We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, decent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good value, decent location”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

First off, the hotel isn't exactly by the sea, so if you're looking for a view of the water this place isn't for you. But it was close to the highway, clean and a good value, which is what we were looking for. The included breakfast was decent. The attractions in Monterey aren't really walking distance from this hotel, if that's a factor for you. But parking is plentiful downtown. That being said, we did walk to and from dinner one night at the Montrio Bistro, so that's definitely doable. And it was nice to walk off a big meal. This isn't a five-star resort of course, but for the price it's quite reasonable. The only real drawback was the wi-fi wasn't working when we were there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allycat789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are glad that you found our Comfort Inn offered a good value which included our complimentary hot breakfast. You will be happy to note that since you stay in October we did put in additional access points to boost our WiFi. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you in the near future. PS, If you enjoyed Monte Trios, ask our Front Desk for additional choice of Restaurants that are in walking distance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    343
    176
    51
    30
See reviews for
321
325
36
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
238 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This isn't a plush or fancy place but if you want a clean & comfortable room that is convenient to Monterey Old Town, this a great place at a fair price. The breakfast is good. The exercise room has good equipment and the staff is friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We know that you have many choices of where to stay and appreciate that you chose us and enjoyed the many complimentary amenities that we have to offer.
We look forward to serving you on your return visit to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a single room with king size bed. The staff was very nice. We were there midweek and it was not sold out. The rooms are spacious for two and nicely appointed with high quality bedding, furniture and granite. Our AARP rate was extremely reasonable at less than 65 bucks. The area is convenient to highway 1 and shopping. We did not use the pool or exercise area but they looked good. Nice breakfast but it might be crowded if the place is sold out.This is a great road trip motel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you Mr. Dave for your kind words. We do value offers throughout the year but best deals are right now, Nov through March. We have many special offers on our website including package deals. Again we appreciate your kind words and your business. Happy 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

My room was a single king bed with a large bathroom It was fine. There is a small breakfast room with a decent breakfast - waffles, eggs, juice, etc. However, there was only one staff member assigned to operate the breakfast room and kitchen. There were far too many guests for one person to manage. The two mornings I ate, Rebecca worked hard and fast while being nice to demanding and rude guests. The breakfast operation requires two staff, not one.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mmcquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for recognizing and appreciating our hard working staff members that remain courteous with demanding guests!! We value your business and look forward to serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
226 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I spent two nights here recently while alone on business travel. The property is older with relatively simple rooms, but very clean. The exterior areas are well kept and attractive. The rooms are small and a little dark with a separate bathroom/toilet - everything worked. The price was less than half that of a newer property less than one mile away that I stayed in a few months ago. A larger room would be nice if one is traveling with a companion. Internet is free and reliable and the free breakfast was more than adequate. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We really appreciate you choosing our hotel especially when you have many choices when selecting accommodations in Monterey. You are also correct in seeking larger rooms when not travelling alone. We have a wide array of room types. Some of our family rooms can sleep up to 7 persons! We hope to serve you again. Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

So this would be more of what I would consider a motel set up. Room doors are external. The room was comfortable and clean. We had a room with a king bed in one area and a single bed in a separate area that had a door for privacy. The single bed area was very small, but worked fine for us. The room had a refrigerator and microwave, although not all room have these (I think the rooms with 2 queen beds do not have these). Very large bathroom in our room, but the rooms with just a king bed have very small bath areas. This is a pet friendly hotel, so beware if you have allergies. They have certain rooms they allow pets in. Breakfast did not start until 7am. The food was typical of Comfort Inn, although the apples were Fuji and not the typical Red Delicious which made my day! Staff was friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeegirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We do have several room types ranging from size from single Queens to Family Rooms. Best to call hotel direct if guest has specific accommodations on mind. Good observation on apples. We frequently change our fruit selection so that we can take advantage of the best in season. Do you know currently in a local grocery store I recently counted 14 variety of apples in season. Apple heaven!
From us here at Comfort Inn, Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita, Califorinia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This is a very well run hotel. One that knows how to mix a very clean hotel with a very relaxing easy going place. The price is very good for all the great extras it comes with. The Internet is great! The free breakfast is wonderful. Very clean rooms with very solid wall that make for a very quiet stay. Location is perfect for us. Not in the middle of the tourist area. But close enough to walk. My daughter would get up and take a nice run to the beach and the down town area and back. We will stay here again the next time we are back in the area. Very wonderful place to stay!!!!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Eclipseoftheheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
So glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our Comfort Inn. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to serving you in the near future. In the meantime Happy Holidays to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,295 reviews
2.8 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
1,003 reviews
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#31 of 55 in Monterey
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Property: Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Address: 1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940-6138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Family Hotel in Monterey
#17 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn is ideally located in Historic Monterey, within close proximity (2-15 miles) to major attractions in Monterey plus beaches,golf and many more activities for families,couples or individual travellers. 1 exit away from Pebble Beach/Carmel. Walk to restaurants/shopping/theaters. Gateway to Big Sur. Book your next room, getaway package deals, or call direct for group rates and enjoy all that Monterey has to offer. Take advantage of our off season rates and Aquarium package, whale watching package and Romance package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey By The Sea Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing