We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location poor hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Beds
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice location poor hotel”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is our second stay at this Monterey hotel and second time we will say never again. That makes the hotel sound really bad but the staff were great and the restaurant good but the rooms are the place it fails.
Both times we have stayed they allocated rooms that were not acceptable and we had to complain and be moved.
This time we had booked a Jnr Suite and we were given one in the corner, big room but the balcony was deep with high sides and came to a point at the front where one person could stand. This made the room exceptionally dark and the balcony was never going to see sun ever.
We changed rooms to a 2nd floor one (259) and this looked great but it was so noisy. On one wall was the housekeeping room and the other the ice and drinks machines. Must say the walls must be paper thin. When we had neighbours next door you could hear everything and the people out on balconies were heard through the glazed doors.
It is a shame because the staff were helpful and the waiters very attentive. We saw many other hotels in the area nearer to the beach we will try next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uktravellerBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our Hotel. Sometimes due to special events in town the guests can have a little too much fun on weekends. We do have security to address the roudy ones. One are we are very pleased to hear that went well was our service. We always strive to provide the service that is needed to have a great experience. Hopefully during a quieter night you will enjoy your stay more comfortably. Thank you again for your business and we certainly invite you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    594
    244
    96
    32
See reviews for
510
500
61
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed Labor Day weekend(Aug 31- Sept 1). Required two nite reservation, and although room was adequate, it lacked the ambiance of the Hyatt, and restaurant was unremarkable. Too close to the # 1 freeway and not close to desirable restaurants.

Room Tip: Away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for posting your response. We always strive to improve so we will take your notes very seriously and look at ways that we can provide a better experience. We have put a lot of attention in creating a better ambience in our restaurant and also around the entire Hotel. Our service is also always top of mind. We offer some great amenities that some of our competitors don't such as a very expansive pool, free parking, free wifi and an excellent value for breakfast. We also are much closer to the beach and downtown than the Hyatt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This HGI looks like a converted old hotel. It's at edge of town, next to Route 1. The hotel layout is kind of strange, with a long corridor that curves around and dead-ends. If your room is all the way at the end of the curve, it's a long walk. It also took me forever to find the ice machines, as the signs were misleading.

While we were there, the closest elevator was broken. Being on 3rd floor, that made things inconvenient. You can also tell hotel was built before ramps were common. So lots of steps...

Rooms themselves were remodeled, and seemed alright. But for the amount they charge, it's definitely not a good value...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palladia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We always look for ways to improve our operation, in fact since your stay we have installed over 20 new signs indicating where the location of many items are in the Hotel including the ice machine, fitness center and parking. Our location is often times viewed by many as convenient to Pebble Beach, Carmel and Big Sur and many of our guests have written that here on Trip Advisor. We hope you are able to travel to Monterey in the winter time as the weather is still beautiful but the stay can be a better value than a Holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Oftentimes travelers misinterpret the price value relationship in a hotel....they don't consider the supply demand side of things. For me this was a nice clean well located and spacious room hotel product.

The price was right for this area and you a get a clean well appointed room.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandtraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for appreciating the overall value in Monterey and specifically our Hotel. As you stated we are a newly renovated Hotel and we often view ourselves as a Full Service Hilton as we offer a full restaurant and Bar and have great Ballrooms and meeting facilities. We also have 204 rooms which puts us in the top 5 largest Hilton Garden Inns in the world. Thank you again and we can't wait to repeat your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Room was pretty small for 2 beds with a musty smell. Room had a fridge and a microwave. The bathroom floor was sticky. Check in was fast. The hotel lobby is nice. We didn't go in the pool because it was 72 degrees high when we traveled. There's also a hot tub and a fire pit. Staff were friendly. Good location. Walking distance to fisherman's wharf and less than a 5 minute drive to the aquarium and Cannery Row. On our last night around 4 in the morning, we were awaken by the fire alarm twice. My husband looked out in the hallway and there were other people standing outside to check what was happening. Luckily there was no fire, but we couldn't go back to bed after that. We've stayed at numerous Hilton hotels, and we expected more from this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AILEEN8208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Nice hotel. Very clean, go size room for a family 2 queen beds. Small pool but nice. Didn't try breakfast too pricey. You can not walk into town from here but 2 mins in the car and you are where all the restaurants and attractions are.

Room Tip: All rooms seem fine just wether you prefer a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were impressed when we arrived, the pool was great and no problems with check in, staff very helpful. Room a little small as there was 4 adults in a room, but clean and very comfortable. Location was just about walkable to the Wharf(20 mins) and Cannery Row(45 mins), it was $10 for a taxi back at night

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_P_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,399 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,617 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 56 in Monterey
278 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing