We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good location, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Nice rooms, great pool and very convenient to all of Monterey. Wonderful place to take a family. Very easy to get to Monterey including the aquarium and other sites. Easy access to highway north and south. Better value then lots of other places that are closer but don't have a lot of the same amenities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your review. Many of your comments are similar to what we hear from so many of our guests. They love our convenient location and access to everything in the Peninsula but still at a great value for what we offer. We always strive to offer more than the norm and we hope to always exceed our guests expectations. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,159 - 1,165 of 1,609 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel. The room was clean and the hotel is in a terrific location. Right across the street is a mall with good shopping. The staff who works at the restaurant at the Hilton Garden Inn gave up exceptional service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Born2Travel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your posting and we appreciate you staying at our Hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you experienced exceptional service in the restaurant as that is our goal in the entire Hotel everyday. We look forward to hosting your next visit to give you the same great service and hopefully achieve a 5 Star rating!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our second visit here. We had stayed a few years ago during the winter. We checked in (early) after a long, wet drive from San Francisco. We were upgraded to a mini suite--really just a HUGE room, but nice. Our room overlooked the pool. while this hotel is not on the beaten path, it is a short drive or a nice walk to the main attractions. The grounds are lovely. The heated pool is very nice and big. There are cabanas to get out of the sun and a fire pit for cool evenings. There is also a nice Jacuzzi and an adequate exercise room. For those who would rather walk outside, there is a lovely park very close by.As Hilton Gold members we enjoyed the cook to order breakfast every morning and the selections were great--especially the fruit. The staff is very friendly. The one thing I would say---and it did not affect us-- is that you have to go up about 8 steps to check in. Having spent several days earlier in the week with an elderly family member I was sensitive to this. However, we had a great stay and even extended our stay by a day.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool is lovely, but if you like to turn in early the happy sounds of children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love2travelVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

We greatly appreciate you sharing your comments about your excellent stay. Most all of our guests love to sit on the patios and enjoy the beautiful Monterey climate and views. We will always strive for providing this same great experience and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Peninsula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Monterey's Hilton Garden Inn offers a terrific location, underground free parking and all the amenities. Our top floor room overlooked the pool and firepit and included a very generous veranda with comfortable outdoor chair and chaise. We could also see the indoor gym, which appeared to be well equipped.

The room itself is very nicely equipped. Super comfortable bed with nice bedding. Only the pillows disappointed, but I usually bring my own because no hotel has what I like. The entertainment system offered a really large LCD TV on a swivel with full hi-def service. And the free Internet included both wired and wireless connection. The HVAC is totally silent. The room includes more than usual space and an easy chair with ottoman. There's even a clock radio with built-in connector for mobile device hookup.

With a nicely equipped bathroom, close to perfect. I thought the lighting was tops. You won't need to keep a bath light on at top for easy navigation. Motion-sensitive lighted wall plates guide the way. My sole bath suggestion is to offer a hand-wand style shower head and secure grab bars for steadier operation.

The location is walkable to downtown attractions for strong strollers. And it's just off the freeway for access to other locales like Pacific Grove, Carmel and Monterey's big shopping center and theater complex. But if you absolutely must be within 100 yards of tourist spots, go elsewhere.

Good job, Hilton. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor to get the large outdoor veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

We know we have delivered an excellent experience when a customer like yourself tells us they "will be back." We are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of our Hotel and we hope to see you very soon so we are able to deliver that expectation once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My travel agent got me a good deal with this hotel chain. All my coworkers recommend this hotel chain. Being new has its advantages. This location in Monterey is also new. The layout is a little spread out. The separate buildings are in fact connected by stairwells. Still, it's beautifully cared for. I would highly recommend it if you can get group discount rates. I got a price that is 10% higher than per diem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for posting your 5 star review of your stay. We always strive for 5 star service and experience at our Hotel. We want to be considered one of the best Hilton Garden Inn's and one of the best options to stay in Monterey. We appreciate your business and your comments and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Overpriced , poor location ,not as good as pictures...WHATGARDEN? Tiny rooms.Manager said "It is what it is,i can't offer you better"Gave me a free breakfast and offered refund,but i couldn't book elsewhere so late on.Would have gone back to Best Western Marina nearby but sold out.Breakfast was good though. Stay elsewhere cheaper and drive into Monterey.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

I apologize we were not able to meet your expectations. We do have very comfortable rooms as you read any many of the reviews listed here. Our patios on every rooms make this Hotel very unique and steps above most typical Hilton Garden Inn's. Our king rooms do offer a bit more space as there is only one bed possibly in the future booking two king rooms might accomodate the space you might be looking for. Also our pool courtyard is one of the largest and best pools in the Monterey Area so we hope you got to enjoy our outdoor space as it is extension of our experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My family of 4 were here for pleasure. Our room with 2 queen beds was lovely, but very tight. Loved our patio facing the beautiful pool/fire pit area. Felt like a mini resort. My husband really appreciated the fitness facility. The beds were very firm, not as comfy as the Hampton Inns that we frequent. Every thing very clean. The staff was very helpful. Overall, very good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank dizholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Monterey. I am pleased to read that your stay was excellent and you enjoyed our service and amenities. We hope to continue to provide the same excellent service you enjoyed for all of your future visits as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,576 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 56 in Monterey
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 56 in Monterey
1,357 reviews
1.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $167 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing