We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here in April during our CA road trip. Although just outside of town its only a 25 minute stroll to Fishermans Wharf. The rooms were spotlessly clean and had a nice private balcony where to sit for a quiet spell. There is a large 42inch TV in the room and free WiFi through out the hotel. They have nice bar to have a drink and chill after a long day. All the staff were very nice and helpful. We had a small problem with our booking via the travel agent but the front desk staff sorted it out no problem. You have to pay for parking but it didn't detract from an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fujiman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

We appreciate you posting a very positive review about your recent stay. We always focus on providing friendly, professional service and I am pleased to read that you had a great stay. We hope you can visit us again soon and possibly next time we can provide a 5 Star experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

972 - 978 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed on the 3rd floor on the south wing of the hotel. The 3rd floor has floor-to-ceiling glass windows running along the perimeter corridors of the building. This makes for a great view as you're walking to and from your room. The 3rd floor rooms also have have an interior facing open-air balcony. Our room was very clean and relatively quiet. There were doors on both sides of the room which leaked muted sounds from the next door neighbors.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Ronald Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for the raving 5 Star Review. We always strive for an excellent experience and it appears you had that. Thank you for staying with us and enjoying everything Monterey has to offer, especially the fantastic weather and views! See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Hard to give this spot a better than average rating...but I want to!

Clean, well-located and accessible, the property boasts a very decent pool area with fire pit at night. The rooms are reasonably updated and the service is friendly and eager to please.

The restaurant is the downer. In fact it's downright depressing. While you'd hardly expect the restaurant at a Hilton to be a sufficient destination such that it would attract non-guests, this one can't even seem to hold the captive.

Basic fare on the menu is, well, basic. Beyond that, buyer beware. The menu is too ambitious. The wait staff is extremely friendly (or is that Stockholm syndrome?).

At the (literal and figurative) end of the day, this is a hotel review, and on a stand-alone basis I'd bump this one up a notch. Not a cheap spot, but relatively decent value. Ask for free parking - you'll likely be paying for parking at the places you'll go to eat.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank pjalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for posting your review and indicating that we are good value Hotel. We always attempt to provide the best value for a Full Service Hotel in Monterey. I appreciate your comments regarding our restaurant and we will take your comments into consideration to look for ways to improve the dining experience. We hope you will visit Monterey again soon and choose our Hotel for your destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We booked this 10 days in advance of our stay on our HHonors points. Our upper pool facing room was horribly noisy. We thought the slider was open when we walked into the room, it was so noisy from the pool! Room was right next to elevator and stairwell and the noise from all the roller bags on the cement floor going to and from the elevator, both morning and evening was very loud and annoying. Only after FIVE staff gave us wrong information on how to access the internet, did someone actually get it right--lots of frustration there! Advice by staff on restaurants was just WRONG. First night Steve told us wrong street for the restaurant of our choice, and also told us that his recommendation for a restaurant did NOT take reservations, we were just to go and put our names in. We chose to do that the second night--got there at 6pm and were told they ONLY take reservations and could possibly fit us in by 9-9:30 (on a Thursday). So we followed his directions to another of his restaurant recommendations on the wharf, only to find it did not exist. We ate breakfast in their restaurant one morning and were seated and told nothing about it being a buffet, with a hot and cold choice with different prices (prices were not communicated to us until we asked). Not at all what we expect from a Hilton!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelgirl518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for posting your feedback regarding your last stay. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced in particular about the internet access and the directions. Typically our Internet access is very quick and easy and most guests can get right in. Steve is our Assistant GM and he is one of our best local advocates as he has lived here for so many years. We deeply apologize for the miscommunication in street names, reserations etc...Monterey and Carmel have so many great restaurants to dine and each staff member always loves to give their favorites based on experience. I am confident that any other time Steve would give a fabulous recommendation. I understand how frustrating this can be for your one and only dining experience. We hope you are able to return and experience what so many others have been able to experience as typical at our Hotel and in Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Came for the Sea Otter Classic Bike Event. Perfectly polite and efficient staff. Upper pool facing room avoids any and all possible negative comments others have said about facing the road. Reasonably priced for a location quite close to downtown Monterey with easy biking minutes to the Bay. You have to be hardy to bike to Laguna Seca for the Sea Otter event in terms of traffic.
Why stay in downtown Monterey and get stuck in traffic all the time -stay here and travel around the Peninsula and return to relative quiet. A nice suprise in terms of comfort, quiet and decent accommodations.

Room Tip: Get an upgrade to a Junior Suite - third floor - corner overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamGriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for posting your great review. We are pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay in time for the Sea Otter Classic race. We appreciate that you wrote about how quiet and nice your room was on the pool side. We look forward to your return next year to enjoy Monterey and our Hotel once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here instead of Carmel, primarily to get the Hilton points. It's not on the water, but other than that a very nice location and close to anything you want to do in Monterey or Carmel (not walking distance, but close by car). We used the pool and spa -- both were in good shape, clean, and uncrowded (Sunday night in March, so you would not expect many people).

This is a good choice if you want a nice, clean, slightly upscale place to spend the night in the area. A small amenity but a nice one: Keurig coffeemaker in the room.

As always, there is never enough coffee (for us) supplied with the room, so we called down for more and they brought it right away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edc1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay. I am pleased to hear we were a great hub for your Carmel and local attracation stay. We do hear that often from our guests. We always strive for 5 Star service so please let us know if there is anything we can do improveyour next experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had a great time staying at the hilton. They let us store our bikes since we couldn't check in early. This allowed us to get our athletes packet and to hang around town opposed to worrying about our bikes being stolen. Very courteous staff and very eager to help.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Vivian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you for posting your 5 Star Rating review about your stay during Sea Otter Classic Bike Race weekend. We were so thrilled to host your group and we had a wonderful weekend. I am very pleased to read that our staff was accomodating and attentive to your needs. We hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,552 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
333 reviews
2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 56 in Monterey
1,343 reviews
1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $138 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing