We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Nearby Hotels
Villa Franca Inn(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$240
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Castell Motel(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$79
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$272
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$341
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Monterey Bay Lodge(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$150
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$182
$156
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$199
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (947)
Filter reviews
947 results
Traveler rating
287
370
196
58
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
370
196
58
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanvietnamese restaurantmake your own wafflesyogurtexercise roomwhole foodsfree breakfasthard boiled eggsrefrigerator and microwavewould stay againmile driveroad tripqueen bedsan franciscobig surcannery rowfisherman's wharf
Filter
Updating list...
583 - 588 of 947 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Although the room was quite small, it was clean, new-looking and had all of the amenities: Microwave, refrigerator, flat screen TV, etc. One of the best breakfasts I've found with sausage and eggs in addition to the usual waffles, etc. Real dishes and plates, no plastic. This is in a great location near everything in Monterey.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgalper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

I also do think our breakfast is the best around and that you were able to enjoy it! We try to cut back on wastage thus the real dishes and plates, no plastic.

Wait till you come back and see us. We are now going Solar! We try to do what we can to help save our resources!

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for two nights during a trip up Hwy One. The Motel was very clean and well cared for. Munras Ave is a main road filled with chain Motels and this one looked the best from the road with lots of potted plants and attractive flowers. The Hotel room was a good size, comfortable bed and a very large bathroom by Motel standards. Breakfast was included and was a plentiful selection of cereal, pastries and eggs and sausage. The only down points are that the heated pool was not heated ( far too cold to swim without this) and unless you drive you are way too far from any restaurants down on the quay or at Cannery Row. Across the road there is a retail park with a number of chain restaurants and 'Chopstix' next door is very good value.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room at the back away from the car park
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fluffcatsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Fluffcatsmum:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We are glad that your experience in our clean and comfortable room was a good one.

We do have one of the best complimentary hot breakfasts around and were glad it helped with a great start in the morning!

Fisherman’s wharf is 2 miles away and Cannery Row is 3 miles away so you are right not walk able but easy drive. But can't beat the prices at Chopstix next door. My favorite the Papaya salad with Shrimp!

We appreciate your business and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Motel was convenient to everywhere we planned to visit. Our first impression was that the room was a small for 2 queen beds. The very large recently updated bathroom made up for it. The breakfast had good selections with real dishes and flatware, no paper and plastic. We stayed 2 nights and had no problems with noise or with other guests.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BamaGal57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Bamagal57:

We love hearing from our guests and we appreciate your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and appreciated our efforts to reduce wastage created by paper and plastic. I will share your landscaping comments with our devoted gardener. You should see the new blooms now!

We look forward to seeing you on your return trip to Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night and we were gone. The walls are very thin and we could hear our neighbors talking all night. The rooms were clean ad the bed was ok. But do you really want the coffee maker in the bathroom? Their website said they have a heated pool but at check in we were told the pool isn't heated which ruined the day for my kids. Overall I would say it's a basic motel with no frills or extras. I don't think we will be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 805luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Ivonnesb:

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the hotel - both good and bad.

This review is disappointing however I do look at this as an opportunity for us to improve upon our services. We always try to provide the best service to our guests - such as keeping a clean hotel and providing complimentary services such as our breakfast, internet, fitness room etc. – I do apologies for the inconvenience of the pool not being heated. I have taken actions to solve this.

I hope that you reconsider and give us a second chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a rather basic hotel. The rooms were smelly and noisy. Other guests left their door open with the TV loudly on and that was really disturbing.
We had a room on the first floor which was less noisy than those below.
Beds were OK.
Breakfast was rather hectic and constantly something was missing (no coffee, no bread…).
Apparently , only one lady was responsible for the service.
The person on the reception was constantly away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you Rose for your feedback. We always appreciate feedback but are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations especially at breakfast.

We do serve a complimentary self serve breakfast and apologies for not replenishing the food in a timely matter.

I have discussed this matter with our Breakfast attendants and have put some time saving techniques in place that will help us speed up our service.

We hope that you allow us to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews