We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Weekend stay”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed for three nights over a weekend and Monterey being popular had limited accommodation options available. The room was cramped and other hotels, albeit is less popular towns offer far better value. Also noisy with local biker and tour busses. Breakfast was a shambles and is completely inadequate for more than 10 guests at a time.
The Comfort Inn does have a large shopping centre over the road which is handy. It's also a bit too far for an easy walk down to the Monterey town and wharf.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montereybythebay, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Antelope8:

Thank you for taking the time post a reveiw.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    343
    176
    51
    30
See reviews for
321
325
36
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We arrived on Saturday night 5 Adults, Myself, Wife, Son and his girlfriend and my sons friend
We had travelled up through Big Sur hoping to find rooms there but the lodges that had accommodation want between $1500/1800per night, so we carried on to Monterey where there was lots of motels. It was now 9.30pm so we stopped at the first one last 2 rooms which we bargained for and got a very good price for B & B, very friendly receptionist. Paid $300 for the two rooms, but I am sure we could have bargined more but it was late. I am told book on line and its cheaper? The our room was excellent with a Jacuzzi bath, unfortunately didn't have time to use it. Our sons room which the 3 shared had 3 king size beds (we could have all shared that one) but we wanted our own space. Again great room. It was now 10pm and we wanted food having travelled from Santa Barbara we found a Chinese reaturant across the road open till 11pm so we were all fed and watered, well beered actually. Breakfast was basic but plenty of it, the usual cereals, fruit, toast etc. would recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montereybythebay, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Joeegg:

Thank you for your feedback. We know you had many choices for lodging accomodation in Monterey and appreciate you choosing us. I am glad you enjoyed our Family Room and Jacuzzi room and our amenities. Our location is also ideal as you mentioned. Close to many restaurants and attractions.

Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to serve you and your family when you visit Monterey again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay
2 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

It was two women escaping for a shopping weekend. From the moment we checked in ....so polite and efficient, friendly and helpful, to finding our room CLEAN, was a wonderful experience. In a short time, they called to see if all was good in the room, breakfast was nourishing, not just a few empty calorie foods but eggs, yogurt, real food and coffee, hot water all day long.

A bit of noise with motorcycles coming and going to the races week end.It is ahop , skip and jump to everything.

I quickly noticed employee Jane who is a gem in this company. I pay attention to all of this as I have a company myself.

Reasonably priced and I will be back!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and can navigate stairs, there are room " down below" that face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irenem822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montereybythebay, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Irene:

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. What a wonderful reason to visit Monterey. Shopping! Certainly plenty of it for all tastes and budgets.

I very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with my team. Your survey serve as encouragement to all of of us as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful with all our needs. Our room was very clean and the bed was nice and comfortable. We enjoyed the selections and the hot complementary breakfast. We are defintely coming back to stay at your resort.

Eric and Karen
Vancouver, Canada

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montereybythebay, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Eric:

We too look forward to having you come back and visit us! Thank you for taking the time to post a review and am glad you enjoyed our hotel and especially our friendly and helpful staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked this motel style accomodation as a stopover whilst touring down Big Sur before leaving for Yosemite. It was an inexpensive choice which had basic breakfast choices included.

We were checked in quickly, our rooms were basic and a little tired, to be honest we expected this, and I have rated the accomodation as very good against alternatives in the same price bracket, not against full service hotels, obviously.

It is located a few miles from Cannery Row and the wharfs, no problem with a vehicle on hand. All the motels appear to be situated on this road. I have no problem in recommending this as a one-night stopover.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boronet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montereybythebay, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Boronet:

We are glad that you were able to enjoy a stopover to Monterey on your way to Yosemite. We do appreciate you taking the time to post a review and thank you for your business and recommendations. Have a great rest of the holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. Our room was clean and the bathroom was HUGE. There were about 15 motels down the road from us; we were glad we picked this one! We have a large truck and sometimes have trouble parking, but this motel had TWO parking lots and we were able to accommodate the truck with no problem. The staff was friendly. The weather was perfect. There was a fridge in the room. Breakfast was plentiful, good coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montereybythebay, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Jean B:

So glad that you had a great stay and enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. As you mentioned we are on motel row thus guests have many choices and am glad that you chose us. We strive to provide clean and comfortable rooms, friendly service and much more all at a good value!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2013

From the moment we checked in, we were met with great customer service and such a willingness to help from the staff behind the front desk, especially Pete. He was professional and understanding, given that we had broken down earlier in the day and were flustered and tired. His uplifting, encouraging attitude was comforting after the terrible experience we had just been through. Also, within minutes of checking in, a courtesy call from the front desk was made to ensure all of our needs were met. The hotel itself was quaint, clean, and at a great location (close to Cannery Row and the wharf). I would definitely recommend this hotel - you will be well taken care of!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montereybythebay, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I am so glad that we were able to "take care" of you when you were tired and frustrated and that you had a restful stay with us. Pete will be happy to hear about your compliments to him. Hope you are able to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,294 reviews
2.8 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
1,003 reviews
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#31 of 55 in Monterey
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Property: Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Address: 1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940-6138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Family Hotel in Monterey
#17 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn is ideally located in Historic Monterey, within close proximity (2-15 miles) to major attractions in Monterey plus beaches,golf and many more activities for families,couples or individual travellers. 1 exit away from Pebble Beach/Carmel. Walk to restaurants/shopping/theaters. Gateway to Big Sur. Book your next room, getaway package deals, or call direct for group rates and enjoy all that Monterey has to offer. Take advantage of our off season rates and Aquarium package, whale watching package and Romance package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey By The Sea Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing