We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Fair Grove, MO
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for the price”
Reviewed October 5, 2008

This place is reminicient of the old Route 66 motor motels, except with lots and lots of flowers - cute place outside! The room was fine; not great, but okay. It was musty smelling when we first walked in, but we left the AC on while we went out for dinner and when we came back it was much better. Bathroom definitely needed updating, but we decided to call it "quaint" - a little iffy for me but hubby didn't mind it. Had all the standard perks of Choice Hotels, which is why we stayed there. Location & price were great; staff courteous, room clean and bed okay. We were only there one night, so it was fine for us. Would I stay there again? Hmmm....for the price we paid, maybe.

  • Liked — outside flowers; price; Choice Hotel standard perks
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nettermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    343
    177
    51
    31
See reviews for
322
328
36
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2008

This hotel is the best you can get for the money. While my family and I were traveling through the Big Sur and Monterey area we stayed here 2 out of 3 nights. The first and third night we spent at the Comfort Inn by the sea and the only reason we didn't spend the second night here was because they were booked. We found the front office staff to be friendly and helpful. While visiting we were having some troubles with our windshield wipers and were unable to find auto zone on our GPS system. We asked the front office staff for advice and were given accurate directions on how to find one. Our room was clean and comfortable. The only complaints I could have was that this hotel is a little older and it shows in some rooms. Also was not terribly impressed with the continental breakfast. However, even with these two downfalls we were still extremely pleased with our stay here and will stay here again the next time we visit. Overall this is a great place for the price!

  • Liked — The location!
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank misty_finkenbinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, August 14, 2008
We appreciate your comments and input. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look look forward to serving you and your family in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, TX
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2008

I LOVED this hotel! It really helps that it is in one of the most beautiful places in the world(Monterey)but, for the money I spent this hotel was GREAT! The rooms were VERY nice, well equipped and they even smelled great! This was a great experience!

  • Liked — The room was great!
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bennettrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2008

My daughter and I stayed at this Motel and was so disappointed it almost spoiled the whole trip. After a wonderful day we dreaded having to go back to our room. If it hadn't been prepaid by Expedia.com, we certainly would have left and gone elsewhere.
The room was really filthy the day we arrived. The walls were covered with smashed spiders, which we found crawling everywhere.
Upon arriving we wanted to phone home because our cell phone would not work in that area,so we had to use the room phone . It turned out, it was broken, along with the alarm clock, and coffee pot.
The room doesn't have a bathtub so one needs to use an old filthy shower stall. Upon inspection it was filled with hairs, and the water stunk like sewer water.
There were holes in the bottom of the walls which I had to block up with toilet paper for fear that spiders or earwigs would come crawling out of.
As for sleeping, if you were brave enough to shut the light out,the pillows and sheets were very loud and crinkly and it was extremely noisy all night long.
We paid over $100.00 a night for this dump! The only good thing I can say was that the young lady at the desk was very nice and the breakfast was ok if you didn't mind cooking everything yourself.

  • Liked — The desk clerk
  • Disliked — Fithy, smelly, and need of repair
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank manybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2008

I read some bad reviews but decided to give it a try anyway. We found the place cost efficiant, the staff friendly, and the room clean. There was no bad odor in the room, in fact it smelled nice. Everything was clean, and the lady at the front desk was very helpful. She reccommended a place to eat and handed us a coupon, we enjoyed the free appitizer at the resturant and the reccomendation was great. The breakfast included with the room was a money saver. They had hard boiled eggs, cereal, danishes, muffins, and even a make your own waffle station. It was of course very basic in taste, but it is free and doesn't taste bad. (but do skip the o.j. it was very watered down) The only problem was the shower/ bath. There is a jet tub but the jets didn't work and the shower pressure was off. I would stay again.

  • Liked — clean rooms and friendly staff
  • Disliked — non-operating jet tub
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chickkymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortguestservices, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, June 21, 2008
Thank you for posting your comments. We have also checked our juice machine and have adjusted the settings. Thanks for feedback. Hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2008

Very pleasant experience. Convenient location right across from a major shopping center and only a few minutes from the freeway offramp. Very inviting public area with all the flower plantings. Gives that "country cottage" appearance.

  • Liked — Convenient Location
  • Disliked — Access from only one direction of street. Need to make a u-turn a block down.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 444bullett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortguestservices, Guest Service Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, June 21, 2008
Thank you for appreciating our landscaping. Our gardner takes great pride in the over 50 different varieties of flowering plants and shrubs that he cultivates in our planters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2008

This was a cozy place surrounded by beautiful flowerboxes. The room was no-frills---a king-sized bed in a room just big enough to walk around the bed with space for a chair and small bedside table. The small bathroom had a walk-in shower. Would not recommend for obese visitors. The non-smoking room did not smell of smoke. We had a very comfortable, quiet night. Continental breakfast had the usual fare, but in addition had waffle making and hard-boiled eggs for protein. A good value for a place to rest our heads.

  • Liked — Value for a quiet place to rest out heads
  • Disliked — Tight quarters
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nursemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,036 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Property: Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Address: 1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940-6138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Family Hotel in Monterey
#17 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn is ideally located in Historic Monterey, within close proximity (2-15 miles) to major attractions in Monterey plus beaches,golf and many more activities for families,couples or individual travellers. 1 exit away from Pebble Beach/Carmel. Walk to restaurants/shopping/theaters. Gateway to Big Sur. Book your next room, getaway package deals, or call direct for group rates and enjoy all that Monterey has to offer. Take advantage of our off season rates and Aquarium package, whale watching package and Romance package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey By The Sea Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing