We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean, great location !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The rooms are basic but overall very nice and clean, the location is great. Walking distance to Acquarium, Cannery Row, etc. Overall very good value for money. We stayed with a 2 year-old and unfortunately they did not have a crib or play pen but we managed to get a Twin bed room which was also ok. We would defintely come back !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wongman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

We're so glad that the hotel worked out so well for you. Sorry, as you noted we do not have actual cribs at the hotel as we do not have much demand for them and there are many safety/usage issues involved. However, we do have "pack n play" portable cribs available, please just ask at the front desk. Again, we're very glad that things worked out well for you and sorry for any inconvenience. Thank you so much for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 765 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is located within steps of Cannery Row and less than half-mile from the Famous Monterey Bay Aquarium. The rooms and furniture are a tad outdated and old. The breakfast lobby is a tad small, but what would you expect...it's free. Location, Location, Locations means you'll have to pay premium prices!

Room Tip: Parking can be tricky as you navigate your in the underground parking structure. We drive a mid-siz...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 32414Luis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

We're glad that you found our location close to the Monterey Bay Aquarium to be so convenient, and appreciate your patronage. Thanks for taking the time to write, we hope that you will come and stay with us again next time you're in Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have chosen Monterey's Holiday Inn Express at Cannery Row for years. Not only do they welcome one with light wine and cheese evenings, and a bountiful breakfast in the lovely, bright common area, but the setting in a well kept garden right off the Bay is delightful! The rooms are all clean and well equipped, but best of all is the front desk! Sanjay, Alex and Arben will find anything for you, be available for help at all hours and are such kind and welcoming professional hosts! Thank you to them and enjoy to prospective visitors!

Room Tip: A water-view room is especially lovely
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristineB28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

What a delightful recommendation! Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments for our front desk staff... it is very much appreciated (and I agree with you, they really are wonderful and care very much about making sure our guests are welcome and well taken care of!) So glad that you've enjoyed your return visits to the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row and hope that they will continue for a long time to come. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row, is situated perfectly for the vacationer wanting to do the tourist thing. The hotel is clean, beautiful, and our room was very comfortable. Breakfast was great. The service on the phone for reservations and during our stay was wonderful. How refreshing not to have to pay for parking in Monterey.

Room Tip: We were assigned a king room with a view. #216
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenthumbCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you so much for this lovely review! We very much appreciate your comments and are so glad that you enjoyed the hotel, breakfast, and free parking. Please come and stay with us again when you're back in Monterey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Great location and no charge for parking. Front desk was very helpful and made a great restaurant recommendation - Loose Noodle. Awesome Italian food and very reasonably priced. Go if you have the chance.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank todd f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

We're so glad that you enjoyed the hotel and restaurant recommendations! Great to hear that you enjoyed your recent trip to Monterey, please come and see us again at the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row next time you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed here recently for a weekend trip to Monterey, and the location at the end of Cannery Row can't be beat. There's also free parking, which is a plus in comparison to some of the other hotels with similar locations. It's also nice to get free Wifi, although that's not critical for such a short trip.

We stayed in a corner room, and we were surprised at how large it was. It was very roomy and everything was in decent order. It was more or less clean, although there were some red deposits in some of the edges of the shower. The room also was also a little smelly, although opening the windows took care of that. It was otherwise acceptable.

One other nice thing this particular Holiday Inn Express did was an afternoon cheese/cracker snack along with some drinks. I've not seen this before, and we only stopped by in the afternoon to drop off our things before heading back out so we didn't really take advantage, but it was a nice touch.

It's not a fancy hotel, but it does the job and is pretty convenient for seeing Monterey and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pseudosphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for your review, we're glad that you liked the hotel and value your business. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again next time you're down in Monterey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for two nights and could not fault it. From the moment we arrived until we left we were greeted with great service. The location is genius - a 5min walk to Cannery Row, close but quiet enough. Ample parking for guests, reception welcome was spot on - didn't have to ask a single question as he explained everything. Breakfast was perfect, room was perfect sized and very clean. As for value for money, I would say this deserves the price. You could stay in many places for the same price and get swimming pools etc but we looked beyond luxury to find value and this does have value through excellent service, comfort and location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingeBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you SO MUCH for this terrific review! We especially appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff, who do work so hard to make our guests feel welcome and well-cared for. We're very glad to know, as well, that you found our hotel to represent a great value on Cannery Row. Thanks again!! We hope that you will come and stay with us another time as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,628 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,993 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Address: 443 Wave St, Monterey, CA 93940-1424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $196 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Pacific Ocean and historic Cannery Row - some rooms with ocean view! Luxurious boutique-style hotel completely remodeled summer of 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row Hotel Monterey
Holiday Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing