We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Little Stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed only one night in Monterey. This motel is very well maintained. Many flowers all around, very clean room, comfy bed, lots of pillows and no noise. We had the chance to have a very large bathroom with a ceramic shower ! Free parking just in front of our room. Free wifi in the room.
This is a very good value hotel and only a few minutes drive from the Monterey Aquarium.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Caroline B,

Thank you for your kind words and compliments of our property! We do our very best to keep our hotel in beautiful condition for our wonderful guests. First Impressions are very important, and we want to make a great one on you! I have shared your kind compliment to our housekeeping staff. They work hard to make sure the rooms are clean for each guest. I am so pleased you enjoyed the comfy bed and all the pillows! There are so many wonderful places to visit, I am delighted you were able to visit the Monterey Aquarium.

Please come back and visit us again!

Warm Regards,
Janea E, Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (918)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

455 - 461 of 918 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

We were only staying 1 nite, but still received a very warm welcome at the front desk. A very nice room for the money, clean and spacious. Continental breakfast had hot food and all was delicious. Munras Ave location is convenient to downtown Monterey.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Mary,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay! We are delighted you enjoyed your room and our complimentary breakfast during your one night visit. Whether you are staying for a month or a day, we want each and every guest to know how delighted we are that they chose to stay with us. Thank you! We hope you had the opportunity during your short visit to see beautiful Monterey!

Best Wishes,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager’888-930-7666

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

It was a small but very clean room. There was a yummy, warm breakfast in the morning. We were able to take our Lacey girl doggie, which is important to us when traveling. It was a good value for a basic room you just want to sleep in, not spend a lot of time in.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank seashoregal05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear seashoregal05.

I’m delighted to hear you found our hotel to be comfy and very clean. We take the cleanliness of our hotel very seriously, and know our guests do too! We are happy to hear Lacey also enjoyed her visit. Our four legged guests are just as important as our two legged guests! We hope you and Lacey will return soon!

Warm Regards,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

was a very quaint hotel, clean, and had an old motor lodge type setting and feeling but was modernized....we stayed in a room with a king bed and a separate room had a twin bed with the largest bathroom I have ever seen in a hotel....was a nice place to stop for overnight accommodations or more if you are wanting to stay and visit all the shops and restaurants which are all within 5 minutes from the hotel

Room Tip: chose the room with separate bedroom if traveling with family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank missingsomeone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear missingsomeone2,

I’m happy to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay for fellow travelers. It is the voice of our guests that we value the most. I hope you were able to take advantage of our close proximity of all that Monterey has to offer. We hope to be able to host you again in the future! Best of luck to you and your family.

Sincerely,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel was no where what i expected for the money-the only thing good was its location--the shower drain would stick causing me to manually hold it up from time to time to allow the water to drain-the desk lamp had one burned out bulb and one that was about to fall off-the room was musty-the pool was being cleaned the entire time and was never open to use for all 5 days i was there-the free breakfast was not worth it at all-i was disappointed with this place-the girl working the front desk was nice-i will not be staying here anytime soon,,,,,,one more thing-was never able to get on the computer from the lobby.

Room Tip: go some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JohnGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear JohnGenova,

Please accept my apologies for failing to meet your expectations. I’m sorry for the issues you encountered while our guest. I have shared your comments with our maintenance team and they have corrected any issues with your room. In regards to the pool, we actually have two pools. The larger of the two is always in operation, heated, and open to guests from 7am to 10pm. The smaller pool is beautifully maintained, although not used. Please always feel free to contact the front desk. We are happy to assist you any way possible. That’s what we are here for! I’m happy to hear you had a good experience with our front desk staff, and that our location was a good fit for you. We hope you will decide to give us another chance next time you are in Monterey!

Thank you,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Booked as a one night stop over on our way from SF to LA. Quick pleasant knowledgeable receptionist aided progress to our accommodation and choice of sightseeing. Room allocated was massive clean, tidy and well presented, comfortable bed with parking directly outside. Price included the breakfast which was not expected good selection, hot cold with a most attentive member of staff (very nice lady). Good location easy to find, good accommodation at a very reasonable price. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed clean and tidy with parking outside. We opted for first floor for additional secur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank skeg289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

• Dear skeg289

We are delighted you chose our property as your stopover on your way to Los Angeles! Thank you for your kind words in regards to our knowledgeable staff, clean rooms, comfortable beds, and tasty breakfast. We appreciate your compliments and hope you enjoyed your stopover in Monterey! We hope to see you on your way home to San Francisco!

Drive Safe,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We wait 20 min to check in the front desk guy Lyle very rude to all the people there we were sharing our experiences and taking while we wait , I call 2 days before to ask for a remodel room with a new bed and new bed they say it was gonna be ok. To my surprise they gave me the worst one with wet carpet smelling like urine with wet dirty rug , the bathroom was dirty they forgot to flushed I complain and to my worst nightmare the mattress was old and you can feel the springs . No body helped me I had to sucked up , I didn't choose this crappy place I don't recommend it

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillyjoe25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Lillyjoe25,

I would like to sincerely apologize for your discomfort during your stay. At the Comfort Inn – Monterey by the Sea we take our guest satisfaction very seriously. I wish you had asked to speak with me while you were still in house. I would have been happy to do anything in my power to make your stay better. We want each and every guest to have the most enjoyable stay possible and leave with a desire to return. We hope you will give us another chance when you are in Monterey. Thank you for your feedback and review.

Kind Regards,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#40 of 56 in Monterey
148 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,115 reviews
2.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.5 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#30 of 56 in Monterey
569 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Address: 1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940-6138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
#11 Family Hotel in Monterey
#17 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $68 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn is ideally located in Historic Monterey, within close proximity (2-15 miles) to major attractions in Monterey plus beaches,golf and many more activities for families,couples or individual travellers. 1 exit away from Pebble Beach/Carmel. Walk to restaurants/shopping/theaters. Gateway to Big Sur. Book your next room, getaway package deals, or call direct for group rates and enjoy all that Monterey has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey By The Sea Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing