We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Nearby Hotels
Villa Franca Inn(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$240
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Stevenson Monterey(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$272
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$341
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Monterey Bay Lodge(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$150
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$182
$156
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$199
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (947)
Filter reviews
947 results
Traveler rating
287
370
196
58
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
370
196
58
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanvietnamese restaurantmake your own wafflesyogurtexercise roomwhole foodsfree breakfasthard boiled eggsrefrigerator and microwavewould stay againmile driveroad tripqueen bedsan franciscobig surcannery rowfisherman's wharf
Filter
Updating list...
605 - 610 of 947 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I love these type of motels -- Reminded me of the old motor inns -- Stayed in room with 2 double beds -- cottage type single story room -- It is no frills -- and no elevator if you intend on staying on upper floor -- Surprisingly quite as it is near busy road -- Short drive to Monterey tourist area -- I really liked it as it was clean -- remodeled and large bath -- and I am certain great rates as would be compared to areas closer to Cannery Row area -- No complaints on this place -- Loved It -- and would stay again if in the area --

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southgal60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thanks for your kind words and feedback. Our hotel provides the charm that is so reminiscent of Historic Monterey and charming Carmel. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hotel is ideally situated to just off highway c1 and close to everywhere we planned to visit. The room was small but they still managed to house a king sized bed in it, not a problem, we were only there for the night .

The front of desk staff were helpful explaining that although the pool was closed we could make use of one next door.

The room was clean and tidy and we had a great nights sleep followed by a breakfast in a very clean restaurant. The restaurant was well stocked with food and it was great that they used as standard real mugs, plates cereal bowls not the normal plastic throw always you get at many comfort inns.

Room Tip: We slept in one of the single storey rooms and had a great nights sleep.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and were glad you enjoyed your stay and had a great night's sleep. We do have 2 pools and the smaller pool is closed for maintenance, however the larger pool is open year around. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay in Monterey that wasn't going to break the bank and get us pretty close to the aquarium. The Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea fit the bill. Clean. Well kept. Good service. The room was the smallest of all the rooms we had on our two week trip where we stayed in several reasonably priced hotels. But, this is Monterey. Breakfast was the usual. All in all, a pretty good place to stay for a quick night and then moving on.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MurphyW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

We appreciate your business and are glad that you found out hotel up to your liking especially the location being near the Monterey Aquarium. If travelling with family, ask for our family rooms which provide more space. Also our Jacuzzi suite offers more space. Again thanks for your business and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent 2 nights while traveling around the region. The room was clean and a good breakfast in the morning. We got a good offer and the room was better than expected for that price.

I recommend it if you do not need too much facilities and just a clean and well placed hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Little B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and the great location in Monterey. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you come see us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Located near a small shopping center with several restaurants, the hotel was for us an excellent choice for a two-night stay. Easy to find and accessible from but not next to the freeway, it appears to be the result of combining two adjoining smaller motels from an earlier time, each with a separate entrance and pool. We stayed in a second floor unit (no elevator), that was large and very clean, with comfortable king bed, small micowave and refrigerator. WiFi worked the second day, after technical probelms the first, but there was a free desktop computer in the lobby. The staff was friendly, helpful and professional, especially in dealing with the wrath of a loud guest, complaining about the lack of WiFi (and -- our impression -- trying to get them to comp him something). Breakfast was typical Comfort Inn, with cold cereals, fruit, yogurt, baked goods and bagels, make-your-own waffles and scrambled eggs. The breakfast room was average size, complemented by outdoor seating, and not crowded while we were there. Of the two pools, the one nearest the office was closed, and only after inquiry did we learn there was another, very nice and comfortably heated to about 90 degrees. Our only concern was that it appeared our room did not have a fire sprinkler, perhaps reflecting the original age of the unit. The whole hotel was beautifully landscaped with flowering plants and was very attractive. We definitely would stay again. HINT: hotels can sell you a pass to the Aquarium at a one day price that is good for two days, and you can avoid standing in long lines to get in.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retiredtraveler142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel and giving us constructive feedback. We always value our guests input and try to better our hotel so that our guests enjoy their stay in our beautiful city. Yes we did have technical issues with our internet during those 2 days as we were switching our Internet Service Provider (providing 24/7 day support to our guests). All solved, so we are good to go! Our front desk survived that one particular guest's "wrath"! Also, you are correct we do not have fire sprinklers as we are exterior corridor hotel but we do have smoke detectors in every room which are regularly inspected by our maintenance staff plus the Fire Marshal. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews