for you with their "hidden" microwave in the back, a potential incovenience.
Would I stay here again? Maybe, but only if I couldn't get a room at the Plaza

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinjenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row. I'm glad to hear that the hotel served your basic needs and you were able to avail yourself of most of our free amenities and that you found the location convenient. We hope that you will come and stay with us again next time you're in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colares, Portugal
Level Contributor
268 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row and I can´t say anything against it.
The room was large, the bed very good, the bathroom ok, and the wired internet fast. The staff also very kind.
The brekfast has not a big variedity and the paper plates and plastic cutlery puts me in a bad mood.
In fact we were coming from the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman´s Wharf at San Francisco and perhaps these two together are too much to me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I am very sorry to hear that the hotel did not suit you as well as it might have, and wish that I could better understand what the problem was. We thank you for your feedback and for being our guest, and I hope that your next trip to California goes well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
624 reviews
252 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 655 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I booked the Holiday inn Express Monterey Cannery Row almost 12 months ago based on the strength of Tripadvisor. I paid over 200 dollars a night and what a mistake! First the good points:
Free Parking
Good location for Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf
Reasonably fast free internet
Free wine and cheese for an hour, but poor quality cheese and wine
Excellent shower
Well, why didn't I like it:
I could have stayed at the Monterey Plaza Hotel, top rated on Tripadvisor for 30 dollars less a night
I clambered up stairs after stairs with heavy suitcases to get to the room
If you go for breakfast at 6.30am it is fresh, at 9.30am the choice was almost pitiful with fatty bacon and almost empty serving dishes of food
The room smelt of artificial odour masker
My main concern however was that the sleep quality was so poor. The noise from the main road outside room 306 was pretty bad. The front desk said it quietened down after 8pm and other rooms had it worse than us - if I was in one of those I would have checked out immediately.
What he didn't say was that traffic goes past the room throughout the night and at 5.30am it starts again with gusto. Sleep quality - forget it!
Tonight I am at Pismo Beach paying 50 dollars less a night for a great hotel with the sound of the waves and a room that knocks spots off last night's offering.
Would I stay at the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row again - no way. Would I recommend it - NO.
In my opinion it is poorly managed with dirty face cloths lying on the stairs for the duration of our stay and simple things like the weather forecast in the lifts being a week out of date making them useless.
There are lots of positive reviews on Tripadvisor but I can't see why unless I was given the worst room in the house - at over 200 dollars a night, if that is the case then it is pretty poor service for a Priority Club member let alone everyone else.
The saving grace was the location and a good meal at Fish Hopper just along the road, as for the Holiday Inn Express, drive on!

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room 306
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We're very sorry to hear that your stay was so disappointing. Of course we want all of our guests to enjoy their experience at our hotel and really apologize that this was not the case for you.

Typically our rates are much lower than those at the Plaza, which I am guessing was the case when you booked your reservation last year. In addition, we do not charge a resort fee, nor do we charge for breakfast, internet service, or parking. When you add all of those charges, it is likely that our rate is half of that at the Plaza, for a room that is in basically the same location.

Having said that, the Plaza is a much larger hotel than ours and occasionally they find themselves with a large amount of unsold inventory for a particular night in the off-season (which rarely happens at our hotel as we are very small). At such times they may offer significant discounts on their rooms, and so those rooms will possibly sell for less than ours (although, again, you do need to add the resort and miscellaneous charges to that total).

Monterey is a popular destination for many travelers and unfortunately it is more expensive to visit (and to do business) here than many other places along the coast. We believe that our rates are very competitive with neighboring hotels, and that we in fact offer a very good value to our guests. Again, I'm really sorry that you were displeased with your experience but we thank you for letting us know about it. We wish you the best of luck with your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The rooms are basic but overall very nice and clean, the location is great. Walking distance to Acquarium, Cannery Row, etc. Overall very good value for money. We stayed with a 2 year-old and unfortunately they did not have a crib or play pen but we managed to get a Twin bed room which was also ok. We would defintely come back !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wongman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We're so glad that the hotel worked out so well for you. Sorry, as you noted we do not have actual cribs at the hotel as we do not have much demand for them and there are many safety/usage issues involved. However, we do have "pack n play" portable cribs available, please just ask at the front desk. Again, we're very glad that things worked out well for you and sorry for any inconvenience. Thank you so much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is located within steps of Cannery Row and less than half-mile from the Famous Monterey Bay Aquarium. The rooms and furniture are a tad outdated and old. The breakfast lobby is a tad small, but what would you expect...it's free. Location, Location, Locations means you'll have to pay premium prices!

Room Tip: Parking can be tricky as you navigate your in the underground parking structure. We drive a mid-siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 32414Luis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We're glad that you found our location close to the Monterey Bay Aquarium to be so convenient, and appreciate your patronage. Thanks for taking the time to write, we hope that you will come and stay with us again next time you're in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have chosen Monterey's Holiday Inn Express at Cannery Row for years. Not only do they welcome one with light wine and cheese evenings, and a bountiful breakfast in the lovely, bright common area, but the setting in a well kept garden right off the Bay is delightful! The rooms are all clean and well equipped, but best of all is the front desk! Sanjay, Alex and Arben will find anything for you, be available for help at all hours and are such kind and welcoming professional hosts! Thank you to them and enjoy to prospective visitors!

Room Tip: A water-view room is especially lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristineB28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
What a delightful recommendation! Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments for our front desk staff... it is very much appreciated (and I agree with you, they really are wonderful and care very much about making sure our guests are welcome and well taken care of!) So glad that you've enjoyed your return visits to the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row and hope that they will continue for a long time to come. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Property: Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Address: 443 Wave St, Monterey, CA 93940-1424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Pacific Ocean and historic Cannery Row - some rooms with ocean view! Luxurious boutique-style hotel completely remodeled summer of 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row Hotel Monterey
Holiday Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing