We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Having wonderful time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Suzhou
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Having wonderful time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stay here for 2times, and I have to say it's really a nice hotel and people are very friendly.
Location of hotel is very convenient , close to everywhere.

We're having wonderful time. And hopefully we'll come again next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia_CN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Thank you for staying with us a second time and for your excellent review. We do hope you can come back again next year, there is so much to do around the Monterey Peninsula. And…we look forward to providing you with another wonderful stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    551
    224
    84
    27
See reviews for
454
464
59
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

It's clean and generic and not within walking distance to the tourist places but away from the fray. It's a good one for business or if you want to stay in a Hilton in Monterey.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thanks for writing a review. We are happy to learn you slept well and liked being a clean Hilton Hotel in Monterey. We do receive a lot of positive comments from guests saying they prefer being away from the "fray" and like our quiet, peaceful, central location. We hope you drive over the hill from Saratoga and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

This was a great place 40 years ago as THE Hilton Hotel. It is still OK but the front desk staff I encountered tried hard to be unhelpful!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyrnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Coming from Las Vegas I'm confident you know good service from the excellent hotels in your home city. I apologize that we have not met your expectations at HGI Monterey. In 2006 we had a transformational renovation that reinstated the beauty of the property from when it was first built. We are working hard to have service levels match the beauty of the property and hope you choose to return again so we can impress you with our service on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

I usually write reviews only if hotel was horrible, but this time I wanted to write a review because I was very impressed with the hotel staff. I received excellent customer service from Edith B. when we checked in. When I asked her about the events going on around Monterey, she went beyond my expectations and printed out flyers and delivered them to my room. Room was great..balcony, microwave, fridge, and coffeemaker. Fresh coffee in the morning and cookies in the afternoon in the hotel lobby. Hotel was close to freeway and just a few minutes from fisherman's wharf, cannery row, fairgrounds. Only issue was water pressure was low in shower. But, overall great stay. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tresangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thanks for choosing to write such a positive review. We are flattered you had such an excellent experience and Edith was thrilled you mentioned her by name, she smiled non stop for days!
In our efforts to be "green" we do have low flow shower heads so water pressure is probably lower than in other showers you have used. We look forward to exceeding your expectations again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England.
Level Contributor
191 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed for a night in September. The welcome at the front desk was great and all the staff we met during our stay were very service-focused and friendly. We liked the location - just off the 101 and close by all the attractions at Monterey and Carmel.

The hotel is in good condition - the room was bright and very clean and the bed comfortable. There is a small pool and a well equipped guest laundry. Breakfast choice was good and reasonably priced.

The soundproofing between the rooms isn't the most effective and we also suffered some corridor noise which slightly disturbed our sleep. That aside this was a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tint7003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
We are delighted you experienced our terrific service and appreciate your complimentary review! We have passed along your comments to our stellar front desk staff. Sorry to hear that your guest room was a bit noisier than you like but glad to hear it only slightly disturbed your sleep. Hope you cross the big pond again soon and return to the states from London!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed here one night while visiting Fisherman's Wharf area and the ocean front. Good location, convenient to main highways.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IronLenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
We are so glad that your visit from North Carolina included a one night stay in Monterey at HGI and that you had you had such a good experience! Please stay with us again should your travels bring you back to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Ignore any bad reviews for this place. Some people are never happy. This was a great location, nice room, clean and included everything you need. The staff were courteous and helpful.
The price was reasonable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you for your very complimentary comments! We are thrilled we accomplished our objective of providing you with an excellent stay! We look forward to your return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.0 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#14 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing