We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
Ranked #48 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I arrived here at about 9:30pm with no reservation and was happy there was a room available. Everything was great the room was clean and comfortable. Only complaint the parking lot is a bit small for someone with a big truck, I understand that's not the hotels fault but a bit of a pain.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iliketotravel2ohya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnmonterey, Manager at Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank for staying at the Monterey Days Inn & secondly
for taking the time out of your schedule to complete the Survey on Trip
Advisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel & we do appreciate your business.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 427 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had no reservation, it was Friday, so we were glad to find a room there. This motel was quite sold out on that evening.
Our room was rather big, it even had a fireplace. ( we didn't use it)
Nothing to complain about here. We slept well .

If you are looking for something to eat there, on the other side of the road is an outlet center, there are also some restaurants and a nice whole food marked with lots of food stands inside.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apiaWiesbaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnmonterey, Manager at Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank for staying at the Monterey Days Inn & secondly
for taking the time out of your schedule to complete the Survey on Trip
Advisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel & we do appreciate your business.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We visit the Monterey area 1-2 times per year. It is a favorite place! This visit, we were delighted to find the Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf. Our experience was very different than some of the other reviews. Perhaps the rooms had been recently updated as the beds are now covered with lovely, quilted spreads in yellow tones? Our room was very clean and featured a fireplace, microwave and small refrigerator as well as the usual amenities. The staff was very pleasant, helpful and accommodating. The noise from neighbors wasn't too bad the two nights we were there, but the walls are a bit thin. The bed was comfortable, though a bit on the hard side from what we are used to. Definitely NO lumps or bugs which are the main "issues" we all want to know about ahead of time.

We travel within California several times every year, and tend to stay at this price point hotel. With that in mind, my only reservations about this particular hotel would be for people who want a hotel with indoor corridors, a fancy breakfast (this one is a very basic Costco cereal and toast with coffee affair), or who want to be right next to the Aquarium or Monterey Bay. This hotel is about a mile outside downtown Monterey, across from a large shopping center. It has easy access to Hwy 68 from Salinas,and you can easily drive to the tourist sites.

Room Tip: The stairs to the upper level are a bit steep, but worth the additional quiet and little bit of view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msorangeblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnmonterey, Manager at Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Days Inn Monterey. We really appreciate the positive feedback as ownership and staff have worked very hard in improving our guest experience with many property improvements and customer service. You were correct and insightful and pointing out the new bedding in every guestroom and we have replaced all beds with Simmons Beautyrest Pillow Top Mattresses. Thank you for posting your personal pictures showing these improvements. We have also opened a new breakfast room with additional seating for guest comfort. As some of our repeat customers know, we served our breakfast in our lobby with no breakfast seating. Now we have a fresh new breakfast room with seating and a larger breakfast bar to serve more guests. We will continue to make additional improvements to keep building on improved guest satisfaction. We really appreciate you noticing our efforts and hope you return on your next trip to Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Carmen A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
daysinnmonterey, Manager at Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Rosanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
daysinnmonterey, Manager at Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Please stay away from this place. You will be very disappointed. This should be called a motel not hotel. The building is very old and is poorly maintained. The rooms are neglected. Do not bring children to this filthy place. We stayed in room 124 on the first floor and cars are parked 4 feet away from your head. This place is noisy and we were not able to sleep at all, even though we were very tired. You hear every door open and close, people talking outside your door, cars and diesel trucks running their engines and pointing their headlights 3 feet away from your window, others around you flushing their toilets or running water in the vanities or tubs, cars driving on Munras Avenue all night long, etc. We are a non-smoking family but had to endure people smoking in front of our door all the time and because of poor insulation smoke gets inside. The Wi-Fi is very unreliable and kept disconnecting very often. If you are used to HD TV then the very old TV's in the rooms are unwatchable. The carpets are old, soiled and stink. The water in the tubs drains very slowly and the spout keeps dripping all night. The shower curtains are filthy. The room heather is very loud. Because the furniture is very old the drawers do not open and close normally. Not even a single chair to sit in the lobby or eat the poor boy continental breakfast.
Pros. It is close to a shopping mall and a movie theater, if you like that kind of thing.
It is within a few miles of most local attractions and Carmel.
Staff is nice but not much they can do about this rundown place.

Room Tip: Keep Driving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnmonterey, Manager at Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank you for staying at days Inn Monterey.

I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel was a bad choice, the only thing I liked was the location. I booked 2 rooms, one room with 2 beds for our family of 4 and the other one bed for my dad. Our room was dirty my 2 yr old found candy on the floor and wrapers, then there was a stench in the corner it smelt like urine I wasn't sure though until the second day we went out left the cooler off when we walked in the room the smell just slapped you in the face soooooo gross. The stairs to get to your room are not built right the steps are to steep and small my 9 yr old and myself almost fell coming down and last the parking is horrible its so compact the when its full in the morning it takes forever to get out of your spot.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnmonterey, Manager at Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your concerns will be brought to the staffs attention to prevent any future occurrences. We hope to see you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stargazer Inn and Suites
Stargazer Inn and Suites
#47 of 56 in Monterey
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#54 of 56 in Monterey
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#49 of 56 in Monterey
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium

Address: 1288 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: $60 - $989 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman`s Wharf/Aquarium Hotel Monterey
Monterey Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing