We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Older Style Hotel (Motel)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I spent two nights here recently while alone on business travel. The property is older with relatively simple rooms, but very clean. The exterior areas are well kept and attractive. The rooms are small and a little dark with a separate bathroom/toilet - everything worked. The price was less than half that of a newer property less than one mile away that I stayed in a few months ago. A larger room would be nice if one is traveling with a companion. Internet is free and reliable and the free breakfast was more than adequate. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

We really appreciate you choosing our hotel especially when you have many choices when selecting accommodations in Monterey. You are also correct in seeking larger rooms when not travelling alone. We have a wide array of room types. Some of our family rooms can sleep up to 7 persons! We hope to serve you again. Happy Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

580 - 586 of 920 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

So this would be more of what I would consider a motel set up. Room doors are external. The room was comfortable and clean. We had a room with a king bed in one area and a single bed in a separate area that had a door for privacy. The single bed area was very small, but worked fine for us. The room had a refrigerator and microwave, although not all room have these (I think the rooms with 2 queen beds do not have these). Very large bathroom in our room, but the rooms with just a king bed have very small bath areas. This is a pet friendly hotel, so beware if you have allergies. They have certain rooms they allow pets in. Breakfast did not start until 7am. The food was typical of Comfort Inn, although the apples were Fuji and not the typical Red Delicious which made my day! Staff was friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coffeegirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We do have several room types ranging from size from single Queens to Family Rooms. Best to call hotel direct if guest has specific accommodations on mind. Good observation on apples. We frequently change our fruit selection so that we can take advantage of the best in season. Do you know currently in a local grocery store I recently counted 14 variety of apples in season. Apple heaven!
From us here at Comfort Inn, Happy Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a very well run hotel. One that knows how to mix a very clean hotel with a very relaxing easy going place. The price is very good for all the great extras it comes with. The Internet is great! The free breakfast is wonderful. Very clean rooms with very solid wall that make for a very quiet stay. Location is perfect for us. Not in the middle of the tourist area. But close enough to walk. My daughter would get up and take a nice run to the beach and the down town area and back. We will stay here again the next time we are back in the area. Very wonderful place to stay!!!!!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank Eclipseoftheheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

So glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our Comfort Inn. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to serving you in the near future. In the meantime Happy Holidays to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have to say this is by far the best priced, highest quality comfort inn I have stayed in. From check in to check out smooth,restful and the rooms are incredibly clean. The exterior clean and inviting just what you expect from a sleepy coastal town. Cannery row is minutes away and driving around is a must do.

The exercise room has to be the biggest downside I suppose I'm looking for free weights and the perks of a gym. This is good for quick jog and basic basic stretching and weights.

Breakfast at choice hotels has Wyndham hotels beat and the price is to die for! Keep up the amazing job choice hotels I will be returning.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank ema96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

I like it" Comfort in Comfort Inn!" Thank you for your kind words. We realize that you have many choices and rated us "by far the best prices, highest quality comfort inn" and better breakfast then Wyndham! We look forward to seeing you on your return trip to Monterey.

Happy Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here on the second "leg" of our Pacific Highway roadtrip. Another lovely Comfort Inn. Very convenient to all of the places we wanted to see (Bay, Marina, Cannery Row, etc.). Another good breakfast!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PghScottygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

We are pleased that you were able to enjoy our hospitality including our complimentary breakfast. We realize that you have many choices and appreciate you choosing our Comfort Inn in Monterey. We look forward to having you stay with us when you come on a third "leg" down to the Pacific Highway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at a room with 3 queen beds - 2 in the main room and 1 in a separate room. There were three of us and we were glad no need to share a bed. We made the reservation from the hotel's own website and the rate was unbeatable. We don't really care about the decoration of the room. For us, the space is more important. Therefore, this hotel really met our needs. The bathroom was renovated and very nice. The room was quite but the AC/Heater unit was noisy. Internet signal was ok. We had no problem with it. Breakfast was adequate and we enjoyed it.

However, there were 3 things I want to complain about.

(1) Outside signage had no light. We arrived in the evening and the entrance was hard to see from the street.

(2) When we checked in, the front desk staff did not give us enough direction to find our room which was 10 steps below the ground floor. We did not even see the stairs in the dark when we first looked for our room. We had to go back to the lobby to ask.

(3) When we went back to the lobby to ask where our room was located, the staff asked for our room number. As we were a group of 3 female, we did not want to announce our room number loudly in the public area for the safety reason. However, after I showed the room number to the staff, he read it out loud!! I just wish he had more sense about why I showed him the number instead of reading it to him.

Overall, this hotel was better than expected. We will return.

Room Tip: Two room suite with 3 queen beds is very specious and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pooh_bear_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

I am glad that you were able to find the best deal via our hotel website and that you liked our room with the three queen beds. Works well when you don't prefer sharing a bed! I would also like to thank you for your three comments. We always want to improve upon our service and want to let you know that we have already taken steps to improve upon our service to our guest.

We look forward to serving you when you return to Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed two nights at this very basic motel and it provided what we needed for a tourist stop-over. The room was small and clean and opened to the parking lot. One thing that could be an issue for larger people is the size of the shower. There is no bath tub and the shower opening was very small. It was also difficult to adjust the water temp in the shower. We always bring travel pillows because most small motels have pillows that are hard and this place was no exception. Breakfast was simple but enough to hold us over until lunch.
Overall this Comfort Inn is as offered.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the service areas. The housekeeping people start early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SailAway53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and are glad that your overall stay was satisfactory. Your reservation was in a room that had showers only. We do have rooms with bath tubs which you can enjoy on your return trip.Thanks again, and we appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#40 of 56 in Monterey
149 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,121 reviews
2.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.5 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#30 of 56 in Monterey
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Address: 1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940-6138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
#11 Family Hotel in Monterey
#17 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $68 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn is ideally located in Historic Monterey, within close proximity (2-15 miles) to major attractions in Monterey plus beaches,golf and many more activities for families,couples or individual travellers. 1 exit away from Pebble Beach/Carmel. Walk to restaurants/shopping/theaters. Gateway to Big Sur. Book your next room, getaway package deals, or call direct for group rates and enjoy all that Monterey has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey By The Sea Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing