We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay if you have business in Monterey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #14 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Boydton, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great stay if you have business in Monterey”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel was clean, the staff efficient, breakfast was great, wifi worked well in the hotel room, beds were clean and comfortable and parking was very easy and convenient. Overall a very nice stay for a business trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for the terrific review on your business stay. Our Hotel always focuses on making business travel easy, comfortable and productive. Please communicate to your business colleagues of your excellent experience and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    572
    230
    88
    29
See reviews for
474
480
61
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Nice hotel, great area to stay, when you want to go to the ocean, see Big Sur, Carmel, and Pebble Beach. Will stay there again, the staff was so helpful. The room was too warm, but when it hits 88 degrees in Monterey, that 's hot!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your 4 star review! You are correct, with our year round moderate climate, we are not used to 88 degrees, so our in room air conditioners had to work overtime that day! I will let our staff know you complimented their helpfulness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
439 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Located pretty close to the Naval Post Graduate School and not too far from Downtown, everything is a short drive or long walk away. The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff knew the area and gave great directions and adivce on what see etc.
The resturants weren't that appealing, so we only ate breakfast in the hotel one morning and ate all of our other meals off site. The breakfast was good, but nothing special. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: There is some street noise on the north side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks for staying at Hilton Garden Inn and for your favorable comments and review. Sorry that your breakfast experience did not bring you back the second day of your visit. Since you will be staying with us again please give breakfast another try, we do get a high percentage of feedback complimenting the food and breakfast experience. And...we just finished a full hotel renovation including the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Garden State
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

PRO: Outstanding location right off Highway One and a five minute drive from downtown Monterey. Super friendly staff. Free parking. Nicely-but-not lavishly appointed rooms with comfortable beds, about what you expect in this category. Many rooms have balcony with chaise chairs. Outdoor pool looks inviting.

CONS: Rooms appear to be smaller than average for a Hilton Garden, twin-bed Queen room was VERY cramped but King was adequate; available parking, however, is hard to come by for hotel-full nights plus conferences without a lot of circling around; be aware of Hilton Corporate ball-break policy of charging a penalty if you check out early without 24 hour notice.

This location is a dated-looking former full-service service Hilton dating from the 1960s, not in itself a negative but be aware that this is a BIG place that does not follow the typical Hilton Garden layout. I had a very pleasant week stay there and will feel good about returning when I am in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We appreciated your review and reading your pro's and con's. The King rooms are more spacious than the rooms with 2 queen beds, and whenever staying with us if/when you feel a bit cramped, since all our rooms have balconies, open the sliding glass door and enjoy some fresh clean Monterey air on the balcony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was a great hotel when we got there we were upgraded because they were sold out which was awesome we got a bigger room. Pool was heated which was great since the weather was cold. The breakfast was delicious!!! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We appreciate the positive review for your recent stay at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey and hope you can return soon...and enjoy another delicious breakfast in our newly remodeled restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Rooms were spacious and clean and newly remodled...had a mini fridge and microwave which is a huge plus for me. Had on-site self laundry if needed and we did use it. Nice pool area/hot tub and the fitness room was nice as well...newer equipment and decent selection. Convenient location to see all of the local attractions and was close to the hwy. The room was quiet and comfortable/good size. The price here could not be beat...compared to other hotels in the area this place was a great bargain!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutiepebbles75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are delighted you fully enjoyed our newly renovated hotel! Thank you for staying with us and recommending HGI Monterey to others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver , CO
Level Contributor
121 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Rooms were spacious and clean. Nice pool area. Friendly staff. Good hotel bar. good Breakfast. Convenient location to see all of the local attractions. Located right off of the highway with no highway noise or view. Get better rates at online search sites.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We appreciate your complimentary review. There are direct flights from Denver to Monterey so please come back soon...and often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.0 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing