We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vacation hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
1 review
“Excellent vacation hotel”
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Spent our anniversary vacation in Monterey and Carmel. Third floor balcony rooms overlooking the pool are beautiful, with a double sliding door to private shaded balcony. Staff is very customer focused and responsive, everyone from front desk to housekeeping greets you cordially with a smile. Breakfast is excellent - fresh fruit, made to order omlettes and french toast, great service - breakfast can be busy but the staff handles it well and it does not become chaotic. Pool is very nice, and fitness center is outstanding - much larger than most hotel gyms, with 4 treadmills, 2 ellipticals, 2 bikes and a complete weight room - everything in excellent working order, and each machine has its own tv screen. Parking can be cramped but we were always able to find a space. We were there during "car week" and our rented Hyundai Sonata looked pretty pathetic parked with Lamborghinis, Ferraris and a Bentley coupe in the garage. Short drive to downtown and Cannery Row, and college campus and park nearby are good walking spots.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorgiMum13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    594
    247
    97
    32
See reviews for
511
503
61
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LIVERPOOL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2009

My wife & I, with our 2 daughters (1 - 18y & 1-9y) stayed for 5 nights and found the hotel very good in all departments! The rooms where quite roomy and spotlessly clean, with an excellent daily maid service!
We had a 2 room suite, which was very well appointed and couldn't be faulted.
The location isn't the closest to where it "Happens" so if you have difficulty walking I'd check on the location more; I'd say it's a good mile walk to down town Monterey, though the walk is very pleasent.
If you don't mind the walk. I guess you could drive in, but that rather spoils the experience, I think, you will like this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveMLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyHiltonAdmn, Owner at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, August 21, 2009
Thank you for your positive and great remarks about our property. We are grateful to have you as our previous guest. Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Management and Staff look forward to your visit at our property in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sia_patel
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Hilton Garden Inns have always impressed me which is why I say they are one of my favorite places to stay when on vacation practically anywhere.
I arrived in Monterrey while on a family vacation through California.
The location is nice even though I would have much rather stayed at the InterContinental which sits right on the water. However, I doubt the InterContinental served us cookies as we walked in. And not just any cookies- the softest, best, oh-my-god-this-hit-the-spot cookies ever! We went through half the plate. Oh wells.
I got a room with a veiw of pretty much nothing.
When we got in my younger brother had to use the restroom and we realized the bathroom lights didn't work. We called front desk and they, rather promptly, sent up a maintenance guy. He ran up and down a few times getting the necessary material needed to fix the problem and he was done in about 1/2 hour which was great and it was in perfect time for dinner.
After dinner we came back to our room and decided to rent a movie but our TV ordering guide wouldn't work. We called front desk and the same maintenance guy made his way back up to our room. The minute he got back the TV worked which was a relief. Now i'm sitting here writing this review. I haven't checked out yet but it seems like a pretty nice stay already. The bed I'm sitting on is very comfortable and I think I'll get some great sleep tonight.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sia_patel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We stayed based here based on reviews with TA. Got a 2 queen bed room and although the beds were comfy, the room was quite small. The microwave, coffee maker and refrig are all in one little nook. The computer desk was next to the tv stand and wardrobe unit and you have one seater next to the balcony. If not sitting on the beds our family of 4 were crowding the balcony. Its a nice hotel though with nice facilities. Wifi was great from the rooms and the free starbucks coffee was nice while it lasted. I should also note that it is absolutely a must to get a room facing the pool bc if not, you will be facing the adjacent freeway on one side and a campus parking lot on the other. Not much joy in that. Overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MannyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2009

I can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel. I have always found the staff to be very welcoming and helpful. Our room, located on the third floor, was quite spacious and included a microwave and mini fridge. The bed was very comfortable and the bath towels were larger than what you would normally find at similar hotels. The third floor private balcony was especially nice and spacious, and overlooked the heated pool, cabanas, hot tub, and fire pit. The hotel was very quiet, with the exception of the neighbor who couldn't shut a door without slamming it. The fitness room features multiple cardio machines and free weights. The cooked to order breakfast (eggs, hashbrowns, omlets, french toast, etc.) was wonderful, and fresh fruits, juices, cereals and pastries are also offered. Parking is free whether you park in the covered lot or not. If you are looking to stay in the middle of the Cannery Row attractions, this is not the hotel for you. There isn't much, if anything, in walking distance of the hotel. However, everything you need is just a short drive away.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sistersis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseville, ca
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

My friends and I each booked a room for two nights - it was a very pleasant stay. The hotel is very clean which I was really happy about :) The rooms were clean - the bathrooms - the floor - a nice thing for sure! Beds are super comfy and I slept really good.

Parking is tough - I got lucky and parked by the pool all but one time - I did not like parking underground - if you go too far there is no where to turn around so you have to back up forever. I ended up parking in an odd spot directed by a hotel employee as they had literally run out of parking spaces - hotel was sold out. Minor inconvenience. Next night I did not go out at night - everything in the town practically shuts down at 9 anyway so I made sure we got back to the hotel and ended up ordering room service.

Monterey is a fun place for a quick vacation - Monterey Bay Aquarium and then the 17 mile drive and visiting Pebble Beach made for a good trip!

Oh yeah the hotel has free wifi in the rooms and free remote printing. I had an important work document to fax and they faxed it for free for me too - so that was really great for someone who needed to work a little on vacation!

Be mindful of the slow speed limits through this town though - just a tip!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrymomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goddard, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We stayed the day after Memorial Day and we really liked the hotel. Although we did not get to experience the hotel all that much (we got in around 6 after driving up the PCH all day...and then went sightseeing in Monterey...then left early the next morning) what we did see we really liked.
The rooms were nice with a nice bed. The bathroom was pretty decent size, although it did have some sort of weird smell to it (I know it wasn't from us lol!) We asked for any upgrades and they put us overlooking the pool. The pool area is really nice with a hot tub and a fire pit. We sat in the hot tub and it was alright. Did not swim in the pool but it felt like a decent temperature since it was a really cool night. They have nice chairs to lay in which would be really relaxing if you had the time.
We used the fitness center in the morning and I was surprised at the size of it. I also liked having my car parked in a parking garage.
We did call to the front desk to ask what time the Aquarium opened and we got a different answer in the morning than what we got when we asked the night before. I think that the times had just changed around that week so maybe that was why we got an incorrect time.
Overall, we got an outstanding price on Priceline! I liked the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankWichita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,618 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#6 of 56 in Monterey
279 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing