We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast , helpful and friendly staff. Good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great place for a quick get away .
Great breakfast, prepared by 2 great Chefs. Friendly staff .Nice Lobby with fire place. Rooms have nice TV,s . Rooms are clean but standard decor. The beds are very comfortable and bedding is nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write your positive review. This is the 2nd review in a row commenting about our delicious breakfast...which we are most proud of! Please return again soon for another quick getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,612)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,259 - 1,265 of 1,612 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed at this lovely Hilton on Aug. 28 and 29th. My husband and I traveling across country and are taking the opportunity to add up our honors points. This particular Hilton was beautiful and the location was fantastic. Very close to their Fisherman's wharf. I want to also bring note to the excellent service at check in. Pauline, a lovely woman who was at the front desk, was very gracious and pleasant. Our room was nootropic ready since we had arrived a bit early. We were starving and she recommended a restaurant and also gave us a card for a free appetizer. By the time we had lunch, our room was ready. This particular Hilton did not charge for parking, which was a plus. Some of them do and we feel that policy should change from corporate office.

Breakfast is not included and their buffet and made to order breakfast is very good.
This resort was lovely and comfortable and I definitely would stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greekgirl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your excellent review of HGI Monterey! Yes, Pauline is one of our superstars and we appreciate hearing your comments about her service and will share them with her. We hope you return to Monterey and HGI on your next west coast trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Only stayed one night on our way to San Francisco. Room was nothing special To date this had the most comfortable bed. We had to turn the mini fridge off as it was so noisy Had dinner in the restaurant, food was ok, service good.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Cleanliness
Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

We appreciate your "Good Hotel But Too Far From Town" review. Although we are less than a mile to downtown Monterey it can seem like a long way. But...we are only 5 minutes to Carmel! It was good to hear that you liked our comfortable beds and apologize for you having a noisy refrigerator. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with HGI Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I agree with most comments about the amenities of the hotel. Room, beds, amenities and location are good. But if you are trying to rest and have a good sleep, the rooms are noisy. You will be woken up by the neighbor upstair's steps and the traffic down the hall. The staff does not seem to care since any request to be located in other rooms will be disregarded.

Stayed: August 2012
Thank at2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to review HGI Monterey and apologize for you not getting a good nights sleep. We are thrilled that you like all the amenities of the hotel, but wish you could have slept better. Since you stayed in August, and August is our busiest month of the year, it is possible our staff did not have another room available to get you into quieter accommodations. Please stay again and let us find you the perfect quiet room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Very convenient location to Salinas for business, Carmel and Monterey for fun. Great staff. Edith always takes care of me. Very comfortable, quiet hotel. Business center is easy to use. High speed internet is always running with speed. Gym is great, they maintain the work out area and the equipment is first class. Pool is heated and great for laps. The hotel bar is well staffed and has everything for entertaining. Thanks for taking care of me. See you all in a few weeks.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the forest are very peaceful. Comfortable accomodations. The staff is great and will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thanks for your 5 star review of HGI Monterey, and for being a frequent guest here. I will share your compliments of Edith with her and appreciate your comments about her service skills. Thank you for also listing what you like most about our hotel and what keeps you coming back. We appreciate your loyalty to HGI Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Service was satisfying. Rooms were extremely clean. The bed was super comfortable, the hot tub was satisfactory, but the value should have been lower.

We would stay at this four star hotel again on our next visit!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maidiamonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for your Awesome and Lovely review. Good to hear that our hotel was ideal for your short getaway. I will pass your comments along to our service employees and the housekeeping department, they appreciate being appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here on our trip from San Francisco to LA. The hotel is located just outside the centre of Monterrey in a quite environment. Very friendly staff, complimentary parking in the basement close to the rooms. Beautiful rooms with terrace. Nice pool.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for staying at HGI Monterey and for your "Very good hotel" comments. I will let our staff know you appreciated their friendliness. The drive from SF to LA along the central coast is picturesque and I'm glad you were able to experience it using HGI as your gateway to the coastline.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 56 in Monterey
353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 56 in Monterey
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $167 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, bedfinder AG, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing