We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable, clean and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
204 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, clean and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Had a week of business throughout Monterey, and Salinas Valley. I stayed a several deferent properties during trip. Hilton Garden Inn was the most comfortable. It was well maintained, very clean and good service. It's a little farther than many Monterey hotels from downtown and Cannery Row, but still a short drive. Nice pool area and well maintained grounds. The rooms seem recently remodeled.

Room Tip: Try for an inside facing room as some are directly over a road. Also top floor would avoid hearing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review and for your detailed comments about the updated room decor and great service. We are very pleased to read you enjoyed our service as our goal for every guest is to achieve Excellent Service as this is the driver of our business and is what creates great loyalty to our Hotel and Brand. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    562
    227
    87
    29
See reviews for
469
475
61
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed 2 nights, for business good location as just off Highway 1. If visiting for pleasure approximately 3 miles walk. Hotel very clean and nice. Food good.

Would I stay again? Unsure, even though hotel excellent would prefer to be nearer the centre of Monterey.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda070311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for offering your feedback to other travelers and for rating us a 4 Star. We understand location always plays a role in experience. As you mentioned our location is ideal for accessing area attractions such as Carmel (10 min), Pebble Beach (10 min) and Laguna Seca (15 min.) Downtown and Cannery Row Hotels can take much longer due to traffic and stoplights and often are more expensive as well. Our Hotel per MapQuest is also 1.0 miles from Del Monte Beach and Pier and 1.5 miles to Dowtown center. We appreciate you staying with us and we hope your future plans bring you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We were looking for a hotel that offered air cond this hotel has climate control but it worked great. Most hotels in Monterey do not have. We were very happy with our stay Every thing was Very clean neat well maintained hotel. Friendly staff helpful We will come back.Little hard to find but worth it. We did not try the food as the Monterey area is loaded with great restaurants. Go to Fandango-GREAT Food in Pac Grove

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for the great review and for staying with us last week. We are always greatful to read comments regarding great staff service, great amenities. You are correct, we are one of the only Hotels with climate control, typically due to Monterey's year round mild climate however this year we have seen sunny days virtually every day so we thank Mother Nature for that! Thank you again for your business and loyalty and we hope you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We were on a 2 week road trip through California, and stayed one night at this hotel, so didn't have time to use the pool (which looked nice). We'd booked 2 rooms, one of them being a Junior Suite. It was a large room, but it was dark with just a few items of furniture so felt very empty. The whole room was on a slope, so it really was an uphill walk every time you wanted to get to the bathroom! The furniture was looking old and well used and the lock on the door to the balcony was damaged (same in the other room as well). Having stayed in many suites across the world I really think it shouldn't be called a suite. The big plus was that breakfast was outstanding. Staff were friendly and helpful, lots of fresh fruit and lots of food cooked to order.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on a suite - normal rooms are just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for choosing our Hotel for your one night stay in Monterey. We are sorry you were not able to stay longer as I believe you would have really enjoyed our expansive pool area and cabanas especially lately given how beautiful the weather has been. I am sorry the Jr Suite fell below your suite expecations, we are hoping our description helps explain the layout of the room. Also, I noticed you went to breakfast and had a wonderful time and praised the staff. We appreciate you posting those notes as we want to ensure other travelers get to enjoy our breakfast and amenities as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 1 week for business great hotel excellent staff wonderful restaurant on site also very close to the beach within walking distance just beautiful minutes to Pebble Beach. Great restaurants within close proximity. Whole foods and Starbucks within 5 minute drive. Clean rooms nice balconies family atmosphere. Staff very friendly and helpful

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Suburb36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you very much for posting your 5 Star Review. I love reading comments that praise the service of our staff as this is the most important component in our business to succeed. We are so pleased to read you enjoyed yourself and we welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Hotel very average and pedestrian, nothing special. Very slow to check-in hotel and checking out our bill was wrong. Pool area music was blasting way too loud. Our room was next to a road so it was noisy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank NY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for posting your review and for choosing to stay at our Hotel in Monterey, CA. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations for your check-in or noise. The music at the pool you are referring to is our new Pool Happy Hour from 2-6pm Fri and Sat. We wanted to create a great place to have a drink during check-in or in the afternoon before going to dinner. We hope that this funchion is offering a place to unwind for our guest's during their vacation. We hope that on your next visit to Monterey that you might check-in with no line and we can get you in quickly and efficiently as with most of our travelers. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have stayed here twice. The front desk staff is friendly and accommodating. I recommend getting the breakfast included if you don't have Diamond or Gold with Hilton. You get eggs Benedict with it! The room are clean. We had rooms facing the pool and this time we had a room with a sun deck! So ask for that. The pool in nice and they have some cabanas. This is one of the better Hilton Garden Inns I've stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sun deck facing the pool and buy the breakfast if you don't have a tier wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tschniddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Excellence is our goal here at the Hilton Garden Inn Monterey. Thank you for pointing out the excellent Guest Service from our Staff. We always discuss ways amongst our team to provide the best service possible. We look forward to servicing you on another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.0 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing