We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip and found the hotel very comfortable and relaxing after long days. Staff was extremely cordial and amenities are wonderful, including the heated outdoor pool and nicely equipped fitness center. Fisherman's Wharf is an easy walk and other area attractions are a quick drive. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Suzann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive review about our Hotel. We are always pleased to hear when a guest enjoy's are service and is complimentary about our product and experience. We receive multiple comments on this site that state we are very good location and also they love our Pool and Fitness Center. We are proud to host one of the best Pool Courtyards in the area! We hope you return soon. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    551
    224
    84
    27
See reviews for
454
464
59
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Great staff, impressive hotel. Highly recommended. Stay was very easy from beginning to end. Staff catered to all requests and check out was also fast and simple. I very nice hotel. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us all the way from Australia! We are always appreciative of a great review and will take your feedback and share it with our team. Thank you for your business and we hope if you are out in Monterey again you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamihara, Japan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at this Hotel. At this trip, we have chosen 1 bed, 1 big Living, Small kitchen and Full bathroom. You can see this exact room on Hilton Garden Inn Monterey's website. Photo looks fantastic. Room was very clean. But we felt room and interior decoration was outdated or bit old. There are 2 42-inch TVs (1 in living room and another 1 in bed room). Sofa in living room looks old and low-grade. There was old and moldy house smell inside closet near main door. Positive side note about living room, big and wide space. Small convenience kitchen look very outdated. There was strange old food preparing table reminded me in 1950's. They should get rid of this. And they had food storage room which was obviously very old and unappealing. All look a kind of spooky. This area must be remodeled and upgraded with present style. We did not appreciated regards to style at all. Corner breakfast section was OK. Bed room was big and nice, except for Dresser was small and looks old. And bedroom need extra lights at night time, please. Nice big bathroom was good, but interior design look old, and need to be upgraded. Our room was facing back road of Hotel. Not much view at all. In conclusion, entire room needs to be remodeled. Wear and tear everywhere. Otherwise, services were great. Everyone, all staff were friendly and honorable. We appreciated them sincerely. Dining room was nice and we loved breakfast meals and service. And best of all, good location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StarShine80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your last stay. We always strive for 5 star experience so we are hoping to be able take your feedback and improve future stays. I enjoyed hearing that you enjoyed our service of our staff as that is something that we can always provide no matter the situation. We just completed a full renovation of the Hotel and as I read your review it appears our staff gave you a great complimentary upgrade that many of our guests really enjoy in most settings. This is not our typical room type as it is much larger and is the only room in the entire Hotel with a "kitchen" type room. We appreciate your feedback as always and will look for ways to improve the design of this suite. Next visit possibly we can place you in one of pool view standard rooms and see if this room design is more sufficient. Thank you again for your business and we look forward to another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I'm a frequent traveler very loyal to the Hilton brand both domestically and internationally. Although the property this hotel sits on is very beautiful and tranquil, the property itself is not up to the Hilton Garden Inn brand.

I stayed in a double queen room that was very small. So small the only closet was a bulky armoire. The bathroom was awkward and seemed more like a Best Western level bathroom. One had to walk past the toilet to get to the bathroom. You couldn't really shut the door without walking all the way in past everything then getting out of the way to shut the door to gain privacy.

I also was disappointed in the quality of the rooms. I could hear FULL conversations in the rooms next to mine, along with anything that happened in the hall - from a door opening and closing in rooms nearby or other travelers walking down the hall speaking. There is really no privacy.

On top of this there were late arrivals the night I stayed that woke me up repeatedly as they walked down the hall to their rooms. At 4am someone ran by hitting the balcony railings with a metal object - which sounded like someone trying to break in my room.

Cleanliness - not very clean. There were water spots on the bathroom floor which made it feel as if I was in a room that hadn't been well cleaned.

I am usually not one to complain, but wow. This hotel infrastructure is at the level of a Hampton - not a Hilton Garden Inn. If I had to stay here again, I would plan on sleeping lightly because you will hear everything in the rooms and halls surrounding yours. I would also recommend if you must stay here to demand a room on floor 2 or floor 3 in hopes of a quieter space. I'd also recommend asking for a room as far away from the elevator and entry way halls as possible.

On the bright side, this hotel is surrounded by beautiful greenery and the staff isn't terrible. I'm staying here four nights and the manager gave credit for one night. However, I'd much rather have a good night's sleep than credit for my room - I will definitely choose another hotel if I stay in this area again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that we did not fulfill your expectations on your visit to our Hotel. It appears that possibly some other loud guests might have had an impact on your overall experience which is unfortunate because generally our guests really enjoy the comfort and peacefulness of our natural and convenient location. We spend quite a bit of time inspecting our rooms and will ensure we follow up on your comment about the bathroom floors. Several guests really enjoy the patio as it opens up the square footage of the guest rooms and many Hotels in Monterey don't have this outdoor space where you can enjoy the beautiful Monterey sun and fresh air. If you have a chance to return to the Hotel and are able to have a quiter experience I am confident that our staff and upgraded product will allow you to relax as planned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a great time at the Hilton Garden Inn in Monterey. If you are a HH Gold member then you will also get vouchers for free breakfast which is phenomenal for a hotel breakfast. The only issues I saw with the hotel was the fact that there are stairs to enter into the hotel so if you have a lot of luggage then you will have make multiple trips and can't use dollys from your car to the room. The only other thing was that the room with 2 queens was a bit tight. It was good enough for our family but it could be a bit small for 4 adults.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dky1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for providing your feedback on your last stay. We are so greatful you chose our Hotel for your stay in Monterey. We always want to provide an excellent experience so we focus on very attentive service and keeping our property updated and worth the value. You commented on the size of the room which from experience is very similar to other Hotels in the area but with many adults we possibly recommend upgrading to one of our larger Junior Suites or One Bedroom suites next time. We also have a nice outdoor space with a patio on every room which helps make the room feel bigger and you can enjoy our beautiful year round Monterey weather. We hope you are able to make it back and soon and hopefully experience a bit larger room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stopped here as part of our pacific coast road trip for two nights (happened to be Columbus Day weekend) to enjoy the area - And I gotta say this was a great Hilton Garden Inn. This is an extra large HGI that has been recently renovated and has a number of amenities; location is just off the highway and a few minutes away from aquarium, wharf, Carmel, as well as a short drive to Big Sur. Our room was on the first floor of the lobby side wing and was very spacious, with a quiet outside sitting area, microwave, fridge, etc. The room was very clean & fresh smelling with a large comfortable king bed. We liked that there was covered parking and elevator access to the guest rooms. We also took advantage of the washer and dryers on site. We did not eat breakfast but did grab some comfort food in the bar area so we could enjoy both the baseball playoffs as well as college football. The cookies in the lobby were too good also.

The folks at the front desk were very nice and very helpful. Can't say enough about their help when placing our reservation and the assistance provided at check-in.

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend for travelers to the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from CA-1 to ensure one does not hear traffic in evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mini6322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for riding such a wonderful positive review. We really do see ourselves as one of the most unique Hilton Garden Inn's in the Hilton system as we used to actually be a Hilton Resort about 7 years ago. Our large bar and seperate restaurant along with expansive layout and large pool area really set us apart from the rest. Thank you for noticing and commenting to others. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were in the area for a business trip and decided upon the Hilton Garden Inn. Overall, it was a pleasant experience. The rooms were spacious, internet worked well, and the fitness area was decent for this type of propery. Breakfast only started at 6:30 which I found inconvenient. I guess people in CA start their days laters. Location wise, it was easy to get to Monterey for dinners. Getting on and off the highway is a bit tricky, but not a major problem.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the highway. It can get a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. We appreciate you choosing our Hotel for your business stay. Our Brand HGI Is designed for business travelers and luckily our Hotel is fit for that as well as the Tourist traveler. We apprecaite your comment about our large Fitness Center which we are very proud of. We also offer 20MBS Internet capacity and hope to upgrade this as well very soon to enhance your working experience even more. Thank you again and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.0 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#14 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing