We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Really enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel in Monterey.We decided at the last minuteto book room in Monterey on our way to disneyland. The girl at the front desk was very helpful in giving information on Monterey. Our room was very clean and loved the flowers everywhere. Well kept. Only disappointment was that it was cold, I guess we were expecting warmer climate. unlike comments below, I guess we lucked out and got the larger room. We paid less then $100 for 4 of us, nice place. We enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 49022Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortguestservices, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed our rooms and over 40 varieties of flowers. Our gardener takes great pride in his work. Sorry about the cooler weather during your stay. This week has been a little cooler then normal. The weather man promises warmer temperatures by the end of this week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    337
    174
    51
    30
See reviews for
316
318
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fallon, Nevada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

To whom is reading this review,I must Say,This Comfort Inn Was a very OUTSTANDING place i have had the pleasure to stay at!! I travel VERY much every year,And i stay at ALOT of different lodging during my travels here in the U.S. and Europe, And by far this has to be one of my FAVORITES! I HIGHLY recommend this Comfort Inn to anyone who wishs to have a GREAT place to stay with VERY competetive price in Monterey Calif. The Staff(one person in mind) helped me VERY nicely get the room i REALLY needed!(I'm a Disabled Veteran).Once again,THANK YOU at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea,I will be seeing you again!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Underway1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortguestservices, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, July 25, 2010
We appreciate your kind words. Our guests are our Favorite too! At our hotel we strive to meet our guests expectation and are glad we were able to meet yours. See you soon on your return trip to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2010

I saw this motel when we first pulled in and thought it was going to be great. Here is what we found- Rooms were cramped to say the least, bathrooms were old and the shower was smaller than a British phone booth. Worse yet, there is no exhaust fan in it!! Don't look out the bathroom window, the junk behind the motel was a shock.

The worst was the hard mattress, but I guess that is a personal preference. Cable TV was okay with no info at all. I guess the higher price was due to being in Monterey, because I thought it was too much, even with my AAA discount. We stayed in a much better motel the night before and for the same cost. I will say this, the room was quiet.

Skip the continental breakfast if you are a diabetic, it was all sugary pastries, cereals, and waffles. Only boiled eggs! Who wants that before you go back on the road?

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pops91710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortguestservices, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Our standard rooms do have showers only however we do have larger rooms one and two bedded rooms plus our Family rooms (that can sleep up to 6) and large Jacuzzi room that have larger bathrooms that include tubs. Regarding TV Cable information, we do have the info in our Guest room directory plus HBO information.Currently we locate our directories on the activity tables. Perhaps we should locate it by the bedside table for easy access. Even though our Fresh Belgian Waffles are guest favorite, besides the boiled eggs, we do serve English muffins, fresh fruit, oatmeal and non sugar cereals. Best of all, yes our rates are higher during the Summer season, however if you go to our website, stayatmonterey.com, we do have several promotional offers including our advance rate offer. Again we appreciate your input and always strive to make a guest feel comfortable at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

I needed a room at the last minute and the location was convenient. The young man at the desk was really very nice and had left only a king bed. The price was right, the room was ok, television had tons of channels, comfortable mattress and clean bathroom with tub and shower. In a pinch, I'd consider it again.
Problems? Noise! Tons of slamming doors and car doors. Families with kids who were noisy both at night and in the morning. I slept late and missed breakfast, but the morning desk clerk even had a toothbrush and toothpaste (no comb) because I'd forgotten mine. Vending machines were available for junk food snacks for those who wanted that. The place is OK.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaufmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortguestservices, Guest Services at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, April 9, 2010
Thank you for your feedback.We are proud of the staff service, clean, comfortable rooms and the extra amenities that we offer free of charge. We are centrally located in Monterey and attract many leisure travelers including families with children and can understand your frustrations with children banging doors. As we do have 2 separate buildings, we do our best to separate our "family" travelers from our non family travelers, Clearly with summer drawing close we will work harder at this. I am sorry you missed our Comfort Sunshine breakfast. Next time we may not be able to pack our Belgian waffles to go (!), but can certainly pack you some fruit/muffins/pastries/coffee to go. Good feedback on the vending machine, will contact vendor and see if we can add better healthier choices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochheim am Main, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Absolutely excellent for the price. Stayed here many times during 08/09 and was never disappointed. The rooms are always clrean and their continental breakfast is great. Definitely a best bang for your buck kind of place. The staff was always friendly and they offer a military discount. It's right across the street from the mall which has all kinds of restuarants and a movie theater. If you're up for a long walk you could walk to the beach, but I'd recommend grabbing a cab. Also a short drive from the carmel beach.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMGSS, Guest Service Supervisor at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, March 22, 2010
Thank you for your great comment we value our repeat guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We didn't have reservations. We didn't do our hotel-homework. We were in town in a spur-of-the-moment. This was the first hotel we saw. We wanted a room without anyone above us. We were given room #117. Peaceful sleep, right? Here's the twist: The stairs are located in front of our window and the landing is right below our front door. Everything about this hotel was SMALL, compared to the average hotels. Room was small, the two beds were double-sized (not the usual queen-sized), even the TV was small, the room rate with AAA was good, no bath- only shower stall, the space to get to closet was non-existent, carpets were worn and torn. I'll stop here. THe good things were: waffles for breakfast- don't be shy, make 2 sets of waffles while you're standing there, nevermind the LONG line. Waffles were good. THat was the best part. So, don't do what we did and keep looking. It's ok for a one-night and if you are desperate.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azpam16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMGSS, Guest Service Supervisor at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, March 22, 2010
Thank you for your comments. We will use your comment to better our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Comfort Inn now owns two hotels side by side on Muntras. We checked into the lobby of one of the hotels but our room was actually at the hotel next door (to the south). So I can imagine that reviews of this hotel will vary depending on which complex you visit. Both are labeled Confort Inn. Anyway, we were very pleased with our room. It was a good sized room and the bathroom was surprisingly large too. The bathroom was recently redone. New tub, shower walls, vanity, etc. Very clean and modern. The refrigerator was bigger than those you find in most hotels. The staff was friendly and it seemed like there was an effort to please. You get a call shortly after checking in to make sure you are happy with the room. A nice touch. My only complaints were minor: 1. The carpet was pretty torn up and needs to be replaced. 2. The hotel charges a fee to use the in-room safe even if you don't want to use it. You can get it refunded but they force you to visit the office before you check out and then they will remove the charge. A bit annoying... they are counting on customers being too busy or forgetful to come in and get their refund.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMGSS, GSS at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, November 25, 2009
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We value your response and thank you for staying with the Comfort Inn Monterey By The Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#31 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.5 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#36 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Property: Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Address: 1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940-6138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Family Hotel in Monterey
#17 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn is ideally located in Historic Monterey, within close proximity (2-15 miles) to major attractions in Monterey plus beaches,golf and many more activities for families,couples or individual travellers. 1 exit away from Pebble Beach/Carmel. Walk to restaurants/shopping/theaters. Gateway to Big Sur. Book your next room, getaway package deals, or call direct for group rates and enjoy all that Monterey has to offer. Take advantage of our off season rates and Aquarium package, whale watching package and Romance package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey By The Sea Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing