We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in August. The price is reasonable for such a great location--about a 10 minute walk to the Aquarium and Cannery Row and very close to restaurants on Lighthouse Ave. Our deluxe King suite was pretty big, it had a full-sized fold out couch. The breakfast isn't much to speak of, some pastries, cereal, bacon, and eggs (although the cinnamon rolls were delicious) but it was free. Our kids loved the cheese and crackers in the early evening. Parking is also included in the room price. The underground lot has tiny spaces, so you'll have to do some maneuvering with a minivan or SUV. The hotel let us remain parked there the day we checked out. We had a bottom floor room that was surprisingly quiet and very dark at night. We'd definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Fantastic! Thanks so much for letting us know that the hotel worked out so well for you, and thanks for taking the time to write in. Please come and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

463 - 469 of 777 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

A few pros and cons here. This was a spur of the moment trip for us. I think just shy of $250/night is a bit steep for what you get. We were on the first floor and had absolutely no view out our window. We had a view of a fence and a few plants and rocks just a few feet from the window.

The parking is very limited. If you drive a large truck, SUV or any tall vehicle, beware. The garage parking has a maximum height of 6'6".

The room was very large. We had a king size bed and a sleeper sofa. Plenty of room for our 10 month old to run and play in the room. They also provided a crib.

We did find a piece of a Fruit Loop under the sofa, and a hair on the bed. The room also had an odd smell.

The service was very good. They allowed us to stay parked in their garage after checkout so we wouldn't have to find and pay for parking along Cannery Row. Short walk to shopping and restaurants. The breakfast at the hotel was very decent, too. Just beware of the bluejay that kept stealing food off our plates!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that we weren't able to give you a room with a better view, some of our rooms do have a view of the ocean but I'm guessing that perhaps we were sold out the night you stayed with us? August is a very busy month for us and availability is limited, so again sorry about that.

We're glad that the room worked out well for you, though, and that you had plenty of room and enjoyed breakfast. And so glad that you were able to explore the area a little after you checked out! I agree, it's nice to be able to walk to so many nearby attractions close to the hotel.

We hope that you will come and stay with us again at the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row, thanks again for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel had a great location. The amenities are non-existent. The room had a "mildew" smell the entire time we were there - faint, but noticeable. We had a room on the first floor and it was very hard to lift the suitcases up the stairs to get to the room - no ramp! The bathroom was clean. The walls are paper thin and you can see daylight around your door, so don't plan on having a silent night. On the good side, the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was pretty good for a free breakfast! We walked everywhere in Monterey - it was very close to a little local sushi joint that was incredible - check it out: Crystal Fish. Also, very close to the Trailside Cafe - totally worth having lunch there outside - cash only! Enjoy Monterey - it's a great place to visit!

Room Tip: I would advise that you ask for a room not on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TracyLPhoenix_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

It sounds as though you enjoyed your stay, although I'm sorry to hear that you found our amenities lacking. I'm not entirely sure what you mean by that or what you had expected as we are a limited-service hotel, but I'm sorry if you were disappointed.

For clarification, we do offer free hot breakfast, wifi, and parking, as well as a complimentary Wine & Cheese Reception in the evenings. We offer in-room safes, refrigerators, hairdryers, iron/ironing board, iPod docking stations and flat screen TV's as a partial list, all at no additional cost.

I realize that a full-service hotel will be able to offer substantially more than this, but as most of our guests like to keep their lodging costs down we think that our offerings are a good fit for our clientele. Thank you for your review, we're glad that you were able to enjoy our location and hope that you will decide to visit us again next time you're in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Definitely not a cookie-cutter Express. Rooms are mostly outside entrance off a central courtyard which makes for a fairly quiet stay. Accessability can be a challenge because most rooms require a few steps, even after taking the elevator up from the lobby. The room itself had a very modern decor, much nicer than a standard Express. Great location in the middle of town, most attractions are just steps away, including fantstic dining options. Parking was included which is a plus for the location, and we were allowed to stay in the garage for a few hours after we checked out while we wandered in town. Breakfast was a letdown, the eating area is VERY small and the woman working the day we were there could not keep up with the demand.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seawall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you for writing in! You know, I think this is the first time I've heard the word 'quirky' applied to the hotel, but it kind of works. This is a unique property, and from your review it sounds as though this agreed with you and I hope this was the case. Glad that you liked the room decor and hotel location.. and hope that the steps were not a problem. (NOTE to other guests: please ask for help at the front desk if this is a concern, or to be specifically assigned to a room not requiring steps).

I apologize about the breakfast area; we've expanded summertime breakfast seating to the courtyard area, but of course realize that sometimes it's nicer to eat indoors. I do hope that this wasn't too much of a problem.

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your time in letting us know how things went and hope that you will be back to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The staff are super, great service, friendly, and helpful. This hotel is in an awesome location to check out Monterey Bay... walking distance from everything (restauerants, aquarium, shopping). Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

And we can't wait to have you back!! THANK YOU so much for your wonderful comments, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed here with my husband and our teen for several nights. The staff is great--Sanjay at the front desk knows where to go for everything! Room was huge--two full beds and a queen pull out couch. It was also spotless. Parking is included in the price, which is a big plus here. Breakfast was good and the happy hour was a nice way to begin the evening. It's just a few blocks from Cannery Row and the aquarium--not even a problem for my husband, who had on a walking boot the whole time. The garden courtyard was a great place for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MidwestMom_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you so much for your compliments! We really appreciate it, and are so glad that you enjoyed the hotel and were able to get to where you wanted to go so easily. We hope that you will come and stay with us again next time you're in Monterey, and thanks again for taking the time to write in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night using points gained from travelling to many Hi Ex's in the UK on business.

Our room (and the kids' one) was well above the UK Hi Ex standard and was more like a suite, with a view out over the Pacific - superb!

Staff were very helpful and there was a free cheese and wine tasting when we arrived. Location is great and parking is easy in the basement - you can also walk to the great aquarium and numerous restaurants etc.

Just great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank westenddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

THANK YOU so much! We are just delighted to hear that you had such a great experience at the hotel, and thank you for taking the time to let us know! Very glad that the rooms suited you so well and that you were able to enjoy the wine/cheese and also our close-in location. Please come and see us again when next you're in the States, and thanks again for writing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
333 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 56 in Monterey
1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Address: 443 Wave St, Monterey, CA 93940-1424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $146 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Pacific Ocean and historic Cannery Row - some rooms with ocean view! Luxurious boutique-style hotel completely remodeled summer of 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row Hotel Monterey
Holiday Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing