We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Monterey was our third stop on our way to San Diego. After driving all the way from Napa Valley when we arrived into Monterey we were a bit tired.

Happily the positive write-ups we had read on Trip Advisor about the H.I.Express on Cannery Row were confirmed. Our room was spacious and well decorated and in a quiet location. Parking is free and breakfast was included in the price. The hotel is also very conveniently placed for visiting Cannery Row and the Aquarium.

We only stayed one night but we would confidently recommend this lodging.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Darwin1859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Oh this really makes my day! Thank you so much for writing in, and to hear that the hotel met your expectations is really wonderful. We're so happy that you were able to stay with us and hope that you can come again soon. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 784 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

A typical HI Express with an excellent location for the Cannery Row area of Monterey with free car parking. The room was really comfortable and spacious with modern decor which was clean and airy. The staff were really helpful and a great choice of continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KVJ166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Thank you so much for this terrific review! We're so glad that the hotel met all of your needs and that you were happy with your room and service. We very much appreciate your business and thank you for staying with us... hope you'll be back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed here with my mother in a 2 bed room and was really impressed with the value for money and the comfort I enjoyed here. The staff we encountered made us feel very welcome and very relaxed. Short walk across the road to restaurants, vistas & shopping and the aquarium is not far. Free parking, free wifi, included breakfasts (automatic pancake maker is wicked!) and all the amenities you need to enjoy a great weekend in Monterey. Only thing I didn't like was the brief nature of our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldwanderer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

And we're so very glad that you wandered over our way! Thanks so much for your wonderful review, we really appreciate your generous words. So happy to know that you enjoyed your room and our close proximity to local attractions at the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row. And the pancake machine, too! I agree, it's pretty cool isn't it? :)

Thanks again for writing in, and we hope that you will stay with us again any time you're in Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed over on a Friday and Saturday night and were very happy with the accomodations. We had a King size bed on the 3rd floor, and although we didn't expect to have any view we had a slightly obstructed view of the bay. The room and common areas were spotless and tastefully decorated. The Wi-fi connection was fast and strong. We were a little disappointed to find that our room lacked a microwave. The morning breakfast was not bad; there was a variety to choose from, including hot and cold items such as scrambled eggs, biscuits, sausage and gravy, cinnamon rolls, bread, bagels, yogurt and several cold cereals to choose from. The desk clerk told us about the complimentary wine & cheese reception, but we didn't take advantage of that perk. The hotel has free parking in their underground parking garage--a rarity in the Cannery Row area. Most hotels will charge a nightly fee for parking if they have a garage. If not, you pay to park in a public garage a block away. That perk alone saved us money. Our room, while facing the street was very quiet. We could hear the occassional guest walking down the hallway, but it was blissfully quiet at night. The one drawback to this facility for some individuals will be the stairs. The hotel has an elevator, but on every level (including the first floor) most of the rooms require the guest to walk up and down a number of stairs. For our room we exited the elevator then walked down 7 stairs and around a hallway, then up another 7 stairs. This wasn't an issue for us, other than it meant that we couldn't get the luggage cart past the elevator lobby. A guest with mobility issues should make it very clear when making a reservation that you can't handle stairs. The facility has some rooms that can be accessed without climbing stairs, so as long as you make that request in advance you will love this place. We visit Monterey several times a year and will definitely return to this facility and can enthusiastically recommend it to others!

Room Tip: Be sure to mention if stairs are a challenge. We had room 304, which is a top-floor corner room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cali-Beach-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Thank you so much for this fantastic review! I am just delighted to read your comments and truly appreciate the positive feedback.

Thanks for highlighting the stair issue for any guests with mobility issues; this is something that we inherited with the hotel and realize that it's less than ideal. Please do let us know at the front desk if you would like help with your luggage, and also, as you mentioned so eloquently, if you do require a room without any steps please do let us know that when making your reservation.

Thanks again for your review, we very much look forward to seeing you again at the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row next time you're in Monterey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

If I could, I would give this 3.5 stars, but when I was deciding to round up or down, I went with a 3. Holiday Inn Express is always a good choice when you don't want to spend a lot of money and you want a decent room that's clean and comfortable. The problem with this Holiday Inn was that it was pricey, but obviously that is for a reason because it is in a very desirable part of Monterey (Cannery Row). The room was a good size, it was recently renovated, and most importantly, it was clean. We liked the complimentary breakfast service they offered as well. The bed was okay--not great, but not bad either. We were on the second floor, so we did have to deal with the loud footsteps/noise that was incessant in the room right above us. We didn't need an alarm clock because of it! The water pressure in the shower was weak, but I know Monterey is all about conserving water, so I understand why and of course support water preservation. Another thing to note: there are a lot of stairs, so getting luggage to your room is a bit of a hassle. I'd advise staying on the first floor if lifting heavy luggage up and down smalls stairs/landings is an inconvenience. We liked the free parking, and although the garage was crowded, we always managed to get a spot (but just barely).

There aren't a lot of moderately priced places in the area, so if you want a basic room that's clean, this is your best bet. And, like I've said before, if you like to get out and explore a lot on your vacation like we do, you're not spending that much time in your room anyway!

Side note: we'd recommend going to the Monterey Aquarium while you're there. It's within walking distance of the hotel and an amazing experience. We also enjoyed Fisherman's Wharf where we saw a huge harbor seal hanging out on the dock (and yelling at us when we got too close). We'd also recommend the 17 mile drive down to Pebble Beach--the sights are breathtakingly beautiful. Heck, even a quick little trip to Carmel for dinner is a great idea to really experience the area and all it has to offer. Oh, and lastly, do Lulu's on the Wharf for breakfast one day. Old school diner right on the docks! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jpug2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Thanks so much for your thumb's-up! We appreciate your review as well as the summary of great things to do locally. We're really glad that you stayed with us and hope to see you again next time you're ready to save a little money when staying on Cannery Row :).

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I booked a very last minute reservation for Cooking for Solutions at the Monterey Bay Aquarium. All hotel rooms within walking distance of the Aquarium were sold out. I somehow snagged the very last room at the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row. What a surprise. I asked for a top floor room - it was not available, but I was so happy with my first floor room - quiet, windows on two sides, remodeled with very classy appointments.The staff was very friendly. And not to forget - FREE parking and FREE WiFi.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MousseMakesGumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

We're so happy that we had a room available and that you were so nicely surprised! It's great to hear that you had such a great experience staying with us and we really appreciate your letting us know about it. Please come and stay with us again next time you're in Monterey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

The hotel has been remodeled and the rooms are beautiful and comfortable. They also have air conditioning which we love for those warm days. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. The location is perfect to go to the Cannery Row or the old warf. The hotel is very quiet you don't hear any road traffic. We have stayed many places in Monterey (Clement, Marriot, Monterey Bay Inn) and this is our favorite and the quietest.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Wow, thank you so much for this fantastic review! We really appreciate it and are so happy to know that the hotel suited your needs so well. Very glad that you liked our recent remodel and that you found the rooms to be clean and quiet and the close proximity to Cannery Row so convenient. Again, thanks so much and we are delighted to receive your endorsement. Hope to see you again soon next time you're in Monterey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,579 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 56 in Monterey
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Address: 443 Wave St, Monterey, CA 93940-1424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $168 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Pacific Ocean and historic Cannery Row - some rooms with ocean view! Luxurious boutique-style hotel completely remodeled summer of 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row Hotel Monterey
Holiday Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing