We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel. Tiny pool. Go see the whales!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pacific Inn Monterey
Ranked #25 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Stayed one night booked direct via Best Western & paid under $70 for double queen room.

Pool was a disappointment- much smaller than it appears in photos. It seemed as attractive as a paddling pool in the middle of a pavement- it was so close to the busy highway.
Apart from this though, the room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was also clean and lots of quite good towels. Beds were comfortable.
We liked: the free WiFi (which was easy and straightforward to access as well as reliable), the fridge in the room, air con, TV, microwave, coffee/tea maker.
The breakfast was our first time encountering the hotel waffle maker which the people before us managed to make mess of ( we learnt from watching them), but breakfast was better than expected with a good selection of bagels, pastries, toast, jams, cream cheese etc. as well as cereals, milk & hot drinks. Juice was not juice but sugary drink-not so good. There was limited space to eat in the breakfast area, but no problem to take back to the room.
Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is located on one of the main roads into Monterey and clustered with others of a similar standard. We drove into the centre of Monterey to locate somewhere good to eat and got lost on the return journey. Parking in town seemed expensive.
We left early to get to the aquarium before the crowds and this gave us time for a whale watching trip and we saw Blue and Humpback whales- something I will never forget. An absolutely amazing experience. We also loved seeing the wild sea otters in the bay and floating just below the piers!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southlondonerSE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 418 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2010

Our room was reasonably clean, quiet and comfortable, and WiFi worked well. However, our group of 4 was given only 3 sets of towels; we asked for more, but did not get them until the next morning. Our key card did not work; the clerk explained that we had to swipe it extremely fast for it to work. Our toilet would not flush unless we removed the lid each time we needed to flush it; there was some issue with the arm inside the tank. There was only regular coffee at breakfast - no decaf available. The front desk is staffed only until 10 p.m. The breakfast area has seats for only about 6 people. This might all have been borderline acceptable if the price for the room had not been over $200 per night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterandfamily092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed in this Hotel it was clean ,good location but when asked to adjust A/C worked a very short time we woke up very uncomfortable and I called up front to get no answer and when I mentioned that we slept a third of the night I got nothing!!! not a discount NOTHING!! I will not return......

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruzier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Stayed here for one night whilst travelling down to Los Angeles. Booked ahead and got a good deal through Hotels.com, booking ahead turned out to be a good idea as the US Open was being held at nearby Pebble Beach! Eventually found the hotel, after going to the wrong Best Western as the address is actually North Fremont Street! Easy check in, clean, spacious room with fridge and microwave. We didn't use the pool but it looked clean, we made use of the Jacuzzi which was free and near our room. Breakfast was served in the reception area which was lovely! Cakes, waffles, bread, fruit, cereal, juices tea and coffee were all available and there was plenty of it!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinksuzie591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

I stayed at the Best Western Ramona Inn i completely adore this place my boyfriend took me away for the wekend and chose this hotel. The staff was so nice the room was extremely clean they had an indoor spa that myself and boyfriend enjoyed. The area is just about 2 miles away from all the attractions and shopping centers. I would definetly recomend this hotel to anyone that is visiting the Monterey area.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaykay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

I am writing this review, to rave about the front desk representative of this hotel, Mr. Jhoni Funes. I had travelled to Monterey from Ontario, Canada in order to play Pebble Beach golf course. When I arrived at the hotel, Jhoni was EXTREMELY helpful, making many suggestions from where to eat, where to shop and where to go for entertainment. He would even call ahead and make reservations for me. I hope that the Best Western Ramona Inn management realize what an amazing person they have representing their company. Thank you Jhoni for helping to make my vacation even more enjoyable.

Derek MacPherson

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBobbyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

be careful they are official located at "2332 North Fremont St" but in other booking website you read the address "2332 Fremont St" which is on the other side of Monterey. So we drove a lot around to find it.
Rooms are good, location is 2 Miles away from the Aquarium and other tourist attractions but in the neighborhood of the motel there is a good Outdoor store :-)
Be sure that you are the first one when breakfast is served. Staff is ok ...
We stayed there only for one night. It is ok also for some nights more.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMister78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.5 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#24 of 56 in Monterey
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,134 reviews
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
2.3 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#40 of 56 in Monterey
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Inn Monterey

Address: 2332 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5407 (Formerly Ramona Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: $66 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Inn Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in Monterey minutes from all the major attractions such as the Aquarium, 17 mile drive, Pebble Beach, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and Carmel. Our hotel also features pet friendly rooms upon request. All rooms have been recently remodeled at the end of 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ramona Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing