We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and tidy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice and tidy”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights and found that it was very clean and tidy. The bed was very comfortable.The staff were very helpfull calling us a taxi and explaining how to get around to the
different places.The breakfast was very basic so we went else were. We needed a taxi at night because it was to far to walk to the pier or restaurants.The room was a bit dated but for a two night stop over it was fine .
I did not like the idea of not having a safe in the room or at the front desk having travelled from England on a fly drive, which meant we then had to carry our passports and tickets around with us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy6056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    441
    176
    38
    24
See reviews for
354
399
54
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights although had to change rooms as hotel busy. First room was a king on the ground floor and it made me very nervous to hear people coming and going seemingly just outside the room. The room was basic with tired fixtures and fittings although the bed was comfortable. We had a much better sleep than expected although we decided to skip breakfast as it looking a fairly depressing experience.

The second room was a King suite on the next floor and I felt much happier being separated from the car park. The manger tried to charge me again for the second night despite us paying for both nights when we initially checked in. No apology was forthcoming when we were forced to produce the receipt showing that both nights had been paid for.

This is an expensive area but I don’t think this motel offers the best value for money. As a tourist, I felt that the location, opposite a shopping centre, some distance from the tourist attractions of Montery and a considerable distance from Carmel, was very poor. My advice would be to book as early as you can and to try to stay either in Carmel or closer to Cannery Row.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joonstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My car group stayed here while on a cruise through California.

The hotel was very nice and the staff accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable and far enough from the street to be quiet. You can walk across the street to a shopping center and P.F. Changs.

We would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roams-A-Lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, WI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We changed travel plans and needed a place to stay in the Monterey area with little notice. Using Trip Advisor, we called and were happy to get a room. We were even happier when we arrived to find a clean, spacious room, with a couch and refrigerator. The toilet paper bow was a fun little extra that I would not expect at a Super 8. Staff was helpful and friendly, location was easy quiet and easy to find. Great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This little motel could be a four star if it had plush towels and a few other upgrades. Who would know a Super 8 could be this nice? Spacious room better than many four star lodgings we have stayed at. Very large bathroom with a separate vanity and sink better than lots of upscale motels. A refrigerator and coffee maker -- and no extra charges for the use of -- some of the large chains -- take a lesson. Free Wifi. Comfortable. We were very pleased and grateful for the other reviews that tipped us off to this gem.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SunCitySenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
2.5 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
2.2 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 56 in Monterey
179 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Monterey
Super 8 Monterey
#35 of 56 in Monterey
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Monterey / Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey / Carmel

Property: Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
Address: 1300 Munras Ave, Hwy-1 Exit Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-6108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey / Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Monterey / Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel Hotel Monterey
Super Eight Monterey
Monterey Super 8
Monterey Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing